Culture of Efficiency and Accountability the Way Forward ...

• Culture of Efficiency and Accountability the Way Forward ...

Culture of Efficiency and Accountability the Way Forward in Ensuring an Effective Public Sector - PM

Prime Minister, Bruce Golding, has said that the spirit and culture of efficiency, accountability and commitment must be the way forward in ensuring a more effective public sector.

"In order to do this, we need to determine the goals for which the sector was created. We must also seek to define the mandate and role for each agency/department and determine the appropriate structure in the achievement of the overall objectives . I believe that every public sector worker must be made to feel that his or her job is important, not only to himself/herself, but important to the system," the Prime Minister stated.

He was addressing the Caribbean Consultative Forum for Cabinet secretaries and heads of the public service on (Oct. 11) at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Montego Bay.

The Prime Minister informed the meeting of a number of Parliamentary reforms recently undertaken, which are aimed at strengthening the Opposition and creating an effective framework for good governance.

These include elevating the Leader of the Opposition to a rank just below the Prime Minister and in line with the Deputy Prime Minister. "This will be implemented in April in the next financial year, where the Leader of the Opposition must have an office and staff, which is provided by Government and which is to be a part of the civil service establishment and not a political staff. This is providing facilities for the democratic process to work," he stated.

In addition, he said, members of the Opposition have been invited to chair oversight committees of Parliament and the "government will be ensuring two thirds majority in Parliament, requiring the support of the Opposition in the appointment of positions that are sensitive and critical to the administration of national affairs such as Chief Justice, Commissioner of Police, President of the Court of Appeal, the Public Defender and the Contractor General".

"We intend to amend or change the standing orders so that the ordinary/Opposition members can address the House. We want to give members an opportunity to effectively represent their constituency," the Prime Minister added.

He expressed the hope that the forum will be successful in achieving its objectives.

The second annual Caribbean Consultative Forum is being held from October 11 to 13 under the theme: 'Improving governance through strengthening operations at the centre of government'.

2/3 majority? Sometimes I wonder if Bruce realize which country him leading? As long as MPs (both JLP and PNP) gonna be voting based on party line this 2/3 majority thing is a myth.

I can see that he is serious about good governance and transparency, but him nuh realize who on the other side of the isle?

Man juss prepare fi mhim exit. In short
      Bruce is negating the vote of the people. They said they wanted the "driver" to run JA not the opposition.

Man juss prepare fi mhim exit. In short
        Bruce is negating the vote of the people. They said they wanted the "driver" to run JA not the opposition.
        Bruce nuh unnastan what mentality exists out there.. I should arrange an intro with you.

That way him can unnastan dat if him nuh fling certain people UNDAH di JAIL him doomed to fail.

Eddie come wid di same foolishness in 1980 and dem undermine him backside...

You cannot work with a bankrupt mentality..as Omar would say dem irredeemable.. him bettah find a good D10 and start do some earth moving..

So you are saying dictatorship is necessary
          in Ja right now?

So you are saying dictatorship is necessary
            in Ja right now?

All like your type.. lowest level Undah Di Jail...

Because I won't keep quiet, don't.

You have constructive criticism and then you have.. well a lot of noise.

Waaaaay down at the lowest level..

The man trying to change the political culture. If it nuh work at least him can say him try.

I am seeing more and more NDM in his policies. Just goes to show sometimes you have to change things via evolution rather than revolution.

i disagree.....it is inhumane to send some people to jail...there is an institution off windward road....

gamma - why yuh so wikkid

me?

who is wickeder....the man who flogs himself or the man who flogs a person who asked to be flogged?

Let me stay out of this yes...what is going on here??? What has Jawge done to deserve this level of disrespect and abuse? And then yu have others joining in....let me really stay out of this....if I can.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Let me stay out of this yes...what is going on here??? What has Jawge done to deserve this level of disrespect and abuse? And then yu have others joining in....let me really stay out of this....if I can.
                            Comrades in Arms. Amazing people see what they want to see.

Keep your labelling to yourself...whe Bob sey.."I and I not here to fight flesh and blood but spiritual wickedness in high and low places.."