Jamaican inheritance law

• Jamaican inheritance law

Dont know if Gamma is aware of this but should as it is a Commonwealth law but I also learned this at the Bob Marley trials in 1992.

Under Jamaican laws, no will is neccessary as the family of the deceased gets everything..there will be some serious taxes to pay but once the family is clearly identified the governmnet cant touch anything.

It is called Intestate (is this right Gamma?)

Now because Bob's lawyers were Americans who have different laws they did not know this and Bob had an elaborate will (Rasta cant dead-ha ha ah) drawn up when he got sick.

However good thing that Bob had some sense to have a Jamaican law firm on retainer, could have been PJ Patterson's law firm, and when they advised the Americans of the Jamaican laws the will was torn up.

yes that is intestacy and the mode of distribution is referred to as "per stirpes"

tenky boss, see my memory is not that bad at all

Yuh gwan - mi see yuh scratch yuh head and search hard fi find that notebook

LOL!! Guess what, I know I have the legal pads some where but cant find them, cant even recall when last I saw them them but I know I have them some where in the house.

Sickko - look for them and put them in a SAFE. Yuh never know when you'll decide to write a book. Sounds like joke, but I'm darned serious.

I know you speak truth...I have some serious memories from those six months

i'm sure you do...how the haitian mulatto women treating yuh?