• Nobel-winning biologist apologizes for remarks about blacks

Nobel-winning biologist apologizes for remarks about blacks

LONDON, England (CNN) -- Nobel laureate biologist Jim Watson apologized "unreservedly" Thursday for stating that black people were not as intelligent as whites, saying he was "mortified" by the comments attributed to him.
    Jim Watson won the 1962 Nobel Prize for his part in discovering the structure of DNA.

"I cannot understand how I could have said what I am quoted as having said," Watson said during an appearance at the Royal Society in London.
    "I can certainly understand why people, reading those words, have reacted in the ways that they have."
    "To all those who have drawn the inference from my words that Africa, as a continent, is somehow genetically inferior, I can only apologize unreservedly. That is not what I meant. More importantly from my point of view, there is no scientific basis for such a belief," he said.
    Watson, 79, an American who won the 1962 Nobel prize for his role in the discovery of the double-helix structure of DNA, told the Sunday Times he was "inherently gloomy about the prospect of Africa" because "all our social policies are based on the fact that their intelligence is the same as ours, whereas all the testing says not really."
    Watson also asserted there was no reason to believe different races separated by geography should have evolved identically, and he said that while he hoped everyone was equal, "people who have to deal with black employees find this is not true."
    Don't MissHis comments were met with an avalanche of criticism, and London's Science Museum canceled Watson's planned Friday appearance, saying his remarks had "gone beyond the point of acceptable debate."
    The British government's skills minister, David Lammy, who is black, called the comments "deeply offensive."
    "It is a shame that a man with a record of scientific distinction should see his work overshadowed by his own irrational prejudices," Lammy said.
    Watson's remarks to the Sunday Times were the latest in a number of controversial comments from the eminent biologist.
    In 1997, Britain's Sunday Telegraph quoted Watson as saying that if a gene for homosexuality were isolated, women who find that their unborn child has the gene should be allowed to have an abortion.
    During a lecture tour in 2000, he suggested there might be links between a person's weight and their level of ambition and between skin color and sexual prowess.
    "That's why you have Latin lovers," he said, according to The Associated Press, which cited people who attended the lecture. "You've never heard of an English lover. Only an English patient."
    And in a British TV documentary that aired in 2003, Watson suggested stupidity was a genetic disease that should be treated. E-mail to a friend
    CNN's Alphonso van Marsh contributed to this report
    Last edited by Scaly Spurs; October 19, 2007, 09:08 AM.

Maudib, in yesterday's post: "He makes some interesting points."

This is just a waste of time; anyone
      tha follows what this man says, is just showing that the lack certain knowledge. Look around search history then ask: are blacks intellectually inferior? waste of time.

Maudib, in yesterday's post: "He makes some interesting points."
        The points I highlighted were quite interesting...

Of course you could simply toss everything he had to say out the door just because...

I follow a different analytical path.

Look past the 'hype and drama' and dissect his arguments... there were a couple interesting ones.

Ben please explain this
            analytical path that you speak of. Thanks.

Please forgive my limitation. Can
              you please dissect his arguments and show me the intersting points? Thanks.

Ben, when are you going
                to come with the explanation?

Did he make his apology from London? Suh if yuh bun ********************MAN yuh cyaan come a England but if yuh bun blcak people you safe.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                    In 1997, Britain's Sunday Telegraph quoted Watson as saying that if a gene for homosexuality were isolated, women who find that their unborn child has the gene should be allowed to have an abortion.
                    On second thought don't be so hard on the fellow

Somehow I just knew you would like that one, now do u agree 100% with that ?

"there is no firm reason to anticipate that the intellectual capacities of peoples geographically separated in their evolution should prove to have evolved identically. Our wanting to reserve equal powers of reason as some universal heritage of humanity will not be enough to make it so"

Discuss

all our social policies are based on the fact that their intelligence is the same as ours - whereas all the testing says not really

Discuss

Once again, all hinges on how one defines intelligence..

Here is one: in·tel·li·gence
                        The capacity to acquire and apply knowledge.

example:

What is the Jamaican populace capacity to acquire and apply knowledge ?

Is this capacity static can it be increased, decreased ?

Is the capacity of the Jamaican populace currently to acquire and apply knowledge the same as say the Singapore populace ? or the South Korean populace ?
                        Last edited by Muadib; October 19, 2007, 01:06 PM.

Off topic a bit here, but that guy is one ugly mo$%&%f#$er

If your economy hinges on the availability of an unrenewable natural resource what does that say about your intellectual capacity?

Depends on the market price of the resource and how much of it you have.