• Jah Cure put eight years wait into one hour

Jah Cure put eight years wait into one hour

By Mel Cooke, Freelance Writer

Jah Cure during his performance at 'Cure Fest' on Monday, October 15. - Richard Morais
    Singer Siccature 'Jah Cure' Alcock packed eight years from the stage due to incarceration for rape and gun charges into an hour of performance as he closed the three-day 'Curefest' at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium on National Heroes Day 2007.
    And it was a hero's welcome that he got at 7:11 a.m. when, after MC Nuffy's introduction and starting with the song from off-stage to the music of Live Wyya, with Dean Fraser on saxophone, he ran on to the chorus of Longing For.
    A substantial but not massive audience cheered and answered Jah Cure's raised left forefinger with a flurry of banners. The song was given extended play before a smooth transition to 'Good Morning Jah', Jah Cure showing minimal stage movement. "Wha time now? 17 after 7. Now is morning," Jah Cure said as the women screamed, while strategically placed microphones carried the noise over the sound system. "Good morning to all my lovers out there and I'm feeling fine," he said.
    "Election slow this down. Then storm and thunderstorm. Me have to say good morning Jah. Him ease the rain. Big up the officers from GP," Jah Cure said, asking the ladies to be quiet as "me no ready fi yuh mek noise yet".
    "This song is for all you who love me out there. Give thanks to all who give me strength. More time prison rough me neva know me woulda make it. Not that me doubt meself, but nuff no make it," he said.
    More fluid

It was the end of extended talk as with that he sang of Freedom, ending "here comes the Cure". Fantan Mojah was the guest deejay for Jah Cure's musing "dem no buil great man only kill great man," and the singer filled in for Sizzla on Divide and Rule.
    Jah Cure introduced Lee 'Scratch' Perry to the audience as "one of the greats in the business" and told him "respect Daddy", the white shirt coming off to show a white vest as he delivered I Know Jah Jah Bless Me.
    On the next song the crowd erupted at the music and it was restarted without Jah Cure singing a line. "Whenever I sing love songs I sing it different for the ladies," Jah Cure said and they screamed.
    Jah Cure's voice grew in confidence as he went on, his stage movement got more fluid and he interacted with the audience.
    His right leg went up on a monitor as he crooned "love is the only solution" and when he enquired "girl a whe yu deh from when" the reaction prompted his first 'pull up'. "Me love you ladies. Endless ting me have fi yu. Me not even a talk much," he said.
    After a long night and many performers, though, the audience did not have endless love for Jah Cure and by now more people were leaving. The departures continued through a combination with Jah Mason and an appeal to pickpockets in the audience to "jus' go easy. Me no want de people feel like dem inna bondage wid dem pocket". After he "vibes up a ting", Jah Cure left the stage at 7:47. He returned with True Reflections, the hat now off to release his locks. Jah Cure skipped backwards for the final refrain and a substantial dedicated core of fans stayed to agree that 'Love Is'.

I think they mean 7:11 PM not am.

Heh heh! He wouldn't open his own show.

leyton orient time....