All Property Tax to go to Parish Councils as of Jan.1

• All Property Tax to go to Parish Councils as of Jan.1

As of January 1, 2008 the total amount of property tax collected by the government will go directly to the parish councils.

The move is in keeping with strategies that the government intends to pursue over the next two years to place more responsibility in the hands of the local authorities as part of the reform process.

"That money is to pay for street lighting and solid waste collection," explained Minister of State with responsibility for Local Government, Robert Montague, at a Kiwanis Club of St. Andrew meeting held on Thursday (Oct.18) at the Hilton Kingston hotel.

"What happens today is that the utility company is paid whether the streetlights work or not because they are paid from the Ministry of Local Government. Now that the property tax will be in the hands of the councils, they will make the determination whether the streetlight works or not," he said.

Additionally, he said that issues such as housing for the indigent, parish infrastructure, minor water supplies, public markets, sanitary conveniences, parks and gardens, emergency relief, disaster management and preparedness, day care facilities, and hotel and trade licences, will now fall under the ambit of the parish councils.

"In other words, the local government authority in the parish will finally become government in the parish. Therefore, if anything of significance is happening in the parish, it has to come through the local authority," he pointed out.

According to the State Minister, the government, over the next two years also intends to have a single road building agency and the maintenance of roads will be the responsibility of the parish councils.

In addition, parish councillors will not only be required to disclose budgets to the citizens, but they will have to make reports about how the money is being used.

"The result of this will be better service delivery for the citizens in the community because the citizens will have a feel that their vote is important. At the community level, people must play a part in how they are governed," he stated, informing that the government will establish a Local Public Accounts Committee to review the budgets of the local authorities.

"It is all about transparency and accountability.so that the people can know which councillor is falling asleep and which councillor is not coming to meetings," he noted.

Mr. Montague told the meeting that as part of the reform process, the roles and functions of central and local government will be carefully outlined to ensure that responsibilities do not overlap.

"It is our belief that the communities must be brought into this aspect of governance, and therefore we are divorcing central government from local government, because local government is not an extension of central government. It is a separate sphere of government by itself," he pointed out.

Turning to the role of the former Ministry of Local Government, Mr. Montague said that this will now become a monitoring agency, which will oversee the standards of service delivery to citizens.

"We are determined to put back power in the hands of the local authority. We are putting back the power into the hands of the people where it rightfully belongs," he stated.

http://www.jis.gov.jm/officePM/html/...S_OF_JAN_1.asp

If this is truly deeds and
    not words; many parishes will benefit. I hope to
    see a better looking Mobay. I would mark this as first for the JLP. Dem still cyaaan mange the macro side though.

Heh, heh.

The Gas Station guru speaks.

If this is truly deeds and
        not words; many parishes will benefit. I hope to
        see a better looking Mobay. I would mark this as first for the JLP. Dem still cyaaan mange the macro side though.
        Joke yuh a mek???

Jawg, I had to share the "gas station" joke with a few friends. That joke had to be one of the bigger jokes I have seen on the forum in years!

I hope you left out names to protect the guilty...

wha you think bout this?

Is the PC them responsible enough? I think over the years there have been better quality people involved at least over the last 70s and early 80s.

Hopefully better quality people will make themselves availabale.
              Last edited by Assasin; October 23, 2007, 03:31 PM.

wha you think bout this?

Is the PC them resonsible enough? I think over the years there have been better quality involved at least over the last 70s and early 80s.

Hopefully better quality people will make themselves availabale.
                Agreed. It is a worry.

I was reffering to the Macro comment J. made though.

yeah I know that was what you were referring to but I couldn't resist asking your for your fair and balance comment.

I think this is a good idea. I hope it works.