Bob Marley was a capitalist

I guess you consider yourself a tower in logic, seeing the
    way you loosely speak manley et al. BTW are you David Manley? (one of Joshua's son) just curious. Can you explain to me what is logic? Thanks.

well....if you rarely bank your money IN JAMAICA there is plenty of opportunity to bank it in CAYMAN and at the time many many people would go to cayman with a suitcase of money to bank it.

bob nuh trust checque or telex....him feel seh if him carry 100k to the bank in a suitcase...him KNOW seh dem have the money in the bank and nuh haffi wait fi cheque fi clear or for instructions to be received.

yuh think yuh understand now?

Was the I Threes a part of the Wailers too. When they signed with Island they bought in other players into the Wailers like the American Guitarist, were these people a part of the group too? Can they claim royalties or were they paid based on tours. I empathize with the Barrett brothers but it is not as clear cut as we would like.

agreed 'sass.

Bob nuh truss Telex or Cheque?
            So how Bob would instruct Don fi wire money all the time? What cause Bob to say R@#$$ Rita can sign mi name betta dan mi" Didn't see the Jamaica my apologies to Hortical on that part. (mi haffi ah read quick an respond quick, so it set up

i think that there was an incident recorded somewhere when they approached bob about it but bob viewed it with distrust....i'd have to check those books again.
              I think that or something close to that was probably the main problem with them having a formal contract. How you a Wailer and then want come bring lawyer and contract fe sign?

Tough situation to be in. And then unfortunately for them the worst-case scenario came to pass.

wait deh...is bex yuh bex 'cause yuh think that bob is a comrade!

If it was clear-cut there would not have been a court case, it definately was not.

My only argument is that it is a little unfair to just say the Barrett brothers should have had a contract without taking into consideration the culture and way of life of the group members.

Logic is the opposite of what you generally practice on this forum.

Not to beat the dead but after the breakup with Bunny and Peter, Bob got overly protective and didn't want to be caught up in that kinda thing again so if you notice there is not much writing credit on any of his songs to nobody. He could have added one or two for members of the group on different songs and they would have been alright.

Hingsight is a hell of a thing.

have you read any of "marley and me" don taylor; "no woman nuh cry" rita marley or "catch a fire" timothy white?

and THAT jawge is why you are an eternal learner...because many things yuh haffi learn multiple times for it to stick.

THINK jawge, THINK! once the money is in the bank in his account then cheque and telex is fine!

Yes he was a true capitalist. But in the end he realize the true limits of money. Ziggy said as his father lay dying on his death bed in Florida, his final words to hom was, son, money cannot buy life.

Gamma, let me indulge you
                              in this folly: Bob is touring Europe, he has two concerts in England, one in France, two in Germany and one in Holland. His first of two in England he recieves his 100k in a suitcase (concert was in manchester) Bob now has another two days time in London, he cannot travel to holland (band rehearsal et al) so he leaves the suitcase filled with money in the hotel.In theory by the time BOb reaches Germany he has three suitcases filled with money. Alas knowing Bob and being a jakn myself; Bob would not leave his money in ahotel room to perform ( If ah did mi it would ah deh right in front ah mi pon stage). Let's shift to reality; Gamma I read Don Taylor's book and based on what I gathered Don handled the tranfer of money to Bob accounts and payments. All Bob had to do was verify with Don that his money is in his account. Granted at one period a bag of money was in the hotel and some got missing, Bob called the kids (Ziggy and all) quizzed them only to find out that his wife (by marriage took it).

ok..i see i asked to much of you. mah bad!