Pulse boss declines Air Jamaica post

• Pulse boss declines Air Jamaica post

Kingsley Cooper, chief executive office of Pulse Investments Ltd., has declined to serve as a member of the Air Jamaica Board, claiming that it was a conflict of interest.

Last week it was announced that Tony Lindo, Noel Hylton, Marcia Forbes, Mr. Cooper, Ian Kerr, Millicent Hughes and Rex Nettleford were the new members of the board, chaired by former Jamaica Labour Party Senator Shirley Williams.

Inappropriate

But, in a letter dated October 23 and addressed to Transport and Works Minister, Mike Henry, Mr. Cooper said it was inappropriate for him to accept the appointment because of his company's relationship with Air Jamaica.

"You have indicated that you intended to appoint me to the board of Air Jamaica and I have indicated my willingness to serve," said Mr. Cooper.

"I want to thank you for considering me in this regard, but on reflection, I now believe it inappropriate to accept this appointment, due to potential conflict of interest," he added.

According to Mr. Cooper, Air Jamaica has been a sponsor of events and activities staged by Pulse Investments, a company in which he has majority interest.

"As Pulse expands internationally, we hope to deepen our partnership with Air Jamaica, as regards a number of joint marketing initiatives," Mr. Cooper said.

He continued: "For these reasons, I consider it prudent that I decline and I am confident that I will have your support and understanding in this regard."

Air Jamaica has been embroiled in controversy over the past week, following the resignation of Mike Conway as president of the airline. Some employees walked off the job last Thursday, claiming that Mr. Conway was forced to resign.

Lynch issue

Mr. Cooper's decision not to serve as a member of the board comes following Dr. Wykeham McNeill, Opposition Spokesman on Tourism, who voiced his disapproval with the appointment of John Lynch, senior vice-president of the Gordon 'Butch' Stewart-led Sandals Group, as chairman of the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB).

Dr. McNeill sees Mr. Lynch's appointment as a conflict of interest, noting that the former Government was guided by the principle that private sector partners and specifically members of the tourist industry should and must be represented on the board of the JTB and on its various committees, but that the chairman of the board should be independent and insulated from a conflict of interest.

Now this is a man with some sense of propriety....pity Lynch cant learn from him

Smart man. Shirley williams
      tek a cue from Kingsley.

Smart man. Shirley williams
        tek a cue from Kingsley.
        ..hehehe ... you have no idea what yuh saying don't it?

II guess not, so now
          you are going to tell me what I am saying. yes?

II guess not, so now
            you are going to tell me what I am saying. yes?
            Suh if you don't know, I should know for you?

uh oh, so bright boy
              what's the reason for your initial question may I ask?

uh oh, so bright boy
                what's the reason for your initial question may I ask?
                Shirley Williams' business have events that are sponsored by Air Jamaica?

I don't know but that's
                  not the reason why I made my comment. Do you believe in the rigour of logic, data and analysis?

I don't know but that's
                    not the reason why I made my comment. Do you believe in the rigour of logic, data and analysis?
                    Thank you ... you proved my point! "I don't know"

you had a point? When?

Well, based on your performance since week that should be expected.

Yuh ah bait; mi
                          notice yuh run afta mi ask bout logic, data and analysis. Walk good.

yuh too good, Jawge!