• Islandman, the next big thing...

Might be FOOD.

Yup, commodity stuff.

Corn and bio-fuel applications will drive up prices. The Global players like Cargill, Con-Agra, Nestle, The Brazilian outfit, Monsanto (evil incarnated), Midland, etc will have this covered going forward. I smell and impending shakedown.

Water will be another big thing!

Resources in general will be the best hedge, as that has the best scenario for big plays.

The pure commodity plays are a bit tricky sometimes to take advantage of if you don't know the game well. I guess ETFs give a bit more options but the reason I like gold is that I can take delivery without storage being too much of a problem, for my quantities at least.

Taleb is a hedge fund guy but he has a different take on risk management. He has 2 fairly well known books, Fooled by Randomness and Black Swan effect where he defines a Black Swan event as one of those world changing events that you cannot really plan for like Sept 11 (the term black swan because for centuries Europeans thought all swans were white until they discovered the impossible, a black swan , was possible) . He is of Lebanese origin and so Middle Eastern affairs have affected his outlook a great deal. I have read a few essays by him but I haven't read his books yet. I will probably read Black Swan before the end of the year.

You can consider equities in the niche players as well...those that have IP on the critical processes that supply the big players. Like innovative drill bit companies for the oil majors, for example.

Remember in the San Fran gold rush, the real money makers were the hardware stores!

Might be FOOD.

Water will be another big thing!

Resources in general will be the best hedge, as that has the best scenario for big plays.
        A colleague of mine preaches to me regularly that he believes water as an investment is going to generate huge returns.

To this day, I refuse to buy water!

Yuh nuh get a bill from NWC?

a nuh him pay the water bill!

What getting a bill have to do with payment ?

Yuh nuh di mre wi seh...di more wi seh bout wiself!

But mi nuh unnastan.

A bill is simply an invoice.

Anybody can mek up an invoice.

Is like someone calling and asking when can we expect payment.. well, you can expect payment immediately if yuh want....

But mi nuh unnastan.

A bill is simply an invoice.

Anybody can mek up an invoice.

Is like someone calling and asking when can we expect payment.. well, you can expect payment immediately if yuh want....
                      Yuh tek dis comedian business serious? ...but wait deh ...a shudda kno? Yuh chat sum-much chupidness pre-election dat hit waas dere fur haul tuh si!

heh heh!

Not bottled Water!!! Water utilities.

I once saw a British Docu that predicted that the next big war may be over WATER. There was also a neat Canadian drama where the US "samfied" Canada and used a pretext to invade to secure Canadian Water rights.

Suh yuh tink di invasion of Africa done.. part 2 going be dreadah..

Mek wi si if black people can get a piece of di next 'gold rush' down deh.

Willi yuh serious?