Things Jamaican
1. This town clock's tower was paid for by one of Jamaica's German settlers and he designed it to look like a German (Prussian) soldier's helmet.
2. Where was the first place in Jamaica to have electricity?
3. Who said "I would rather die in yonder gallows than be a slave another day" ?
4. Who said "The monster is dead. The negro is free" and where did he say it?
5. Where in Jamaica had piped water before New York City did?
6. Who was the first black Custos of St. Andrew and what famous edifice did he build?
7. What is "Zella" ?
8. What is the tea made from Love Bush good for?
9. Who declared that he would ascend to heaven on December 31st and descend back to Jamaica on January 3rd?
10. What would traditional midwives in days gone by put on a baby's navel after the umbilical cord was cut?
11. What would she put in the water for the baby's first bath ?
13. You can burn these leaves to keep away duppy.
14. What animals, now died out, were brought to Jamaica in the 18th
century to carry sugar ?
16. What is a cotta ?
17. Why would you place a broom upside down behind a door in your house?
18. Solas Market became Jubilee Market. What was its name before that?
19. What is the heart of a sour sop said to cure?
20. What is a thunder ball (or thunderbolt) and what is it used for?
22. What are senseh fowls good for?
1. This town clock's tower was paid for by one of Jamaica's German settlers and he designed it to look like a German (Prussian) soldier's helmet.
2. Where was the first place in Jamaica to have electricity?
3. Who said "I would rather die in yonder gallows than be a slave another day" ?
4. Who said "The monster is dead. The negro is free" and where did he say it?
5. Where in Jamaica had piped water before New York City did?
6. Who was the first black Custos of St. Andrew and what famous edifice did he build?
7. What is "Zella" ?
8. What is the tea made from Love Bush good for?
9. Who declared that he would ascend to heaven on December 31st and descend back to Jamaica on January 3rd?
10. What would traditional midwives in days gone by put on a baby's navel after the umbilical cord was cut?
11. What would she put in the water for the baby's first bath ?
13. You can burn these leaves to keep away duppy.
14. What animals, now died out, were brought to Jamaica in the 18th
century to carry sugar ?
16. What is a cotta ?
17. Why would you place a broom upside down behind a door in your house?
18. Solas Market became Jubilee Market. What was its name before that?
19. What is the heart of a sour sop said to cure?
20. What is a thunder ball (or thunderbolt) and what is it used for?
22. What are senseh fowls good for?