smart move by joshua? not much different from bruce and venezuela is it?
Islandman what's your take on oil hitting $88 a barrell
while it a fact that oil price will rise in the future. This is just based upon speculation as the last excuse is Turkey going into Iraq.
This is a direct effect of the Bush no good policy of going into Iraq and withdrawing from the Palestinian/Isreal negociation, while flaming the Iran fear.
We need changes.
If we have some leadership to get some real solution then maybe maybe we can keep oil at $60 a barrel.
Didn't Paulwell talk bout cars running on ethonal? how soon we forget.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
No it wasn't but at the same
time I wouldn't blame Joshua. This blame I place squarely at UWI's feet. Joshua was aleader with a vision for his people, he was given poor advice by his "experts".
Bruce on the other hand was in the opposition, he could have kept his mouth shut and learn the art of diplomacy. Bruce doesn't know what it means to lead a nation. Bruce is now looking to corporations and billionaires to aid, he will learn the hard way in the arena of regional politics. Can grace kennedy help him with Chavez? can the billionaire help him with the Euros? We will see.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postand where was joshua before he became pm? stap chat fart!"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Jawge View PostNo it wasn't but at the same
time I wouldn't blame Joshua. This blame I place squarely at UWI's feet. Joshua was aleader with a vision for his people, he was given poor advice by his "experts".
Bruce on the other hand was in the opposition, he could have kept his mouth shut and learn the art of diplomacy. Bruce doesn't know what it means to lead a nation. Bruce is now looking to corporations and billionaires to aid, he will learn the hard way in the arena of regional politics. Can grace kennedy help him with Chavez? can the billionaire help him with the Euros? We will see.
Thanks in advance for your answer ?
Willi, you have made some good calls on these issues, some of which I have benefitted from myself. As an example I bought gold coins about 5 years ago when they were under $400 /oz largely because of discussions with you on this forum, so you dun know I respect your views.
But still you must admit that some of your more pessimistic predictions have not panned out, well not yet anyway. Who would have thought that the US stock market would have held up as well as it has over the last 5 years or so? And generally the US economy has done as well as could be expected given all the challenges it faces. In the last 15 years there has been only one recession? That is pretty impressive.
I think $150 a barrell is also a stretch in the near to medium term (up to 5 years say) unless we have one of those Black Swan type of events.
By the way have you read any of Nassim Talebs books?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWilli, you have made some good calls on these issues, some of which I have benefitted from myself. As an example I bought gold coins about 5 years ago when they were under $400 /oz largely because of discussions with you on this forum, so you dun know I respect your views.
But still you must admit that some of your more pessimistic predictions have not panned out, well not yet anyway. Who would have thought that the US stock market would have held up as well as it has over the last 5 years or so? And generally the US economy has done as well as could be expected given all the challenges it faces. In the last 15 years there has been only one recession? That is pretty impressive.
I think $150 a barrell is also a stretch in the near to medium term (up to 5 years say) unless we have one of those Black Swan type of events.
By the way have you read any of Nassim Talebs books?
Then I recommended oil stocks - They have also move impressively."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Heh heh. Stop imitate Jawge nuh man.
Joshua had a lot of advisors from the socialist-leaning-communist members of the Dept of Govt at UWI during the 70s.
Of course that doesn't mean UWI is to blame, but I think that is what he means."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The thing with Willi is that he generally picks up the trends early, before they are even a trend so there is always a lot of upside.
The problem is that it is VERY difficult if not downright impossible to get the timing right on a regular basis, so at times you may be years early."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostThe thing with Willi is that he generally picks up the trends early, before they are even a trend so there is always a lot of upside.
The problem is that it is VERY difficult if not downright impossible to get the timing right on a regular basis, so at times you may be years early.
...and, Willi is good!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
See Scaly it's this simple
Joshua had a cadre of experts from UWI advising him on regional politics.
Look at this: Chile and Brasil send grads to MIT's school of business on their return to their respective countries, they took up office in govt. and shaped the turn around for their respective economies.
It's sad that because of our slave and colonial past; DM's intellect was not exploited in the manner mentioned above.
Bless.