Minister Bartlett Unveils 3-Year Tourism Development Plan

• Minister Bartlett Unveils 3-Year Tourism Development Plan

Minister of Tourism, Edmund Bartlett, has unveiled a three-year master plan for sustainable tourism development in Jamaica, which will entail aggressive marketing, investment and product development strategies to increase visitor arrivals and revenue to the industry.

The Minister, who was speaking at a luncheon meeting of the Jamaican American Chamber of Commerce in Manhattan, New York City yesterday (Oct. 16), mentioned improved targets in stopover and cruise passenger arrivals and a near 50 per cent increase in revenue from cruise passengers by the year 2010.

The targets, he said, are as a result of very careful discussions with a wide cross section of stakeholders in the hospitality industry, including the Jamaican Diaspora as clients and ambassadors.

"This is a large part of why we are here today; to do the team-talk with Jamaicans and friends of Jamaica. You are the ones who know that Jamaica is the greatest little country on earth. You need to know how the brand grows as we deliver on our promises to conquer new frontiers in tourism," he said.

According to the Tourism Minister, the master plan will be based on the M-E-C-C-A principle which entails: embracing an aggressive strategic marketing initiative to take the fullest advantage of the country's comparative and competitive edge; environmentally sensitive planning to avoid degradation of the natural product; cultural and heritage-based attractions; community-based development; and an all-inclusive concept for income generation and wealth sharing.

He said that each of the island's six resort areas will soon be undergoing some design makeover for a clear demonstration of uniqueness of each area, with enhanced security features using a mobile police station, through the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF).

A hospitality college to train all levels of the workforce is also part of the initiative, the Minister said, noting that the new tourism development plan will not just put Jamaicans to work, but will allow many persons to create their own jobs.

According to the Minister, much of the success of the plan will depend on collaboration with the culture and agriculture sectors and to a lesser extent, industry and commerce.

He invited support and participation in the development plans, noting that, "there is a new wave of enthusiasm at home, signaled by the warm reception to our plans and the demonstrated dedication of our partners in the process.

Minister Bartlett, who will be in New York until Thursday morning(Oct. 18), is accompanied by Basil Smith, Director of Tourism; Carole Guntley, Director General of the Tourism Ministry; and Tony King, Marketing Director for the Jamaica Tourist Board's New York office.

Maybe he should have been the Minister of National Security. All now wi cyaan hear from dem as to what dem plan fi do bout di crime.

sigh

Maybe he should have been the Minister of National Security. All now wi cyaan hear from dem as to what dem plan fi do bout di crime.

sigh
      Rastah know ... mi a say the same thing. I even attempted to access the National Security website but it say "Under Construction!"

I somehow think Bruce may have to replace Derrick and the sad thing is MacMillian isn't a senator to replace him.

A hospitality college to train all levels of the workforce is also part of the initiative, the Minister said,...
        Den dat nuh exist arready, assasin?!?

Don't think Bruce will replace anyone soon. That would make him look bad. I guess they are now waiting for the commish and the chief of staff to be in place before they announce anything.

But dem better get cracking! Di gunman dem nah wait pon nuhbody.

Don't think Bruce will replace anyone soon. That would make him look bad. I guess they are now waiting for the commish and the chief of staff to be in place before they announce anything.

But dem better get cracking! Di gunman dem nah wait pon nuhbody.
            Look bad? Why? The 5th step in Strategic Management is .... Change .. and I'm not talking the group.

By the way... Anybody hear from Danai...

Mo when I applied, it was about 10 thousand people applied and they took two hundred. I was amongst the first graduate so.

There was desperate for another, Seaga inna one a him election promise said he wanted to build one in Mobay so I think it is the same thing them talking about. The good thing about such institution is it run it own hotel so if running properly it can offset some of the cost.

WHre is the Health and Environment Ministry in this?
                  "According to the Minister, much of the success of the plan will depend on collaboration with the culture and agriculture sectors and to a lesser extent, industry and commerce".
                  Most of the major and negative impacts of the industry will influence the environment, from construction to tourist numbers, sewage and housing for workers. The latter has been a MAJOR factor left out of development plans which has led to squatting communties and other unplanned urbanization.
                  Good move, make the plan public now for inputs - the nitty gritty, not the bells and whistles.

By the way... Anybody hear from Danai...
                    Why? Yuh hear him apply fi the commissioner's job?

you hit the nail right pon the head with the hotel workers brethren.

That would seem to be a very profitable venture for the builder if they can provide low cost housing. I often wonder why the hotels don't partner with builders and take allowance from the workers pay as they are losing out on some of the better workers who have nowhere to stay in these areas.

They said the basic need of human needs are food clothing and shelter so if the hotels want workers to do their best then they better help and come up with solutions to this problem.

Well let's hope this get's included in future development plans - 'Flankerization' of other areas may prove to be difficult. There are clear signs though in Negril, Runaway Bay that the squatter communities will spring....so add the run-off, poor garbage disposal etc. from there to possible poorly managed and operated STPs and you see a problem....so evryone will be bathing in coliform-laced water...not a pretty outlook at all.

You are absolutely correct. The land across from my dad's house in Runaway Bay (this is right on the main road) is a prime example of whats happening. It's like another city or community onto itself. Electricity, roads, shop etc. Most of the people who live there come from other areas of JA.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Well let's hope this get's included in future development plans - 'Flankerization' of other areas may prove to be difficult. There are clear signs though in Negril, Runaway Bay that the squatter communities will spring....so add the run-off, poor garbage disposal etc. from there to possible poorly managed and operated STPs and you see a problem....so evryone will be bathing in coliform-laced water...not a pretty outlook at all.
                            ...and, Hanover!
                            There is now an expensive squator settlement right beside Tryall in the Sandy Bay area.

Imagine - $40 million-100million squatter houses settlement?

...I can see it coming in the Johnson Town area and environs near the new currently being built hotel at Point.

Originally posted by Runawaybay View Post
                              You are absolutely correct. The land across from my dad's house in Runaway Bay (this is right on the main road) is a prime example of whats happening. It's like another city or community onto itself. Electricity, roads, shop etc. Most of the people who live there come from other areas of JA.
                              Wait, another man from the Garden Parish? I thought you used the name because of the meaning of the name.