• New heads rolling in

New heads rolling in
    published: Wednesday | October 24, 2007

( L - R ) Williams, Bovell
    Louis Williams is expected to be named as the new chairman of the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), senior government sources have told The Gleaner.
    Mr. Williams is chairman of the Matrix Group of Companies and brother of former Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) senator, now chairman of the board of Air Jamaica, Shirley Williams.
    The UDC is one of the most powerful public bodies. It has responsibility for the development and maintenance of commercial, resort, residential and infrastructure development in designated urban centres in Jamaica.
    When contacted by The Gleaner, Mr. Williams denied that he is heading to the UDC.
    "It's been a rumour. That decision is Mr. [Bruce] Golding's decision and I have not been officially informed as such," Mr. Williams, who described himself as a loyal and hard-working JLP member, told The Gleaner.

Williams
    He added: "It is not official. I would not hesitate to tell you if it were confirmed. It is rumours and speculations."
    Meanwhile, Transport and Works Minister Mike Henry yesterday announced Christopher Bovell, JLP treasurer, as the new chairman of the National Road Operating and Constructing Company (NROCC).
    Other boards that have been appointed under the Transport Ministry are the Port Authority of Jamaica, where Noel Hylton has been reappointed as chairman.
    Mark Hart has been appointed as chairman of the Airports Authority of Jamaica.
    George Johnson will chair the Transport Authority while Richard Powell has been appointed to chair the National Works Agency Advisory Board.
    Ms. Williams will chair Air Jamaica and Peter Jervis will chair the Road Maintenance Fund.
    ( L - R ) Powell, Hart

Why the thumbs down?

Allow me to state in the clearest way possible that I am 100% opposed to the browning of Jamaica.

I can't believe that after all these years, after all the free education that has educated so many black Jamaicans, after all the migration that took place that gave black Jamaicans an insight and some experience as to how the modern western world does business, after all this and more, we can't find some people who look like the 95% of us?!?!?!

Out of many one people my a$$! We only draw for that nonsense when we try to justify the marginalisation of the country's majority black people.

Absolutely sick of it!

Allow me to state in the clearest way possible that I am 100% opposed to the browning of Jamaica.

I can't believe that after all these years, after all the free education that has educated so many black Jamaicans, after all the migration that took place that gave black Jamaicans an insight and some experience as to how the modern western world does business, after all this and more, we can't find some people who look like the 95% of us?!?!?!

Out of many one people my a$$! We only draw for that nonsense when we try to justify the marginalisation of the country's majority black people.

Absolutely sick of it!
        I see that you and Garnett Roper are on the same page.

Here we go again. When dem go down to defeat dem draw fi di brown man card

Its a strategy that seems to work since alot jump on board based on emotions.

I see that you and Garnett Roper are on the same page.
              Lazie: Do you think it is worng for black and other minorities in the USA to fight for and demand (the level of success is for another discussion) a reflection in %age numbers in US jobs at all levels with their %age numbers of the USA population?

Do you believe there necessary numbers of qualified minorities within the USA to make the demands worthy and fair requests?

If, like me, you do believe that we should have that type representation and voice at the workplace in the USA?

Could you tell us your thoughts on Mosiah's plea for a similar actions in Jamaica's government controlled entities?

Lazie: Do you think it is worng for black and other minorities in the USA to fight for and demand (the level of success is for another discussion) a reflection in %age numbers in US jobs at all levels with their %age numbers of the USA population?

Do you believe there necessary numbers of qualified minorities within the USA to make the demands worthy and fair requests?

If, like me, you do believe that we should have that type representation and voice at the workplace in the USA?

Could you tell us your thoughts on Mosiah's plea for a similar actions in Jamaica's government controlled entities?
                Check the Cabinet. Then you and Mosiah can talk. Who is Kingsley Cooper? He is on one of the boards, unless him duh like Michael Jackson, him suppose to be as black as me.

What fetid hog$#1t! It's the usual comeback from folk like Lazie. They pick out the 1, 2, even 10 people and say, see, there is no problem.

Lazie, Jamaica, like it or not, is a black country. It is 95% BLACK!!!

Now, for all those Forumites who may not be black, there is no reason to be offended. I hope you are smart enuff to understand my point. I have nothing against non-black people, apart from those who would want to keep black people down.

I couldn't feel more strongly about this and forget about me even thinking about tekking back dis chat! This crap has got to stop, and I will start a national debate about this. I guess it might have been started by Garnett Roper according to Lazie. Well, I won't let it die.

It has to stop!!!

This crap has got to stop. It has to stop!!!
                    It did. For 18 years. Now the piggy bank is empty.

Hypocrite...you nuh Browning from St Elizabeth too? Send in your resume with a recent picture and see if Bruce nuh set you up too....dont wear the orange tie to the interview though.

What fetid hog$#1t! It's the usual comeback from folk like Lazie. They pick out the 1, 2, even 10 people and say, see, there is no problem.

Lazie, Jamaica, like it or not, is a black country. It is 95% BLACK!!!

Now, for all those Forumites who may not be black, there is no reason to be offended. I hope you are smart enuff to understand my point. I have nothing against non-black people, apart from those who would want to keep black people down.

I couldn't feel more strongly about this and forget about me even thinking about tekking back dis chat! This crap has got to stop, and I will start a national debate about this. I guess it might have been started by Garnett Roper according to Lazie. Well, I won't let it die.

It has to stop!!!
                        There are over 200 boards for which members are to be appointed. How many are in place todate? Do you know all the members? You speak of one or 2 .... I simply gave you an example. If you have nothing against non-black, why yuh acting so ignorant? The Cabinet has Dwight Nelson, anybody in the PNP as black as him? Ruddy Spencer? Pernell Charles?

Unuh just want something fi fuss bout.

So lazie, I ask again and hopefully this time I will get an answer...if these appointments are all 'free work' why are all these up town brownings and rich people lining up and even jumping over each other to get them?

Hypocrite...you nuh Browning from St Elizabeth too? Send in your resume with a recent picture and see if Bruce nuh set you up too....dont wear the orange tie to the interview though.
                            shhhh!

Sickko, yuh have one tie can lend mi? All mi tie dem orange.

Of course. That is the message - "We have to rescue this country because the black people wrecked it and robbed it. We can only rescue it by appointing white and near-white Jamaicans, who, by virtue of their complexion, are people of integrity and ability.

Now shut up and sit down! Afterall, out of many one people!"