Butch & the Control Kid

We are not talking about the PNP now Westman, we are talking about the JLP...you are too caught up in the cult business, widen your mind, think outside the box if you can.
    So what you think of the tiefing light bulb scandal???

Cultish??? Siccko, you done declare you hand long ago...except for Portia, I never see you ever criticize anything PNP yet.

Can you not see the possibility that besides expediency, Bruce could actually be following his deep personal convictions?

Sorry, not when dealing
        with politics. Boss this is deep politics, trust me.

You mean like Trafigura? LoL

Dont act so full of it. People understand what you say but are not as worried as you are. No biggie, Mo is not as incensed about heathrow slots, but mi nah kill him for dat.
          If people understood my point this would not turn into a PNP/JLP discussion so quickly.

The fact is Butch Stewart was no threat to Jamaican Democracy in the 70, in the 80, in the 90, and in 2000 and will never be. Instead he helped to make democracy strong by putting his view out there and his support behind who he feels is best whether it be Manley, Seaga, PJ and now Bruce. He has supported them all and only Bruce him nuh fall out with yet.

No one Jamaican Businessman can't threaten Jamaican democracy, never. If Bruce Golding is a lapdog for Butch Stewart he will lose the next election, no doubt about that. having a healthy relationship and the support of Butch Stewart is no crime. Some people on the forum is stuck, they simple hate capitalism but holding on to some form of PNPism to act as if we had an effective market system for the last 18 years.

I must say I believe in capitalism but also in social policies and I use to talk how Bill Gates wicked but I have lived to see what he and Warren Buffet, Ted Turner and Bronson has done and they have been no threat to democracy in their respective countries, yet they are vocal and supportive of different parties.

The fact is somebody have to create wealth, and the process is no rocket science. Some people a go win, some a go loose, others a go loose and come again, a just so the Business cycle go. The fight for Butch Stewart and Issa right now is not to fight each other but to bond with other local hoteliers to be successful in the face of the Spanish investors and others who are coming to take a bigger piece of the pie. Jamaica better wake up and realise, soon we will become a working society as we don't believe in ownership, we boast about 850 Million in investment, how many Jamaicans and workers have a share inna them companies deh? How many a get more than just a salary? I may have no depth but a nuh mi one.

How can Butch hijack Jamaican democracy? a so it fragile?
            Yes Jamaican democracy is fragile...the country is tiny, weak and its institutions are open to manipulation. Our politicians can easily be purchased by drug dealers, wealthy businessmen or foreign governments. This is why we have to be ever vigilant.

I never stated that Stewart was hijacking Jamaican democracy. However in a small country the concentration of wealth or power in a few hands is especially unhealthy and the way Stewart prostitutes the Observer gives one cause for concern.

Remember the daily news? Wha happen to them?

If you continue to write what is not factual and not double checked it will turn off people.

facts v opinions-let's be clear

Remember the daily news? Wha happen to them?

If you continue to write what is not factual and not double checked it will turn off people.
                My piece is an opinion based on the facts as I see them.

Point out a "fact" that I stated which is wrong as opposed to an opinion which you disagree with.

Don't get your point re the Daily News so can't comment.

you totally misunderstand what I said.

I am saying if any newspaper continue to misrepresent the facts and if the observer print just Butch point of view and do not show some neutrality then it will die.

Why do you think RJR and the gleaner continue to be around while the daily News and JBC as it was died?

Brethren nothing was directed at you, I read your post although I think you are a tit biased as all of us but it makes interesting and good reading.

I said "if you" meaning the media, not you personally, sorry fi dat.

you totally misunderstand what I said.

I am saying if any newspaper continue to misrepresent the facts and if the observer print just Butch point of view and do not show some neutrality then it will die.

Why do you think RJR and the gleaner continue to be around while the daily News and JBC as it was died?

Brethren nothing was directed at you, I read your post although I think you are a tit biased as all of us but it makes interesting and good reading.

I said "if you" meaning the media, not you personally, sorry fi dat.
                    Apologies for the misunderstanding. I take your point re survival of the paper if people lose confidence in the content........but Butch pocket long and im nah meck dat flop.

Respek to the bone.

What is the threat Butch Stewart poses to our 'democracy' ?

Heh, heh.. look like seh di PNP programming working..

Who yuh did fear more.. Butch Stewart or Vin Lawrence ?

Wrong again Willi, I have hit out against Paulwell before this, more than once too, but in this case some one needs to go to prison, simple...

But you understand that there are some of the island's top journalist who work at the Observer, right and there are at least two of the best editors on the staff at Beechwood Avenue as well.

How do you factor that one?

Wrong again Willi, I have hit out against Paulwell before this, more than once too, but in this case some one needs to go to prison, simple...
                            Simple solution - the light bulbs were a gift from Cuba, well the country could exchange gifts - EXILE the damn thief or thieves to CUBA and mek Fidel handle the return gift

raspeck a nuh nothing still.

Butch pocket maybe long but yu nuh see how him run from Air J?

As a businessman if the paper start go down then watch and see how him run.

But you understand that there are some of the island's top journalist who work at the Observer, right and there are at least two of the best editors on the staff at Beechwood Avenue as well.

How do you factor that one?
                                At the Observer, he who pays the piper calls the tune. That's the situation there as far as I can see.....Butch calls the tune editorially. Ideally there should be strict separation between ownership/management and editorial policy. Could that be why the previous editor Paget de Freitas left? Maybe he was unwilling to tow the Butch line (my speculation).
                                It is not a serious, independent newspaper at the current time in my view...and that's a loss for the country.

It's time someone at CARIMAC (is it still called that?) does an ongoing and detailed content analysis of our media to try to keep them honest and working in the public interest.
                                Jamaica can't afford to lose the voice of an independent, objective media especially print media....we have only 2 dailies. If one of the 2 or both lose journalistic integrity where does that leave our democracy?...weakened and imperiled. Where does that leave our people?...more subject to manipulation.
                                Suppose Oliver Clarke start pull a Butch ting at the Gleaner now?

If we had more print outlets the loss of one would not be so bad.