One last time for Exile and Company

Counter points, what points, mere assertions.
    "...capitalist globalisation..."
    As stated earlier, we have played our part, it is wrong in that regard.
    I am alluding to the our deprived mind when I suggested we all have to be graduates..
    The whole Ja is a ghetto in that regard.
    The role of any institution in today's capitalist environment is to create graduates that will fall in line.

Blessed

So the role of Universities in the United State is to create graduates that will fall in line ?

LOL !!!

Have you heard of companies like Google and Yahoo ?

Mek dem stay deh..

UWI future is DIM unless they wake up soon.

Yup, whey dat fah?
          I do not want to give you too much credit.
          You really do not understand, only crumbs is available from the cake.
          Just fall in line.

Blessed

Blessed

Maybe TPTB wants to offer us only crumbs, but we are Jakans and if we put our minds to it, as sure as the sun will shine, we can get our share now ....

Morning Willi!

Blessed

Blessings to you too mi breddah!

Hmmm..

Hmm.. so we believe in individual brilliance and accomplishment but we are unable to comprehend a collective strategy...

Interesting..

I not in dat boat.. unnuh can sink... Singapore and South Korea nevah bettah off dan wi in 1972.. now South Korea is recognized World Leader in Telecom...

Your defeatist mentality is for slaves.. how it guh.. Emancipate yourself from mental slavery..

Willi. Thanks. When people make idiotic broad generalities and just spew what they hear on talk-radio. It is a political statement - full stop. The number of distinguished professionals, scientists and scholars that I KNOW from UWI that have made significant contributions in the Caribbean and wider world, people of substance....to just jump up and spread rhetoric and paint everyone with same brush is just plain politics and then try to disguise it with some anonymous quote (BJ).
                    I think we can all agree that UWI needs to improve fast and furiously to societies' demands and realities. Changes are being made but much too slowly, mainly because of an archaic system of governance - but change is happening.
                    Here in TT the Gov. formed a UTT to fill the gap that UWI has not been able to. Producing graduates and R&D with requisites skills for industry - oil and gas, petrochemical etc. They have been able to get a lot of pvt funding as well.
                    The narrow-minded socio-political realities of Jamaican politics make pointing fingers an incestious affair. The same jacket and tie 'businessmen' and politicians were once UWI students.

Rockman reading your answers to
                      the blind, I am forced to conclude that you may possess certain knowledge. Your last line above is very interesting;makes an a seeker of truth as myself (Eternal Learner) stop and seriously ponder.

Thanks for the little that you give boss.

"Your last line above is very interesting" Jawge

Rockman's last line .... "Morning Willi! Blessed"

"Your last line above is very interesting;makes an a seeker of truth as myself (Eternal Learner) stop and seriously ponder" Jawge.

hehehe Hail Up Comrade Jawge.

Just for you:
                          see where you are implying that Shaw did something special at the IMF/WB meeting, in reality Shaw remains insignificant to the people represented by the various, infamous banks.

Lazie next time, please don't come out without your red and white cane. Thanks.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Willi. Thanks. When people make idiotic broad generalities and just spew what they hear on talk-radio. It is a political statement - full stop. The number of distinguished professionals, scientists and scholars that I KNOW from UWI that have made significant contributions in the Caribbean and wider world, people of substance....to just jump up and spread rhetoric and paint everyone with same brush is just plain politics and then try to disguise it with some anonymous quote (BJ).
                            I think we can all agree that UWI needs to improve fast and furiously to societies' demands and realities. Changes are being made but much too slowly, mainly because of an archaic system of governance - but change is happening.
                            Here in TT the Gov. formed a UTT to fill the gap that UWI has not been able to. Producing graduates and R&D with requisites skills for industry - oil and gas, petrochemical etc. They have been able to get a lot of pvt funding as well.
                            The narrow-minded socio-political realities of Jamaican politics make pointing fingers an incestious affair. The same jacket and tie 'businessmen' and politicians were once UWI students.
                            Exile, UWI has the infrastructure to be a great institution, however, it is not living up to its potential. St Augustine does better than Mona, but UWI is too focussed on law and social sciences, when Nat Sci and Engineering is where its at.

Past time UWI get outta neutral and draw gear. Our Carib studenbs are among the brightest in the world, but somehow we going around in circles.

Agreed. But if our primary and secondary education is sub-par in the first place - what do we expect to get? Once we continue with our elitist system of education we will continue to remain at the bottom...except for the top few %. Maybe that's the plan. Rockman made sm good points.

Broad Generalities ?

Mi nuh unnastand.. The Institution of UWI Mona is an INTELLECTUAL GHETTO... the activities of intellectual pursuit and the organization of said pursuits has occurred OUTSIDE and in ISOLATION to the REAL WORLD for nigh on 25 years... ERGO GHETTO.

It look like seh you have a comprehension problem...

If yuh nuh like di word Ghetto.. well heducate yuhself.. is not only certain slum yuh call Ghetto.