• Which is worst....

Is it ignlorance or apathy?

I just checked into a Kingston hotel after deciding to come over for the Tivoli vs Portmore game as well as to do some personal bussiness in the morning.

When I got to the front 'dex' there was a white guy and a dark skinned Jamaican ahead of me and when the white guy gave their names as he said they had made reservations two weeks ago, all he got was, "I dont see your names here".

There was no effort to help otherwise even when the guy said they had made reservations two weeks ago and had confirmation numbers.

I gets worst, turns out that I recoginsed two names Tyrone Downie and the surviving Barrett brother fom the Wailers.

The names were flond and they gpot their keys, when they went out side to get their bags I mentioned to the young lasdy at the dex and two menm who were there, that the men were members of the Wailers band.

All I got was a blank stare from the girl who asked, "who are the Wailers?'

Bob Marley's band I offered but even that did not help. One of the men tried to explain away the lady's ignorance by saying she was born after Bob died...SO WHAT????

She gave the impression that she did not care one way or the other.

That made me sad as you expect some one working in the service industry to at least have a clue.

Maybe you will agree with me, Tourism should be a part of their high school education. How can you have the number one industry and people working in the hotels don't know that kind of information. Imagine what they tell the guest on a daily basis?

Have they ever been told "the guest is always right"?

I can understand their not knowing who the Wailers was. I work with some young people and...well, all I can do is sigh.

I can also understand the unhelpfulness. Ever called a bizniz place in Jamaica and ask for someone? After they smugly tell you the person is not there, if yuh nuh say sumpten quick, is dial tone yuh a hear. There is no effort to try and locate the person, or to take a message or nutten.

So, those front desk people didn't even have a word of regret or apology? It's for the patron to prove that the reservation was made. Even if proven wrong, the front desk person will carry on as if...

We don't have the first clue when it comes to customer service.

Sickko, sad to say but that is the way I precieve customer service in Jamaica. The folks behind these "dexes" behave as if they are not providing a service, but doing you a favor.

I was telling a friend of mine who bought a digital camera and it was malfunctoning and decided to return it after a week. I said if you were in Jamaica, that camera would be yours as chances are, the seller is not taking it back.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Funny thing is I have been to a few banks and have gotten execellent customer service, and it is not that I had big money.

The JTB use to do some basic training along with the Caribbean hotel association or is just Halfmoon, Sandals, Super Clubs etc. benefit?

Some times Customer Service apathy goes to the other extreme in the US, especially at the major chains as the employees making just over minimum wage dont care and will take back anything even a half eaten fruit cake and not ask any questions.

Afterall they are not losing anything

They dont have to teach tourism in high schools, that can be a specialisation afterwards if you want.

This young lady with the mellons under her blouse, is just HIGnant and needs to get a clue.

If the customer return a half eaten fruit cake and and say he is not satisfied with it, they take it back here.

Hey Sickko, I will give you a joke. When I first came to this country, while in school I had a part time job in a Jamican resturant with take out service in DC. This guy bought a curry goat dinner and after an hour and a half he returned it saying he was not satisfied and wanted back his money. When you looked inside the box, the guy had eaten up all the curry goat and just left a little rice and some bones which were sucked clean.

Me just coming from Jamaica was about to tell the guy that we cannot give him a refund as he has eaten all the meat out of the dinner. I however checked with the owner of the business and she advised me to give him a full refund.

I could not understand it, but I complied. It seems as if it is easier to give up a $6 to $8 loss on the meal than to have a fight with the customer which could cost more in the long run. Moreover, I was not sure about the laws in DC and how it protects the consumer. But yes, it is not uncommon to return a half eaten fruit cake here and the business take it back.
                Last edited by Tilla; October 21, 2007, 09:43 PM.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

..and here I was thinmjing I was exeggerating things....but back to the young miss at the front dex, I asked if they had wireless internet and she said yes, it was part of the package once you check but she warned that "at times it can get slow, depending on if the breeze was blowing"

I did not bother to ask why

It is our number one income earner and people on the street come in touch with other people every day. Just recently I went to a high school class and they were completing an itenary for themselves.

In my opinion it is better to prepare student as that is where many will be working.

...wireless internet and she said yes, it was part of the package once you check but she warned that "at times it can get slow, depending on if the breeze was blowing"

I did not bother to ask why
                      mi kno mek-hit-more wen mi ear hit!

Now can someone outside of Shady Pines translate the above into English for me. Much thanks.

that is shadypinesese, and it will probably require someone from there to translate.

Is it ignlorance or apathy?

I just checked into a Kingston hotel after deciding to come over for the Tivoli vs Portmore game as well as to do some personal bussiness in the morning.

When I got to the front 'dex' there was a white guy and a dark skinned Jamaican ahead of me and when the white guy gave their names as he said they had made reservations two weeks ago, all he got was, "I dont see your names here".

There was no effort to help otherwise even when the guy said they had made reservations two weeks ago and had confirmation numbers.

I gets worst, turns out that I recoginsed two names Tyrone Downie and the surviving Barrett brother fom the Wailers.

The names were flond and they gpot their keys, when they went out side to get their bags I mentioned to the young lasdy at the dex and two menm who were there, that the men were members of the Wailers band.

All I got was a blank stare from the girl who asked, "who are the Wailers?'

Bob Marley's band I offered but even that did not help. One of the men tried to explain away the lady's ignorance by saying she was born after Bob died...SO WHAT????

She gave the impression that she did not care one way or the other.

That made me sad as you expect some one working in the service industry to at least have a clue.
                            Sickko - that's a real pathetic situation. I wonder how much customers the hotel loses because of it's front desk. The GM better look into some serious training.

Based on your abuse of the word 'worst', I would say ignorance....