• I just saw this and I hope the

massive enjoy it:

The ghosts of the planter class

Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Dear Editor,
    I am beginning to feel worried and dismayed that Jamaica is going to return to the symbolisms of the planter class (planter's party) from which the first Diocesan Bishop, Rt Revd Christopher Lipscombe, tried to separate the Anglican clergy.

The first ghost is the "dependency syndrome and the identity crisis", which had been mentioned in a speech by the late Michael Manley when he addressed the World Council of Churches in 1975 (Nairobi, Kenya).
    The second was when Douglas Fletcher reiterated that 300 years of British colonialism created a Jamaican mindset that neglected creativity, and one that genuflects to permission from the metropole for all decisions. This seems to include the commissioner of police who may come from any country in the UK.
    The third ghost is one that VS Naipaul calls "the mimic men", because Caribbean people tend to distrust themselves and love to tell lies about themselves.
    The fourth ghost was highlighted when Prof Rex Nettleford bemoaned the fact that with all the struggle for Independence we have not moved from cultural inferiority to cultural creativity.
    Thank God, the Anglicans in the Province of the West Indies in the Prayer Book included a confession which says "we have not loved ourselves as we ought".
    Revd Canon Ernle Gordon
    St Mary's Rectory
    Cowper Drive, Kgn 20
    gordfm@yahoo.com

It seems like a lot of people assumed that Jamaica had become a one-party state and were jolted back into reality a few weeks ago. They are now going through a grieving process.

They have my sympathies, I recommend therapy.

yuh si di irony? ernle gordon is a family friend but mek i ask yuh this....for all that what denomination is he? Ethiopian Orthodox or ANGLICAN?

as for VS Naipaul, he is a self hating indian born in trinidad who while distancing indians in trinidad from indians in england perhaps sees himself as an englishman. no better analogy of this can be seen than in his book the mystic masseur where "ganesh ramsamair" a trinidadian indian becomes G. Ramsay Mair and englishman.

Having said all of that the good canon raises points that are always relevant and are no more relevant in jamaica today than they were 18 months ago.

It seems like a lot of people assumed that Jamaica had become a one-party state and were jolted back into reality a few weeks ago. They are now going through a grieving process.

They have my sympathies, I recommend therapy.
        ... theraphy? Mek dem gwaan feel sorry fi demselves. Pathetic bunch.

You mean we didn't just develop these major mental issues in the last month or so?

Oh, I know. We had the disease in the 80s, we were cured for the last 17 years and suddenly had a relapse last month.

Where do you 'live' ?

A certain party had a golden opportunity... 6 Terms out of 8 since 1972 to 'free' us...

We are warned about False prophets..

While we were wandering in the desert others find Jerusalem ahready or have it in dem sights.

What a disgrace.