• Federation says no to locking up police

published: Sunday | October 21, 2007

Mark Beckford, Staff Reporter

Stewart

The Jamaica Police Federation is opposed to calls from sections of the society to have policemen implicated in controversial shootings held in custody as normal citizens are.

The calls come in the wake of recent incidents, including a shooting last month in St. Thomas where a pregnant teenager and a man were killed. Public outrage came to a climax four Fridays ago when 18-year-old André Thomas was shot and killed in what the police called a shoot-out, but which was countered by residents, who claimed it was a cold-blooded murder.

current procedure
    The federation's general secretary, Corporal Hartley Stewart, says the current procedure in handling police involved in such incident, "doesn't need any tinkering with at the moment."

"There is a protocol currently that works. It says that where an incident occurs, it is the duty of the policeman to make a report to his superior officer and sometimes a criminal investigation is started right away," Stewart tells The Sunday Gleaner.
    "At the end of the investigations," he continues, "a file is submitted to the Director of Public Prosecutions who then rules as to what should happen. The court and the Director of Public Prosecutions have the authority, where they believe that a criminal suspect is a flight risk, to take that person into custody."

However, Justice Lloyd Ellis, chairman of the Police Public Complaints Authority (PPCA), is of the view that when police personnel are involved in cases where there are either allegations of abuse or fatal shootings, they should be jailed before investigations are complete.

'crime is crime'
    "My personal feelings are that crime is crime. If a private individual or a citizen commits an offence, then he is arrested; if a policeman commits a crime, then they should be treated the same way," says Ellis

The PPCA head also believes something needs to be done immediately by the new Government to curb what, according to him, is not a new phenomenon of police killings; but the recent incidents have caused the society to become apprehensive. "Expectations are running high and people are expecting the new Government to take action so that the situation is abated," argues Ellis.

He has also praised the plan by the Government to establish an independent body which will investigate cases of police excess. He, however, believes that the PPCA should be expanded. "We are not satisfied with the present makeup of the body. We are not proactive; we are reactive. We need to go out and educate policemen in human rights requirements," states Justice Ellis. Since the start of the year, over 200 persons have died in shootings involving the police. Statistics also show that the police have been shot at over 300 times and 12 policemen have been killed since the start of the year.
    Last edited by Karl; October 21, 2007, 11:30 AM.

Mi have a problem wid dem getting special treatment. The same way mi can get lockup dem ********s mi get lock up tuh. What? Dem more equal than the ress a wi?

Those with the 'loud mouths' need to come to grips with the climate in which innocent citizens are likely to die as a result.

The climate is one in which policemen operate in heightened state of fear. In a real sense the policeman's 'equalizer' is always cocked and at the ready...as the policeman's life has never been in more danger than ever before. The ordinary citizen it is claimed operates with the thought at the forefront of his/her mind that the 'lawless gun' makes the great and fearful unknown is, "will I return home today". The policeman's thought is, "it is highly likely I shall not return home". In such a situation if a twig cracks, the 'equalizer comes up blasting' from the 'cold sweat' drenched, angry at the unfairness of having to live 'on tightened nerves'...stressed, insane with fear, is this anyway to live...police!

It is not a matter of thinking about the possibility of innocents being killed...it is a matter of "innocents shall be killed" and increasingly so if the climate is not changed and changed immediately.

I am not in the policeman's shoe...but, commonsense says to me that members of my family depend on me 'living'...and, knowing I shall die one day makes me in no hurry to speed up the process...in fact, even in my state of living free from fear, I work to prolong the 'living'. How then should the policeman in a situation where he is a clear defined target must be taking all measures to ensure his 'living' continues on?

Will that have rational men thinking - I must elimate the gunman running away with back to me to cut the odds of his ever returning to take me out when I am in an unsuspecting state? ..back turned? ...opponent determined to kill me met in other situations where I have not a clue this is the bearer of my death? ...or, when the 'pop' goes off I must immediately bring the 'equalizer' to bear as a spilt second hesitation could mean transition to 'duppy state'?

Change the climate and free men. Free the policemen from fear. Men...including policemen, living normal lives will once again become normal men...acting as normal men do! Currently the men and women in our police force are stressed out...crazed persons. ..and, like crazed persons, act as crazed persons! Normal persons should expect that!

Ban the guns! Take then out of the hands of the criminals!
      Those criminals who do not willingly go gun free...will be easy to differentiate from the normal rest. They will have guns...others will not. Some degree of return to normal behaviour by the police will be seen in the short term and return to the pre-gun safe Jamaica shall eventually occur. Not just the police but the rest of us will then be able to see the the current 'prison-like' island with its of-limits areas gradually become an all-emcompassing area across which we can all roam freely free from fear!!!!

That return to a free from fear island we owe to our policemen and the rest of us!!!

Aftah haul police a suh-mady pickney tuh!
      Last edited by Karl; October 21, 2007, 12:05 PM.

What a load of crap? Do you even understand what the original article is about?

My problem is the inability of our courts to find them guilty when they are. And there are a ton of reasons for this, not least of which is the terrorism that that takes place when police are on trial. They threaten the witnesses and the families, not unlike what a common criminal would do. And too many of our lawyers and judges seem to put the law aside when it comes to cops.

With proper training and a system in place, we wouldn't have to be talking about this. The mere fact that cops do not have to account for ammunition taken from stations is what is giving rise to all this misbehaviour. JDF soldiers have to account for every little thing. It should be the same for cops.

Mi have a problem wid dem getting special treatment. The same way mi can get lockup dem ********s mi get lock up tuh. What? Dem more equal than the ress a wi?
            Currently it appears they are not equal to the rest of us! We have made them "fodder for those with guns"! ...and, then so many act the fool by expecting them not to be erring on the side of trying to prolong their lives!

I would love to see the loud mouths who in this climate...would in the policeman's shoe say let me wait and see if 'gunman John-Tom will take a shot at me'...

...or, suspected gunman with bugle at his waist and hand diving towards said waist is merely grabbing to relieve a sudden sharpe itch...???

...or, "John-Tom" who has just shot at me and is now running away in an inner area will just keep on his way and would never ever even think of ambushing me and, killing mi r@*&^%$$...that first few shots were an unthinking accident...I'll just normally move down the road on duty with nary a though of 'duppy time' for me around the corner?

...or, any of the thousand and one situations that shooting first and asking questions after in pursuit of living would have a fear crazed person think of doing to prolong 'living'?
            Last edited by Karl; October 21, 2007, 12:36 PM.

...and the other scenario where the police are in total control and their lives are not in danger, yet they proceed to take out individuals one by one.