• Lucky Dube shot dead

Lucky Dube shot dead
    published: Friday | October 19, 2007

Reggae musician Lucky Dube was shot dead in a hijacking yesterday in Rosettenville, Johannesburg, South Africa, police say.

The report of the singer's death was published yesterday by the Independent online, an Internet-based news site.

Captain Cheryl Engelbrecht, who reported on the incident, told the news site that the incident took place around 8.20 p.m. when Dube was driving a blue Polo in the Johannesburg suburb.

She said Dube was dropping off his son in the area when he was attacked.

"His son was already out of the car. When he saw what was happening, he ran to ask for help."

The hijackers were still at large.

The boy was too traumatised to provide police with any information, Engelbrecht said.

Dube was a headline performer at the Cricket World Cup opening ceremony at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Sports Complex in March.

Symbolic handing over

His performance was a symbolic handing over of the torch from South Africa, which had hosted the previous Cricket World Cup, to the Caribbean, which was hosting its first.

Dube, who was born in Johannesburg on August 3, 1964, was named 'Lucky' as he was born in poor health and doctors thought he would die, according to Wikipedia.

But Dube survived and went on to become a front-line artist in the reggae genre.

He recorded more than 20 albums in his music career, which spanned more than 20 years, according to Luckydubemusic.com. His albums include Rastas Never Die, Think about the Children, Soul Taker and Trinity. His latest, released in 2006, is called Respect.

sad!

i'm heading to cape town next week. feels like a homecoming to rahtid!!

anyway....lucky?....ah bwoy. RIP!!!

Sorry to hear. I remember given a tape (yeah, back in the day) by a girlfriend (who still remains a very good friend) who was impressed by his style. I am sure I may be able to still find it.....

the tape or......

Ha, ha....the tape.

Man this piece of news is just so sad...what a waste of a great life. It just goes to show that the criminals here does not have a lock on idiocy, you rob a man then turn around and kill him..FOR WHAT???

One fact that has been overlooked in this rush to South Africa 2010 is that parts of the country is run by thugs with big guns and no conscience and South Africa is ranked as one of the top three countries in the world in terms of lawlessness and violence.

Sickko? Sickko?!? Yuh sounding like the deejay on Irie FM this morning who also made some remark about how violent South Africa is. Sickko, we are Jamaicans living in Jamaica. We have almost lost the right to say such things! Sabina Park is a bullet away from some violent communities in Kingston, yet we hosted the CWC and were looking for thousands to attend and feel safe.

I think SA have us beat Mo.

Are you saying we should adopt the attitude that we have nothing to worry about and just go anywhere we want?

I just returned from Haiti and as far as we were concerned all was well, because we were ensconced in a hotel that claimed to be part of a world wide chain that is known for excellence.

We were escorted by police with sirens and lights flashing everywhere we went and very few left the comforts of the hotel during our six days there.

Does this mean Haiti is safe?

It was not until we checked the international news on line that we heard there were execution styled killings not too far from where we were staying.

Maybe we were not a target but what of one day while we were on our way to training a group of criminals saw the bus with windows locked with people obviously enjoying A/C comfort and decided they wanted to rob us at gun point?

Is this scenario unlikely?

I have three of his albums, and it is a terrible loss.

Recent data suggests that they are #2 while we are #4 in terms of number of homicides per capita.

But I dare say that when you really examine where the crime is happening, I could bet big dollars that we have everybody beat.

I think you have misunderstood me.

Hard to say when you dealing with countries with that high a level of crime which one is worse, but your point about CWC is well taken.

It is also worth noting that the tourist industry in SA has been booming over the last few years, and i know a few people who have been there on vacation or to attend conferences that have enjoyed it.

Like most places with a crime problem including Jamaica, I am sure it all depends where you are in the city.

Along with per capita, let's consider another factor. How about per square kilometer? Our numbers would make South Africa's look like phriggery!