• Golding's 'Gully Government'

Martin Henry

On the night of August 14, 1933, there was disastrous flooding in Kingston and lower St. Andrew. The tipping point came after weeks of heavy rain. During the preceding day, 11.6 inches of rain had fallen, nearly five inches falling in one hour. Some 53 persons lost their lives that night as the gullies of Liguanea overflowed their banks ripping away houses and drowning the people in them.

That has never happened again. The gullies of Liguanea have been controlled, most of them walled and paved, to provide safe run-off. They are crossed by bridges with those tell-tale concrete rails, bridges which have stood the test of time. We drive over them and walk over them without a second thought. But if you look carefully you will see inscribed in the rails dates of the 1940s and 1950s.

The Bustamante Government which tamed the gullies of Liguanea with massive - and expensive - civil works was disdainfully called a 'Gully Government' by its detractors.

Now, a Bustamante successor, Prime Minister Bruce Golding, has announced that his Government plans to do major flood control work for Kingston, which has grown over the years to cover the whole of lower St. Andrew and has spread into the hills of upper St. Andrew. Some of that development has exacerbated the flooding problem which the geography of the Liguanea Plains invites. Indeed, across the island, 'development' has created flooding problems. So the prime minister will have to give serious attention to more than Kingston. Kingston is not Jamaica.

Borrow heavily

One big difference between the 'Bustamante Gully Government' and the 'Golding Gully Government' of promise is that, as far as I know, Busta did it from internal government revenues, while Bruce has already announced that he will need to borrow heavily for his project. Loan-financed 'development', which really took off in the 1970s and has grown progressively under every administration since then, has left Jamaica one of the most indebted 'developing' countries in the world.

Horse far down the road

Fiscal prudence would have suggested that portions of bauxite and tourism revenues would have been earmarked for infrastructural and educational development, using current income to prepare the country in physical and human resources for the future. But the horse is far down the road now.

A government of jobs, jobs and more jobs should carefully seek to use the stone of public works to kill two birds: infrastructural development and low-skilled job creation. Value must be obtained for money.

In addition to flood control, there is the crying need for the rehabilitation of the country's road network and the upgrading of public facilities. Human action has had a major negative impact on the environment. A comprehensive public works programme would have to include environmental rehabilitation and conservation. We have been crying about deforestation, with Jamaica said to have one of the highest rates in the world. The United States has reversed their net loss of forests with more board feet in forests now than in the 1950s. Government is the major landowner in Jamaica. Bringing idle state lands and idle hands together in a massive afforestation programme with the back-end bonus of commercial lumber harvesting, can't be beyond our reach.

The need to create, upgrade and maintain urban green space, which Golding's predecessor and mentor, Edward Seaga, would immediately understand, is a major public works need. Serious data is showing the value of green space in softening the rough edges, including crime and violence, of urban life. City and town rehabilitation across the country would create many jobs and improve the quality of life. Clean up, fix up, paint up - and green up - will not cost an arm and a leg. Green is the colour of Golding's party. He should have a vested interest in splashing it!

It is remarkable how when hurricanes visit we can mobilise reconstruction funds! Much of the damage done by hurricanes, and even common rainfall, comes from a failure to fix problems. Why don't we mobilise a 'Fix-Up Fund' for physical infrastructure and for the environment to mitigate the disaster impact of natural events? Prime Minister Golding's flood control plan for Kingston needs to go much further, both geographically and conceptually.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...cleisure2.html

Amazing...isn't it?
    U$300 billion just got 'real' for Maudib?

...imagine down below he refuted any such sum being necessary...yet, he followed that up a few days later with words on unemployment and underemployment and..."When was most of the infrastructure in Jamaica built ?

Dams, Roads, Light, Water Supply, Sewage Treatment.... etc."

...wonder if he is running away from bringing the extension of the arterial road systems up to snuff...expand that system, maintenance on same...and, the self same for every other sector - e.g. health, education, fire services, water systems, sewage systems, environment - damn to clean up Kingston harbour and or Lucea harbour (the best and greatest natural harbour in the Caribbean and possible the best in the world)??? etc., etc...and, paying the people who run same well...among the host of other problems and 'looking towards future build-out' that must go on?

U$300 billion? Well?

...Kingston harbour and or Lucea harbour (the best and greatest natural harbour in the Caribbean and possible the best in the world...
      Who says, and why is that even important?

Who says Kingston harbour and Lucea harbour needs to be cleaned up? - The economic benefits that will accrue!

Lucea harbour being the best natural harbour in the Caribbean (or the World)? Cannot remember which?

...cannot remember where but it was taught to me in primary school as being said by some 'important person' who should know.

Later I shall google that saying!
        lata! Gone fi now!

Is Karl saying Lucea harbour better than kingston harbour????

Karl,

Kingston harbour is THE harbour of the Western Hemisphere. that is why the pirates were based there.

Amazing...isn't it?
              U$300 billion just got 'real' for Maudib?

...imagine down below he refuted any such sum being necessary...yet, he followed that up a few days later with words on unemployment and underemployment and..."When was most of the infrastructure in Jamaica built ?

Dams, Roads, Light, Water Supply, Sewage Treatment.... etc."

...wonder if he is running away from bringing the extension of the arterial road systems up to snuff...expand that system, maintenance on same...and, the self same for every other sector - e.g. health, education, fire services, water systems, sewage systems, environment - damn to clean up Kingston harbour and or Lucea harbour (the best and greatest natural harbour in the Caribbean and possible the best in the world)??? etc., etc...and, paying the people who run same well...among the host of other problems and 'looking towards future build-out' that must go on?

U$300 billion? Well?
              What emperical data did you use to arrive at that figure ?

On one hand you are lauding the 'progress' and then on the other hand you are indicating astronomical numbers required for progress.. I brought up the question of when most infrastructure was built to highlight the INSIGNIFICANCE of your parties efforts relative to what occurred during what you would consider the dark ages.. What is the result of the SOCIAL INFRASTRUCTURE program embarked upon by your heroes ?

JAMAL ? Higher Literacy ? Social Services ?

So now.. we have a untrained population, poor social services and decaying infrastructure...

And you jumping up and down like a clueless Cheerleader because dem tekking 15 years to upgrade the North Coast route and France build a Toll Road and Digicel making money hand over fist selling phone credit .. although I see yuh dash wheh di Pom-Poms now and are just simply a clueless critic.

The amount a money that Digicel and C&W paying their top local execs. they MUST be making money like seawater to rhatidcup. Check out the Observer online business page to see the top salaries.

Yes, Karl, try google dat fi mi!

Is Karl saying Lucea harbour better than kingston harbour????

I know you have seen Kingston harbour...but, have you ever seen Lucea Harbour?

So now.. we have a untrained population, poor social services and decaying infrastructure...
                      What do you mean by that?
                      ...not, we once had a trained population - unless you meant when we (our forefathers) were slaves...trained to do the master's bidding?

...not great social services, because that never was and still is not?

...decaying infrastructure? You got that one right.
                      It has always been never 'built out' ...therefore inadequate! ...and, what little there is never properly maintained.

You sir, are a joker of no mean order. You are out of step with the expectations of the majority. They are all looking towards - 1st world! Now to realise such a 1st world in the short term will take sums such as I suggested....and, more...

There would have to be massive reconfiguring of towns and villages, including abandoning of some and relocations - creating whole new towns and villages...

re-engineering of water systems - from reafforestation and protection of water-sheds through to storing and delivery systems...

...so it is with power/electricity delivery systems, current demand and attention to the fact that we are in a 'hurricane belt' demand - telephone and other telecommunication delivery systems - e.g. cable, ...upgrades, relocation of pipes and transmission lines - through different paths and underground, introduction additional miles of same

...restoring and maintenace of environment(s)...(this will fly into the super-billions range)

...training workers to adequately service needs of the new upgrades and newly created demands for maintenance of these new and or improved entities...

...for, upgrading of equipment, supplying tools for, building additonal structures for the adequate delivery of services for -

education (upgrade of and maintenace of present schools, building new schools, equipment and maintenance, the support services they shall demand, etc.);

health - How many of the present hospitals need upgrading and re-tooling? Even you would say - ALL! ...and, even you would recognise that more hospitals are needed...right? Well they also would have to be 1st world! Health outposts...establishment of a proper quick response ambalance system blanketing the island - currently there is not such a ssytem! The additional cost training and or hiring workers to make it in the immediate future up and ruinning...efficiently?

fire services - to blanket the island! No equipment and personel?
                      Do you know that at present with all the hotels we are building there is no quick response fire units - fire units and other quick response units are in many, many cases -slow response units (hours away?),

security forces & court system - upgrades buildings, building new ones, equiping properly...creating special response forces...

transportation systems - road, rail, intra-island air travel (upgrades of
                      airdomes, etc.)...

social services - rehabilitation of...expansion and maintenance of - ...

...and on and on in the very many areas needing attention NOW...

It is either that you walk around blind - not seeing what is in your face...or you have no connection with what the increasing interaction with other lands have had on our people who can reach out and touch..have reached out and touched those foreign lands via individual travels, telecommunication mores - including media, film, video, internet...vicariously through the eyes of friends, relatives, etc...and, the steady influx into the island of a taste of the 'goodies' the world provides...or you just have no connection/no vision of what it is the people desire?

...then, you think it nonsense that massive spending (as comparison to spending under the PNP) is needed to 'keep the lib on the society' to prevent the current 'heating up' within the society going on to a cataclysmic eruption? ...how then can you see for what the people are calling?

You believe that the country should await what you call "creating a business friendly climate for investment" and "the following expansion of businesses"...a 20 - 30 years process? ...while unemployment and under-employment grows - and, at the same time the people's taste for "champagne lifestyle" - 1st world living grows? ...the heating up, you think, will not reach critical mass! Dream on! There are serious rumblings already - 40+ days into the JLP's term - the volcano stirs! Dream on!

Umm.. our current debt is about 12 Billion and we are struggling to service that..

Please explain how this 300 Billion will manifest itself and how we will service that debt....

Are you saying we wasted the infrastructure platform developed up until 1972 and after 35 years we are now faced with an impossible dream of 1st World ?

So what exactly have you been supporting all these years ? I mean you were a spectacular Cheerleader.. what exactly were you cheering on ?

Rank Mediocrity and underperformance ?????

No,

But Kgn harbour is the 7th deepest Natural harbour in the world.... a nautical tour de force and we cut it off with causeway....

Umm.. our current debt is about 12 Billion and we are struggling to service that..

Please explain how this 300 Billion will manifest itself and how we will service that debt....
                            mmmmm???

Tell me how you shall provide 1st world living...and alleviate the current feeling of dispare of the many, move the country rapidly towards "full employment", deliver quality services, etc., etc?

Tell me how you shall "keep the lid on".

Are you saying we wasted the infrastructure platform developed up until 1972 and after 35 years we are now faced with an impossible dream of 1st World ?
                            What platform we have is still there!
                            Exand and develop - NOW!

So what exactly have you been supporting all these years ? I mean you were a spectacular Cheerleader.. what exactly were you cheering on ?

Rank Mediocrity and underperformance ?????
                            Well let's see - we have had JLP and PNP governments 1944 to present and we are where we are. You have two parties...two viable parties. I am not for one moment saying persons could not enter the JLP and capture PNP core values...but, it is the stated PNP core values...stated outlined by Norman Manley and Michael Manley that has my attention.

I have said here over and over and over ad nassum that the PNP has not delivered as I expected...but, so it is also with the JLP. ...and, it is the PNP core values that resonate with me.

"Rank Mediocrity and Under-performance?"
                            Who could ever disagree! Not me!

The mediocrity and underperformance makes me at various times fustrated, angry, angry and fustrated...drives me to dispair...but, there is hope --- I hold on to, driven by the core values of the PNP, good highly skilled motivated and committed persons coming in and 'doing'!

...back to the 300 billion

how this 300 Billion will manifest itself
                            I do not like your term "manifest itself". You suggest sitting on one's arse and snapping one's fingers and it shall appear.

Well it will not happen that way - let me say again:
                            Borrowing, aid, grants and wooing investments is the way to go.

The JLP pre-election nonsense about we being a nation of or being reduced to mendicants flies in the face of what are the needs of our people...what we desire for the country and "the how" to get there in the short term.

In fact, the JLP has with nary a show of shame or appology have quicklly gobbled up the loans and have been seeking to expand same. I suppose commonsense has returned now the elections are over but, humility and honestly has not.

Maudib: I give you such as, they are not alone, the Chinese, Venezuela, Oil Rich Gulf States, Cuba, USA businesses (notice I put the emphasis on businesses here - not that we should not seek US government assistance and or private collaboration and mutually beneficial arrangements with the other countries named...but, even as we pursue such associations and arrangements I believe that the 'areas' named would give us greatest in input in shortest - turn time - time) and European countries.

It would be good to identify and separate the various areas needing "x" dollars to create what we want and target entites - countries and or businesses - to present plans...mutually beneficial plans to move us on. Raising $300 billion in one sense is a large task...means competent persons needed to put together excellent proposals and to 'win friends and influnce' people...but, in another sense it is chicken feed...monkey money.

Create excellent teams to be in charge of each area and have the excellent oversight teams to ensure the "right hand knows what the left hand is doing" and to ensure co-ordinted efforts of highest standards.

Pay for it - I think even your buffons have cottened on to lengthening terms of repayment and the merging of joint interests in ventures allowing for 'favourable repayment terms'...besides...if the linkages with projects have overseas markets components as targets as they must...then in many cases immediate returns shall play a part.

The question is; can we afford not to go down this path?

btw -Just a thought:
                            What is to prevent the continuation of pressuring locals (corporations, business entities and workers) to raise standards in services delivered that introduction of more and more competent outsiders bring?

Are not, for example, our builders of roads now pressured by the mere fact of an outside entitity winning a contract to build...and, hopefully have built roads that instead of like the local's built roads which come apart after the next rainfall...do not come apart after 30 - 50 years of rains?

Will not the locals if they desire to remain competitive and seek to remain in business...not now have to build 'great roads'?

...would that type 'pressure'...similar pressure lead to locals stepping up on services delivered and thus aid movement to strengthening of companies/business entities...to 1st world production/products/services/delivery of services????

No,

But Kgn harbour is the 7th deepest Natural harbour in the world.... a nautical tour de force and we cut it off with causeway....
                              That is one of the many things we have to do...spend billions on...open it up once again. The implications for Portmore and actions that would have to be taken on access roads...and, the entire development surround Kingston - Port Royal, Palisadoes/Harbour View, downtown Kgn and Portmore through to Port Henderson waterfront makes for a smile when you consider the economic possibilities!