Beenie Man to appear in court for unpaid taxes

• Beenie Man to appear in court for unpaid taxes

Jamaican DJ and international recording artiste Moses "Beenie Man" Davis is to return to court Tuesday where he is expected to say how he intends to pay millions of dollars in outstanding taxes.

As was first reported by RJR News a week ago, the Revenue Department has served a claim on the artiste for nearly $30 million in outstanding income tax.

Beenie Man recently appeared before the Sutton Street Tax Court to answer the claim.

He told presiding magistrate Owen Parkins that he did not know that he owed the government such a large amount of money in outstanding taxes.

The Grammy winning DJ blamed his former management company for his dilemma.

According to Beenie Man, the company was responsible for paying all his taxes.

It's called Music BUSINESS Beenie man!

Key word: BUSINESS.

Surprising to see how many artists are unaware of this side of their 'trade'.

Him corner dark...between the Collector of Taxes and D'Angel's $100,000 a month pickney maintenance him might affi go start tekking taxi

Someting tell mi him still gwine have a couple more cents inna him pocket dan me. But that's just me.

More than me too....

Meanwhile...

Plot to destroy D'Angel's career?

By Andre Jebbinson, Staff Reporter

D'Angel, the estranged wife of deejay Beenie Man, claims that someone organised for her to be 'booed' at an event in Mandeville, Manchester on Saturday, as part of a plot to wreck her career.
            The dancehall artiste, known for the popular song, Babyfather, did not call any names but only stopped short of pointing fingers at Beenie Man.
            "I did a great job. It was orchestrated. As mi name call dem start di almshouse...," D'Angel told THE STAR about the event.
            She continued, "Dem a tek side, but mi go out an duh mi ting. All a dat just mek me stronger. Nothing can't stop me. I've been to the same venue and perform to encore. The best of the best get boo. I am going to overcome it like anything else. It is just a ploy."
            D'Angel had come on stage after singer Etana at about 3:30 a.m. As soon as she attempted to enter the stage there were shouts of 'boo', and this continued throughout her brief performance. She made every attempt to perform and firmly declared, "Mi nah guh weh, mi come fi perform. Mi nuh business wid dat (the shouts of 'boo'). Mek mi si all a D'Angel fans dem. And so."
            Earlier this year D'Angel and Beenie Man went through a much publicised split which was less than civil. Fans of both parties have reportedly taken sides as the affair has been dragged through the court system.
            "I live my life now as a public warfare. I am not going to bring my dirty laundry in the public. God know everything and will work it out. You will always have haters. They are taking it personally. He (Beenie) lied about everything that happened. I have been silent long enough," she said.
            At Saturday's event promoter Horseman, immediately took the stage following D'Angel's exit and said, "Mi realise seh uno don't like ar, but uno neva fling nutt'n an mi respect an thank uno fi dat."
            But while he was sympathetic, the following act, Spice, did not miss the opportunity to take a shot at D'Angel. She deejayed: "Last year mi did a try warn di rastaman bout di ooman but him wouldn't listen mi." The crowd went into pandemonium as they cheered.
            During yesterday's interview D'Angel went on the offensive and lashed out at Spice for her lyrical comment.
            "Shi just gi birth. She fi stop act like a gal. Act like a mother and be more supportive of women. Di same ting weh happen to me can happen to her. She constantly trying to diss mi and mi nuh si har. Shi fi clean up har act man. Mi neva trouble dis gal," D'Angel said.
            In terms of her problems with Beenie she says that at the appropriate time she will reveal the truth about their marital woes. She says that the hidden facts can be damaging and she will no longer sit back and watch.
            "I am not going to make this hurt my career. I work too hard. I am a mother and I am not going to make anybody box food outa my mouth. You realise seh mi neva back down. This girl nuh back down from anything. Mi stan up and seh mek mi si mi fans. Dem neva tell you how much people put up dem hand," she said. "It goes to show that this girl naah guh no where," she said when asked if this would cause her to reconsider a career in music. D'Angel says that she is currently working on a single and just wrapped up a video shoot for the song Blaze. And as certain as she is about her career, she is as certain that "I don't want to be a victim, I want to be an advocate. It started in the media and it will end in the media."

Career???? what would that be now? Why would anyone want to destroy her store, I hear she sells some really nice things there, expensive and caters to a certain upscale clientèle...but people wicked and bad mind duh eeh

Must be di store shi a talk bout!

Career???? what would that be now? Why would anyone want to destroy her store, I hear she sells some really nice things there, expensive and caters to a certain upscale clientèle...but people wicked and bad mind duh eeh
                  After reading the story, I too was wondering what career she talking about? Must admit, that the part about Spice was funny.

I never bodder reading the story...I saw her for the first time yesterday while I was waiting for my ride from the hotel in Kingston. She drove a nice dark blue X5...kinda slim and makes you wonder where she managed to absorb all the alleged battering from Bunti.