Out of Many One People, We Are A Race Apart

Now let's reason:

what i am asking you is, if ther were absentee and held these positions in gov't and parish council...how did they protect the interest in those positions while being absentee.

>>>>Based on the above it's safe to say interest is not restricted to land

my own guess is that they did NOT hold these positions but saw to it that persons favourable to their interests did

>>>>> So we are back to my inital thought:"Landowners could count on their offspring to protect their interests in Jamaica while they were back in Britain."

no jawge...you did not make that statement...you quoted it. THIS is the statement you made: Gamma these landowners also had
      slaves, they held offices in govt., they were on county/parish boards. I know it was along time ago and these things can be easily forgotten.

THAT is the statement i am seeking clarication on.

Check the records or ask the
        current masters; yes some held positions even whilst away. Was Pirate Morgan here all the time when he was a govenor?

You need to change you handle from gamma to Job

Thanks for your contribution.

Anytime!

It's nice to have friends,
                I'm overwhelmed.

was nanny p always in jamaica as prime minister?

my question was "how were those interests in the government and parish council positions" protected by the absentee landowners? it seems a simple enuff question.

Or Doofus! Because dis kinda patience sensible people nuh 'ave!

The top question i will ignore
                      for obvious reason (jet travel being the key tenet)

Gamma the article stated that landowner's left their bastard children to
                      protect their interests. I made acomment saying is it happening today. You asked me if I didn't have land. I said interest is not restricted to lnd alone (seeing that the masters had slaves, positions in town councils et al) We seem to be going in circles and this not productive. Lata

suh who said this?

Gamma these landowners also had
                        slaves, they held offices in govt., they were on county/parish boards. I know it was along time ago and these things can be easily forgotten.