• Widening current account deficit leaves Jamaica vulnerable -

Widening current account deficit leaves Jamaica vulnerable - Fitch

published: Wednesday | October 17, 2007

The Ministry of Finance, domain of the keeper of the treasury, National Heroes Circle, Kingston. Fitch Ratings agency says the new Government is expected to redouble efforts to tighten spending. - File

But ratings agency maintains stable outlook on Jamaica.
    Fitch Ratings has affirmed its rating and maintained a stable outlook on Jamaica, but warned on Friday that the heavy imbalance in trade, evidenced by its expanding current account deficit, leaves the country vulnerable to external shocks.

The current account deficit was estimated at US$609.1 million over the period January to May, according to central bank figures last released in September, US$248 million higher than the deficit for the comparable period in 2006.

Essentially, Jamaica continues to pay out more foreign currency than it earns in the trading of goods and services, leaving a supply gap.
    The excess demand over supply means that buyers are prepared to pay more to acquire hard currency, leading to a depreciation of the JMD.
    Positives for Jamaica are its political stability and debt service record, despite what Fitch referred to as the country's "crushing debt burden".

The national debt is now running at $978 billion, representing 130 per cent of GDP.

A watch is now on to see what plan the new finance team will unveil alongside the supplemental budget expected to be presented in a matter of weeks.

Belt-tightening
    Fitch also noted that a surplus on the primary balance was no longer enough to maintain confidence, cautioning that "the persistent failure to achieve fiscal targets in recent years could eventually undermine hard-won fiscal credibility," according to Shelly Shetty, senior director in Fitch's Sovereign Group.

The agency is also watching the Golding administration to see how the Jamaica Labour Party's election promises will impact spending.
    But it signalled that it belt-tightening was expected, saying "it will be important for the PM Golding-led government to redouble its efforts to tighten fiscal policy and move toward a balanced fiscal budget."

Fitch already anticipates that with government's spending commitments - the administration has promised, among other things, free high school tuition and termination of hospital fees - plus hurricane recovery costs, Jamaica will "quite likely miss its 2007/08 fiscal targets again."

It is also concerned about developments on the monetary side of the economy.

"Already, the Jamaican dollar has faced downward pressures in the last two months, while the central bank has lost over US$300 million in foreign reserves since the beginning of this year," Fitch said.
    "Although the central bank has tightened its monetary policy in response, it is too early to judge to what extent this will permanently stabilise the foreign exchange market, especially, given uncertainty regarding the length and depth of the turmoil in the international credit markets."

Higher inflation
    The ratings agency warns that continued decline in the currency could lead to higher inflation, bigger debt servicing costs, and amid concerns that the depleting reserves could limit future interventions by the central bank, signalled that strong measures were expected from both the Bank of Jamaica and the Finance Ministry.

Otherwise: "Jamaica's credit-worthiness could come under pressure if the Government fails to respond adequately by tightening its monetary and fiscal policies should further depreciation pressures continue," it said.
    A slip in the ratings would inevitably mean higher cost of borrowing for the country in foreign markets, and consequently bigger debt serving costs on the external debt stock.

lavern.clarke@gleanerjm.com Fitch ratings on Jamaica

Foreign and local currency
    Issuer Default Ratings (IDRs) B+

Country ceiling BB-;
    Bond obligations B+/RR4

so what you say? No cuts and no lay off just continue on course?

Widening current account deficit leaves Jamaica vulnerable - Fitch

published: Wednesday | October 17, 2007

Essentially, Jamaica continues to pay out more foreign currency than it earns in the trading of goods and services, leaving a supply gap.
      The excess demand over supply means that buyers are prepared to pay more to acquire hard currency, leading to a depreciation of the JMD.
      Positives for Jamaica are its political stability and debt service record, despite what Fitch referred to as the country's "crushing debt burden".

The national debt is now running at $978 billion, representing 130 per cent of GDP.
      Yes!

A watch is now on to see what plan the new finance team will unveil alongside the supplemental budget expected to be presented in a matter of weeks.

Belt-tightening
      Fitch also noted that a surplus on the primary balance was no longer enough to maintain confidence, cautioning that "the persistent failure to achieve fiscal targets in recent years could eventually undermine hard-won fiscal credibility," according to Shelly Shetty, senior director in Fitch's Sovereign Group.

The agency is also watching the Golding administration to see how the Jamaica Labour Party's election promises will impact spending.
      But it signalled that it belt-tightening was expected, saying "it will be important for the PM Golding-led government to redouble its efforts to tighten fiscal policy and move toward a balanced fiscal budget."

Fitch already anticipates that with government's spending commitments - the administration has promised, among other things, free high school tuition and termination of hospital fees - plus hurricane recovery costs, Jamaica will "quite likely miss its 2007/08 fiscal targets again."

It is also concerned about developments on the monetary side of the economy.

"Already, the Jamaican dollar has faced downward pressures in the last two months, while the central bank has lost over US$300 million in foreign reserves since the beginning of this year," Fitch said.
      "Although the central bank has tightened its monetary policy in response, it is too early to judge to what extent this will permanently stabilise the foreign exchange market, especially, given uncertainty regarding the length and depth of the turmoil in the international credit markets."

Higher inflation
      The ratings agency warns that continued decline in the currency could lead to higher inflation, bigger debt servicing costs, and amid concerns that the depleting reserves could limit future interventions by the central bank, signalled that strong measures were expected from both the Bank of Jamaica and the Finance Ministry.

Otherwise: "Jamaica's credit-worthiness could come under pressure if the Government fails to respond adequately by tightening its monetary and fiscal policies should further depreciation pressures continue," it said.
      A slip in the ratings would inevitably mean higher cost of borrowing for the country in foreign markets, and consequently bigger debt serving costs on the external debt stock.

lavern.clarke@gleanerjm.com Fitch ratings on Jamaica

Foreign and local currency
      Issuer Default Ratings (IDRs) B+

Country ceiling BB-;
      Bond obligations B+/RR4
      So...as I said, there is a political price to pay if the 'tightening of the belt' cuts 'air supply'...produces 'gasping' or 'choking (to death'). That would build on the already - the election results bears this out - 'pent up level of dispair and fustration...as 'the lid could be ready to blow'.

Hence the balancing act i.e. 'keeping the lid on' as efforts are made to gradually increase earnings towards equilibrium with/to demands for/on spending - which I have claimed and I am still claiming Omar - & previous PNP Finance Ministers and the PNP did very well for the last 18 years.

The problem Brucie and his JLP choir has is 'keeping that lid on' in light of pre-elections promises and Brucie's & his JLP choir's built expectations - the conflicting giving more on the spending side & tightening government spending + government taking (widening the tax net) ...while not choking the Jamaican's perchant for creating small businesses & Informal ways of 'doing one-man/mom and pop type small businesses'.

Brucie and his JLP choir would have you believe that he can do all that the fore-going paragraph says --- as he rapidly improves GDP and rapidly increases foreign exchange inflows via various avenues - tourism, new investments, grants, loans, 'stretch di money - renegotiate current loans, etc., etc.

...and, here is the 'killer' - the PNP has destroy the country - therefore
      Brucie and the JLP shall - improve deliver of government services, rehabilitate and build roads, water supply, sewage systems, health services, fire services, police force, education facilities,...and, every other government provide service under the Sun along with improved salaries and wages! ...and, as Brucie and his JLP choir claims...WE SHALL DO IT IMMEDIATELY! ...that is the expectation built by LABOUR in the context of the foregoing...

+ the current unemployment levels + under-employment levels + (within 18 months) the volumes of graduates that high schools, vocational institutions and teritary institutions and universities shall pour at the end of the current school year!

18 months?

there is no price to pay to borrow 3 billion and not grow your GDP? in 18 yrs

Voted out of office on Sept. 3!
          ...but, what were the conditions inherited?

... and what did the elections that propelled the PNP into office and kept them there for 18 years say? ...and, on reflection/review/analysis now saying?

Love to hear you answer, boss!

Pleeease do not give me Maudib's and Lazie's answer - That is their:
          "The people were/are fools!"

Conditions inherited??

There is no comparison.

well...technically it can be compared...but why would karl, as a staunch supporter of the core values, want to do that?

Conditions inherited??

There is no comparison.
                Willi: You hold your view that the conditions then were great as reflected in GDP!

...I will hold my view that those figures do not tell the real story.

I used the example of the family 10 earning $1,000,000 per year

1 making $800,000

1 making $120,000

8 making $10,000 each

--------------------

dat don't mek ebry body or even majority happy!

Well a same way wi (di majority) suck salt unda di 80s JLP...an wi kick dem hout fi dat! ...an keep di PNP fi 18 years!

Well wi tink dem (di PNP) couda mek 'rate a progress' fi di majority guh fas-sah...such dem (di PNP) jus get fi dem kick hout!

well...technically it can be compared...but why would karl, as a staunch supporter of the core values, want to do that?

Question?
                  You are in a family and decisions are being made that is taking the family off 'the good path' - do you abandon the family...or work to get it back on track?

Just asking, boss!

did he say great or better? and would better now seem great?

OMG!!!! i am becoming karl!!!!!!

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggghhhhhhhhhh hhh

is that a tacit acceptance of something?!!!

answer...as a matter of priciple it depends...however i can say without equivocation while we will always be family (cannot do anything about that) in some circumstances especially if i am not a part of the decsion making process, I would be prepared to walk (e.g. my brother is doing something illegal, if talking doesn't set him straight, i will distance myself).

political party is NOT family!

is that a tacit acceptance of something?!!!

political party is NOT family!
                        Splitting hairs!
                        You do know that believing in...and, joining...and or 'living within' makes the entity 'family'!

...or, would say, for example, Jamaica is not family?

if you say so....you asked me a question i answered.....don't yuh leave jamaica? mi naw ask why cause that might be personal...

Yuh luv lick below di belt,eennnh?
                            I have left Jamaica - 1990 - but, I have not left.

Have my daughter in school there. In fact, her entire 'school life' has been in Jamaica - see I am confident in the education received there is for her TOP OF THE WORLD... Still visit extremely often...and, still have a few investments and property there....and, have in mind a few more.

...an dem yuh dun know mi falla ebryting dats go-on dere!