• B'dos gets Ja's Heathrow slots

Virgin to reduce summer flights to Jamaica
    DESMOND ALLEN, Executive Editor - Operations
    Thursday, October 25, 2007

VIRGIN Atlantic has decided to move its Barbados flights from Gatwick to London's Heathrow, in the slots controversially sold by Air Jamaica, impeccable Observer sources said yesterday.

The decision which means that the highly prized slots have gone to a competing Caribbean destination, comes a week before Virgin, the United Kingdom's second largest carrier, launches its new twice-a-week Gatwick to Kingston flights under the Memorandum of Understanding signed with Air Jamaica in May this year.

And in what is bound to be viewed as another blow to Jamaica, the UK airline is also likely to reduce the number of flights from London to Jamaica - from four to three - in the summer of 2008, the Observer sources revealed.

Travel industry experts also expect Jamaica's loss situation to worsen, saying that Jamaica-bound passengers on flights connecting through Heathrow from continental Europe, would find it more stressful getting to the island and may just vacation elsewhere.

Virgin has apparently not yet made a formal announcement of the decision to move its Barbados flights to Heathrow, and efforts to get comments from the airline proved futile yesterday.

But travel industry sources in London said last night that Virgin had always wanted to move its flights from Gatwick to Bridgetown, the Barbados capital, which is a very popular destination among Britons, on grounds that it would enjoy a greater advantage out of Heathrow.

This week, the airline finally decided to move the flights beginning December 11, 2007 and until March 17, 2008.
    At the same time, Virgin Atlantic is pressing ahead with its plans to launch its Gatwick-Kingston service on October 30, undaunted by signs that the new Jamaican government is frowning on the sell-off of the Heathrow slots.

Virgin's director of communications, Paul Charles was quoted as saying it was in talks with Air Jamaica over their previously announced code-share agreement on Gatwick-Kingston, but that the service would start next week even without any conclusion.

"We want the code-share to proceed and talks are taking place, but at the moment the service will start on Tuesday with our code only," Charles was reported as telling the online e-tid.com.

He said that the recent change of power in Jamaica was filtering down to the government-owned Air Jamaica.

"There is a new government in place which has been in opposition for (nearly) 20 years. It is trying to make its mark in a number of areas and is looking into our code-share arrangement," said Charles.

Transport Minister Mike Henry said recently he wanted to renegotiate the agreement sealed under the stewardship of former Air Jamaica President Mike Conway.

But Charles was unconcerned by the reports, e-tid.com said. "We got the slots in the summer as agreed. It is a legally and commercially binding deal between the two airlines and the slot authorities."

Charles suggested that while the code-share was not in place, Air Jamaica would be losing out on revenue and tourism would be affected. He added that it was "in Jamaica's interest" for Virgin to operate Gatwick-Kingston in order to prevent British Airways having a monopoly on services from the UK to the island's capital.

British Airways has operated from the UK to Jamaica for 60 years and has a loyal following of Jamaicans living in Britain.
    It is widely known that BA was unhappy with the Air Jamaica-Virgin deal, believing that it should have been more favourably considered for the Heathrow slots regarded as "the jewel in the crown".

Under the sale agreement, Virgin plans to operate two flights a week from Gatwick to Montego Bay and a similar number from Gatwick to Kingston, until next summer when its booking site suggested it would drop one flight to Kingston and operate a Gatwick-Kingston-Montego Bay flight among the three remaining ones.

The new services will double Virgin's capacity between London and Jamaica to 190,000 seats a year and will make Kingston the airline's 30th destination on its global network and its eighth Caribbean destination.

Flight VS69 will leave Gatwick on Tuesday and Saturday mornings, arriving around lunchtime each day in Kingston, while flight VS70 will depart Kingston on Tuesday and Saturday evenings, arriving into Gatwick on Wednesday and Sunday mornings.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ROW_SLOTS_.asp

All me waan know is who get di 30 pieces of Silver and what level under di Jail dem gwine get ...

Dats all mi waan know.

All me waan know is who get di 30 pieces of Silver and what level under di Jail dem gwine get ...

Dats all mi waan know.
      Well your new Air Jamaica Board head is suggesting she shall get to the bottom of it...and, she has 'ebry odda ting unda control'?

Suh it guh? Your people dem mess up and then you expect the new administration to karreck it?

See it deh,

What mi did tell unnoo?

And people here arguing about petiness when dem give weh wi birthright?????

The GOJ better start working out a deal with Lufthansa for continental tourists.

For a lousy $5m we give weh TWO heathrow slots. Ahhhh bwoy.

See it deh,

What mi did tell unnoo?

And people here arguing about petiness when dem give weh wi birthright?????

The GOJ better start working out a deal with Lufthansa for continental tourists.

For a lousy $5m we give weh TWO heathrow slots. Ahhhh bwoy.
            2? Was it 2?

Apparently, i was wrong.Its 7.

Queries on Air Jamaica's Heathrow slots
              published: Tuesday | October 23, 2007

The Editor, Sir:
              As a Jamaican living in London, it is with great interest that I have followed the closing of the Air [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR]-London route. I have noted the pros and cons of this particular business deal; however, the benefits to Jamaica and Air Jamaica are still not clear. One point in particular is the selling of the Heathrow take-off and landing slots to Virgin Atlantic.
              According to www.ukbusinesspark.co.uk/brs55829.htm "British Airways has agreed to pay an estimated £30m for the acquisition of seven take-off and landing slots at Heathrow Airport from SN Brussels Airlines. 12-Jul-2002".
              This would have worked out to roughly £4.2million for each of the take-off and landing slots in 2002.
              In June of this year, it was announced that Jamaica had earned £5.1 million from the sale of their seven take-off and landing slots to Virgin Atlantic.
              With single take-off and landing slot deals now reportedly going for between £5-£20 million, how is it that in 2007, Jamaica has earned only £5.1million for all of Air Jamaica's seven slots?
              I am, etc.,
              JEAN ROBERTSON
              njs.robertson@googlemail.com
              London Via Go-Jamaica

====================================

Selling the Heathrow route - a big mistake
              published: Sunday | June 10, 2007

The Editor, Sir:
              I am not a fan of your columnist Dawn Ritch, but her last Sunday's offering taking our Finance Minister, yet again, to task, was spot on.
              I agree totally with her about his rushing to what may well turn out to be a very bad decision, by giving the Heathrow slot to the hurry-come-up Branson Airlines known as Virgin Atlantic, over the bid by the tried and tested British Airways, which has 60 years associated with Jamaica.
              We may all live to regret it as the Bahamians are even now regretting their earlier links with dear Richard, who left them in the lurch after only 18 months of operation. [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Trinidad[/COLOR][/COLOR] and the old BWIA clearly knew better when they rejected business [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]bids[/COLOR][/COLOR] for the Bee Wee route to London.
              Wasn't Minister Davies aware of the 'genetic connections' between a segment of Virgin and certain interests in Jamaica with apparent prayerful wishes for the demise of Air Jamaica? And why weren't the negotiations for that slot allowed to take place between airlines rather than with the Finance Minister receiving private telephone calls from one of the bidders? That bidder was to further announce to the Jamaican people the outcome of the deal in defiance of the proper channels that would involve the Cabinet of this country, the Prime Minister and the Joint Select Committee of Parliament. Ms. Ritch quite rightly backs MP Mike Henry, whose recent cavorting (reparations and insults to the visiting British Deputy PM) she has happily not endorsed.
              I am, etc.,
              WILLIAM TURNER
              P.O. Box 420 Constant Spring

No .. you weren't wrong ... just being generous. Anyone wouldn't want Omar's incompetence to be so obvious ... well excepting me.

We stand to lose big over Heathrow, says the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association
                  published: Sunday | June 10, 2007

Immediate past president of the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Jamaica [COLOR=orange! important]Hotel[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] and Tourist Association, Horace Peterkin (left), presents the coveted Hotelier of the Year award to Louis Grant, general manager of Sandals Dunn's River, during the close of that association's annual general meeting at the Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa in Ocho Rios yesterday. - Photo by Janet Silvera
                  Janet Silvera, Senior Tourism Writer
                  WESTERN BUREAU:
                  Following a meeting with British Airways (BA) officials last week, the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) said it is more strongly convinced than before that the British airline should have been awarded the Air Jamaica's London, Heathrow, route.
                  Immediate past president of the JHTA, Horace Peterkin, in a frank farewell speech at the association's annual general meeting at the Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa in Ocho Rios yesterday, blamed the Government for what he termed as its lack of partnership when making decisions on critical issues affecting the tourist industry.
                  "Having met with BA ourselves, we are even more convinced (of our position), because, among other things, they were willing to put two flights per week from London into [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Montego [COLOR=orange! important]Bay[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], which would have at least replaced some of the nearly 2,000 seats that Air Jamaica flew weekly," Peterkin told delegates.
                  Substantial market share
                  He also cautioned that whatever immediate cash benefits the Virgin deal may have represented, "We stand to lose substantial market sharein a market of nearly 300 million people with the desire and money to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]travel [COLOR=orange! important]to [/COLOR][COLOR=orange! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]".
                  He added that Virgin Atlantic's two additional flights to Kingston will not be of any great help to the island's tourist industry which has the potential to grow out of the United Kingdom and Europe, once there are convenient flights to the tourist capital. "We also know that British Airways has the connectivity into continental Europe that Virgin does not have."
                  Peterkin, who turned over the baton to new president Wayne Cummings, general manager of Sandals Negril, cited the recent sale of Air Jamaica Vacations (AJV) to Mark Travel as another example of Government's disregard of the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]hotel[/COLOR][/COLOR] association.
                  "Air Jamaica met with us when we learned of the rumour that AJV might be outsourced," disclosed Peterkin, "and, after investing a lot of time and resources into preparing a position paper with recommendations, and being promised that they would have come back to us, we only heard of the decision on the news." Incoming president Wayne Cummings, said the JHTA plans to actively lobby for a seat on the Air Jamaica board, so that there will be no repeat of the current situation. "If we had a voice on the board, we could have advised them accordingly," stated Cummings.

More Lead Stories

E-mail this story

'Virgin takeover of Air Jamaica route is a backward step'
                    published: Thursday | May 24, 2007

Deon P. Green, Gleaner [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Writer[/COLOR][/COLOR]
                    London, England:
                    The Jamaica Diaspora United Kingdom media spokesperson, Patsy Robert-son, has described the sale of the rights to Air Jamaica's London route to Virgin Airlines as a retrograde step.
                    Reacting to the report, Ms. Robertson stated: "We were not contacted on how we could help preserve the symbol of Jamaica flying into Britain; many are left wondering why the Jamaican government allows two largeBritish carriers to be operating out of Jamaica, they should have realised that that would bring problems; Air Jamaica not flying to London that's a retrograde step."
                    The Gleaner has learned that the final Air Jamaica flight is to depart [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]London [COLOR=orange! important]Heathrow[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] on October 27, after which Virgin Atlantic Airline, which purchased the airline's air space and landing slot for an undisclosed sum, will be able to double its flights into Jamaica landing in Kingston and [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Montego [COLOR=orange! important]Bay[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].
                    Tight-lipped
                    While the authorities in Jamaica and London have been tight-lipped over the negotiations and deal, financial woes have been deemed the main reason for the sale. In February, executive chairman of Air Jamaica Dr. Vin Lawrence disclosed that the Government is contemplating writing off US$398 million (J$24.7 billion) from US$847 million (J$52.5 billion) the airline accumulated in losses when under private ownership. At the time, it was said that the Government was considering converting US$398 million of debt that Air Jamaica owes the state into [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]equity[/COLOR][/COLOR]. The airline's financial cost is approximately seven per cent of the national debt, while the write-off being sought in February would have been equivalent to almost four per cent of the national debt.
                    However, Robertson said, despite the financial woes and the globalisation of economies, every country has to preserve its national heritage.
                    "The possibility is that they will end up charging us higher fares as that has been the trend, this is not good for Jamaica," she argued. She stressed that Jamaicans take pride in flying with their national airline and will miss the unique feature that is offered which reminds Jamaicans of home once they get on the plane at Heathrow.
                    Short changed
                    Meanwhile, Facilitators for a Better Jamaica (FFBJ) in a statement release said: "Yet again Jamaicans in the U.K. are being short-changed, first the visa fiasco and now this; yet again the question is raised where was the consultation and with whom. Not thatwe could have made a difference but it would be good to know if there was a possibility for making a difference like maybe securing the same allowance deals which was enjoyed by Jamaicans with Air Jamaica."
                    FFBJ added: "Jamaicans in the U.K. going back home will have a problem with the baggage al-lowance and our pride even though at the same time there needs to be a balancing act as we cannot keep flogging a dead horse."
                    The response from business woman Veanna Dixon, who uses Air Jamaica at least five time per year, sums up the Jamaican feeling here in the U.K. following reports of the sale. "Oh my God, I am really disappointed, if they had even cut down on the service I could understand, but to stop it coming here, we need our own carrier," she said.

Air Jamaica sheds pounds - JTB boss says Heathrow route unsustainable
                      published: Friday | May 25, 2007

Janet Silvera, Senior Tourism Writer
                      WESTERN BUREAU:
                      Operating at a loss of US$20 million (J$1.35 billion) per year on the Heathrow, London route has become "unsustainable" for the national airline, Air Jamaica, said chairman of the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB), Dennis Morrison.
                      As a result, the airline is reviewing its options with scheduled carriers [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Virgin [COLOR=orange! important]Atlantic[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] and British Airways, the JTB chairman admitted yesterday.
                      Following a meeting with [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Jamaica [COLOR=orange! important]Hotel[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] and Tourist Association (JHTA) president, Horace Peterkin, and council member, Godfrey Dyer, at the Iberostar Rose Hall, in [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Montego [COLOR=orange! important]Bay[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], yesterday afternoon, Mr. Morrison told The Gleaner that government's objective was to ensure that, whatever arrangements are made, airlift into Montego Bay from the United Kingdom and Europe is maintained.
                      The JTB chairman was responding to concerns raised by the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]hotel[/COLOR][/COLOR] association members and media reports carried in the Telegraph stating that Virgin Atlantic had staved off competition from British Airways to earn a code-sharing deal for the Air Jamaica London to Kingston route starting October.
                      Yesterday, Mike Henry, Opposition spokesman on transportation, also expressed concern about the reported sale of the London to Kingston route and pointed out the decision was taken outside the discussions of a joint select committee of Parliament looking at the same concerns regarding the airline.
                      No public details
                      Mr. Henry said it was of particular concern, too, that the airline's management and both Dr. Omar Davies, Minister of Finance, who would have oversight responsibility for any such divestment; and Transport Minister Robert Pickersgill, had so far failed to give any public details about the reported deal with Virgin Atlantic.
                      The sale will mean an additional two flights per week from London to Jamaica for Virgin Atlantic, which already has two weekly flights from London to Montego Bay which it acquired in July of last year, the Telegraph had said. The story noted that Virgin has also procured Air Jamaica's Heathrow take-off and landing slots, for an undisclosed sum of money.
                      Since the report, the JHTA has expressed its disappointment in not being included in the talks, and has called for the new business plan of the airline to be made public.
                      "(This) so that we know what is needed from the sector in terms of assisting with lobbying and our general input, especially as it relates to marketing the destination," Mr. Peterkin told The Gleaner.
                      Cautious not to give the impression that the JHTA wants Air Jamaica to continue to operate at a loss, Mr. Peterkin, said his organisation was stressing that any replacement must make sense.
                      "What we are looking for is the reinstating of British Airways into Montego Bay and Virgin's increase of its flights into the destination," he said.
                      In the meantime, a highly placed source at Virgin Atlantic confirmed to The Gleaner that the long-haul airline would be operating the current Air Jamaica flights.
                      "Air Jamaica will continue to sell the seats along with Virgin, but our pilots and stewardesses will man the flights," he said.
                      According to the source, Air Jamaica would still be able to generate revenue and would reduce its current loss considerably. janet.silvera@gleanerjm.com

More Lead Stories

Mosiah, do you have anything to say about this? Your silence is unexpected. Sound off.

Suh it guh? Your people dem mess up and then you expect the new administration to karreck it?
                          So you want a dissolution of Air Jamaica Ltd and the retaining of landing slots at airports around the world and an airline to act as buffer when arlines outside of the island withhold service?

Right

no Butch Stewart too, you nuh read yesterday papers? Sickko can give you a copy

No what wi want to know is WHO GET DI 30 PIECES OF SILVER and HOW FAR UNDAH DI JAIL wi gwine fling dem.

What happen.. yuh deaf ?