• Omission or commission

Omission or commission
    published: Sunday | October 21, 2007

Orville Taylor

It has arrested my attention for the past two weeks since it was reported that the police force was being de-commissionered. The place and legs of senior ranks of the constabulary have been shaking like a jelly dessert that sounds like the departing top cop's first name. There is nothing luscious about the premature retirement of Commissioner Thomas, as both the Police Officers' Association (POA) and the Jamaica Police Federation have expressed regret at his parting. Each day, the 'guess' list increases. However, it is hoped that no foreigners get invited to the party.

After a controversial general election and with local government polls due before year's end, former army man, Director of Elections, Danville Walker, was allegedly one of the early favourites. With one seat still undecided and election-day workers yet unpaid, it is hoped that Danville will not walk out on them. Even if he does, hopefully, he won't walk into the shoes of Thomas.

no power vacuum in jdf
    Next, the Chief of Staff of the Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) had 'Hardley' announced his own retirement when his name joined the roll. Interestingly, there was no power vacuum or any question about continuity in the JDF. As Rear Admiral Lewin's retirement was announced, it was revealed that Colonel Stewart 'Suundi' Saunders was to succeed him. A big man, Colonel Saunders is no chicken and he has the respect of officers and other ranks. On paper, he is also very qualified, having completed at least a master of science degree.

Of note, he graduated from the same high-quality programme that one of the deputy commissioners of police (DCP) and an assistant commissioner of police (ACP) completed around the same time. These two persons are, I would like to believe, 'front runners' for the post.

Nonetheless, there is a dark cloud pervading the succession debate because there is an implicit argument that there is no one in the senior ranks of the force, capable of taking over the reins.

Perhaps because politicians, without any experience in their portfolio areas, can be appointed to run super ministries, it is felt that a 'stranger' can be superimposed on the force and run it efficiently and effectively. The Jamaica Labour Party was the first to ignore the active senior ranks in selecting a commissioner. Retired ACP Joe Williams was strangely brought back from the catacombs of extinction during the early 1980s.

no panacea
    Then, the People's National Party (PNP) grafted Colonel Trevor MacMillan on to the force in the early 1990s. Williams' stewardship is forgettable, but MacMillan was no panacea either, as many policemen and women complained that the ex-soldier was keeping an 'army's' house. He barely improved the image of the force and his appointment demoralised many career police officers.

The PNP, whose posteriors are now stripping from sitting in the unaccustomed Opposition seats, introduced a foreign DCP and ACPs these men are of the highest quality and are working hard, there is no reason to believe that their presence has yet done more good than harm to the morale of the force. Furthermore, the high crime rate is as stubborn as Mr. Barrington Gray, who refused to concede that he has lost the election to dentist 'Decay' Duncan. By the way, Duncan was young bwoy with Joe Williams.

There seems to be a consensus between the main political parties that there is an insidious level of corruption in the entire organisation and that, coupled with the shortage of competence, makes the recruitment of a commissioner from the officer corps an impossible option. One senior PNP politician suggested that the police hierarchy is nothing more than a set of HEART trainees who cannot be entrusted to run a 21st-century corporation such as that which the force needs to be. Who knows? If they are so interested in selecting a commissioner who is spotless, then they can reactivate former DCP Owen Clunie, who retired with a clean record.

It is a dangerous route to import, once again, a commissioner from outside. What is ironic is that the same set of politicians who object to Members of Parliament having foreign citizenship and who are questioning the thousands of work permits to foreign nationals are thinking about engaging an expatriate. Our Jamaican labour laws are explicit regarding the employment of non-Jamaicans.

contracting foreign nationals
    Furthermore, according to international labour conventions and principles, foreign workers should not be contracted unless there is no local person suitable available for the job. There is no evidence that is so in this case.

When leaders are being chosen to head organisations, the consideration cannot simply be about their knowledge or expertise. Rather, a major point must be the capacity to consolidate, lead and inspire his/her staff. It is not sufficient to appease the masses who are external to the organisation. Ask the former Prime Minister, she learned this the hard way.

If the new commissioner is unacceptable to the POA or Federation, it can be the source of a legitimate industrial dispute under Section 2 of the Labour Relations and Industrial Disputes Act.

The fact is, the Jamaica Constabulary Force needs far more than a symbolic pandering to the private sector and society at large that unfairly believe that our local cops are mostly incompetent and corrupt. The force needs extensive retooling, new equipment, new approaches to training and promotion, and most importantly, a clear sense of direction from the political directorate. Up to this point in time, it is unclear whether the elites fully understand why we are having the high homicide rates. Neither is it realised that attacks on Jamaican police personnel are among the highest in the free world.

Think slowly and choose carefully.

Dr. Orville Taylor is senior lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work at the University of the West Indies, Mona.

Neither discipline nor leadership

Herbert Lewis, Contributor

Lewis

Much discussion on the selection of a new commissioner of police is taking place at all levels of society - a good sign, as Jamaicans are beginning to wake up to the reality that every day, things change, and so do expectations of people. Jamaicans are expecting that whoever is selected for the job will be the best person who can make a meaningful change for the betterment of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) and the security of the citizens of the country

The Police Service Commission, the body with responsibility for selecting the new commissioner, has decided to advertise the position for which any candidate who considers himself/herself suitable can apply. This means that there is the possibility that someone outside the force could be selected as the new commissioner.

Of much concern in the public domain now is the approach taken by the Police Officers' Association towards the possibility of someone outside their ranks being selected as commissioner. It would appear that these officers are trying by their utterances to put pressure on the Police Service Commission to select one from their ranks. Talk in the streets is that police officers outside the officer ranks are prepared to support their senior ranks and withdraw their support if an outsider is selected.

speaking with senior officer
    I had the opportunity of speaking with a very senior officer of the force since talk has started about advertising the vacancy and the possibility of someone from the ranks not being selected. I have known this officer for a long time and I regard him as an honest, ethical human being. I know his rank. I asked him his age and how long he had been in the force and in particular, how long he had been in the senior ranks. Without hesitation he answered my questions.

I asked whether he supported the thinking that the vacancy should not be advertised and that the position should be filled from the existing senior ranks of which he was a member. His response was a studied one. He said he had always supported discipline in all walks of life and that those who encouraged indiscipline should not be placed in positions where discipline was a prerequisite to good order. The force is crying out for discipline from the top to the bottom, he said, and the utterances of his colleagues support his views. He supports the decision of the Police Service Commission to advertise the vacancy and expresses the view that the whole force needs to renew itself and embrace change to deal with what has been taking place in Jamaica.

corruption the order of the day
    According to the officer, corruption in all ranks is the order of the day. How do you know that? I asked him. "Sir," he replied. "I know the salary of every rank in the force and there is no one in the force who can own three and four houses on the current salaries being paid. People know what is going on, but if you open your mouth you are likely to end up at Dovecot," he said. According to this person, the public is not aware of even a half of the ills affecting the force, and he said he was not talking about the lack of things like arms and vehicles.

When one hears stories like these, then it becomes very clear that things cannot continue the way they have been going. Whoever is selected to lead the force must realise that a heavy burden awaits him/her. That individual's work must involve actions which indicate commitment to the achievement of the country's and the organisation's goals: timely and effective discharge of operational and organisational duties and obligations; working effectively with others, including the people of this country; compliance with and active support of organisational goals, rules and policies.

unflattering image of jcf
    All Jamaica is aware of the fact that effort was made not so long ago to change the culture of indiscipline in the JCF. Though some effort was made, the view is that very little support came from certain quarters. As a result, instead of things getting better, they seem to have got worse. In the eyes of the people of Jamaica, whom the JCF is expected to protect, the image of that organisation is far from pretty, and every single member with any sense of pride should welcome any change (including the selection of one from outside their ranks) which showcases the force as a disciplined, ethical and cohesive organisation - an organisation whose members respect themselves and respect those whom they swear to protect.

Finally, may I use the analogy of an orchestral conductor to describe the quality of the leadership process. An effective leader resembles an orchestra conductor in some ways. He/she has to somehow get a group of potentially diverse and talented people - many of whom have strong personalities - to work together toward a common output. Will the conductor harness and blend all the gifts his or her players possess? Will the players accept the degree of creative expression they each have? Will the audience enjoy the sound they make? The conductor should have a clear determining influence on all of these questions.
    The wider society of Jamaica, for all intents and purposes, is not happy with the sounds coming from the members of the JCF. What is coming out is neither discipline nor leadership.

Herbert Lewis, Contributor

Lewis

corruption the order of the day
      According to the officer, corruption in all ranks is the order of the day. How do you know that? I asked him. "Sir," he replied. "I know the salary of every rank in the force and there is no one in the force who can own three and four houses on the current salaries being paid. People know what is going on, but if you open your mouth you are likely to end up at Dovecot," he said. According to this person, the public is not aware of even a half of the ills affecting the force, and he said he was not talking about the lack of things like arms and vehicles.

When one hears stories like these, then it becomes very clear that things cannot continue the way they have been going. Whoever is selected to lead the force must realise that a heavy burden awaits him/her. That individual's work must involve actions which indicate commitment to the achievement of the country's and the organisation's goals: timely and effective discharge of operational and organisational duties and obligations; working effectively with others, including the people of this country; compliance with and active support of organisational goals, rules and policies.

Mosiah and his followers feed into these types of nonsense statements and analyses.

I am not for a moment saying there is not too much corruption. After all is said, one case of corruption is one too much.

..but, the man speaks nonsense or by choice of anology hopes the people buy into the nonsense he spouts about no cop being able to afford 3 homes.

the fact is corruption is a everyday way of life for too many in the force and it is very obvious Karl, believe it or not.

Yuh can stay deh. The majority, at least 75%, are not just corrupt, but crooks as well!

True thing Mo.

My sources tell me the same thing.

A lot more people want to admit this, but for whatever reason, they can't.

Yuh can stay deh. The majority, at least 75%, are not just corrupt, but crooks as well!
                75%?
                I guess you are basing that on %age in the larger society?

It is those wild and ridiculous statements that crucify the police force and not incidentally make life hell for the law-abiding citizens as the effects of such 'driven' mindset kills moral...and, thus willingness to work in an industrious manner as desired.

...then, that fueling of such a mindset is followed by expectations of motivated police force?

One word - CRAZY!

75%?
                  I guess you are basing that on %age in the larger society?

It is those wild and ridiculous statements that crucify the police force and not incidentally make life hell for the law-abiding citizens as the effects of such 'driven' mindset kills moral...and, thus willingness to work in an industrious manner as desired.

...then, that fueling of such a mindset is followed by expectations of motivated police force?

One word - CRAZY!

I guess you have forgotten that it was your hero, Reneto, who said tghat about the Jamaican people. If 75% of us are criminals, then it must hold true for the police, no?

Come again, Karl. I fully agree with you -
                  "It is those wild and ridiculous statements that crucify the police force and not incidentally make life hell for the law-abiding citizens as the effects of such 'driven' mindset kills moral...and, thus willingness to work in an industrious manner as desired."

I guess you have forgotten that it was your hero, Reneto, who said tghat about the Jamaican people. If 75% of us are criminals, then it must hold true for the police, no?

Come again, Karl. I fully agree with you -
                    "It is those wild and ridiculous statements that crucify the police force and not incidentally make life hell for the law-abiding citizens as the effects of such 'driven' mindset kills moral...and, thus willingness to work in an industrious manner as desired."
                    Is Renato my hero?
                    Come again?!

...yes, I believe corruption is rampant! ...but, 75% of any body is looking at end days!

...do not for a moment believe any such thing. We must have...or, at least I believe...much more than 75% doing the right thing!

Well, take it up with Reneto, hero or not, about such a ridiculous statement.

And I still believe that the majority of cops are crooked. A small number are murderous, while a good number of them will look the other way. All makes for a wretchedly corrupt force.

Karl nuh know what a clock a strike. The car that trailed my relatives in 2005 and robbed them in Jam. - those crooks were COPS!