Bob Marley was a capitalist

remember you need to make the distinction between what was bob, bunny and peter from what came after...in fact there is at least one album after bob's death by "the wailers".

bob said that after peter and bunny left it was just him...so there are conflicting statements out there. that can be heard on the talkin' blues cd.

I remember him saying on Talking Blues about the original Wailers that "Junior split, the 2 girls split and that leave Peter, Bunny, and Bob". I don't really remember him saying that when they left he alone was the Wailers, but I might be wrong on that.

Still that statement in itself leaves open an argument, did the Barrett brothers then become part of the Wailers or not?

that was referring to the break up of Peter tosh, Bunny Wailer and Bob when Island records started calling Bob Marley and the Wailers and Peter was very upset.

The Wailers even if they were paid should have had credits on the songs they helped to write but no they left that up to Bob to treat them honestly? Remember he had some players leaving the group and other new ones come in for various tours so how that go? The Barrett Brothers and others who was with the Wailers long time should have done better and protected their interest.

sorry I said as much below

re: the barrett brothers, that is the question isn't it? the court said no!
            Last edited by Gamma; October 15, 2007, 02:10 PM.

well does he need to? peter and bunny never affiliated themselves with the wailers or tried to carry on the wailers like what happened with black uhuru when they split.

furthermore neither peter nor bunny raised any issue about bob using the name wailers and i think from the context that peter and bunny left, left what?

Boss nuh talk so, BoB had
                a cayman account. which had 30 million USD in 1976. Money was wired from that account to setup Cindy's London business. Bob was a shrewd business man. Based on what I read about him, mi rate him bad. I wouldn't mind living his life and dying at his age

We know the courts said no, but what do you think considering the culture of the band and how they lived and worked?
                  And don't tell me what you think don't matter, for the courts it doesn't but for purposes of this discussion it does.

I agree they did not protect thier interests. It seems as if everything about the bands affairs was done informally.

Maybe legally they had no documentation but clearly they were a group and not hired help.

As a matter of fact in one of Bobs interviews he said that he "neva tell nobody fe call it Bob Marley and the Wailers, but for some reason dem decide fe do it", and he considered himself a Wailer. That in itself is enough for me.

But you right, Jamaican musicians must learn to protect themselves and thier work or they will continue to get ripped off.
                      Bob would probable say - a wail im wail suh im his a wailer...
                      ...an im wuda roun hit aff wid - aftah fi wail a nuh no business! jah jus gi man di gif fi wail! man jus wail! Peter wail! Bunny wail! Mi wail! A nuh business dat -wi a jus wailer! (screwface!)

jawge ... read and comprehend

Bob rarely banked his money in Jamaica

I think may be asking for too much. Next you going to ask him to debate you logically.

what i think doesn't matter.

ok...it was definitely about bob....people came and went and it was an informal arrangement. i don't think bib was trying to rob them, on the contrary bob took care of them while he was alive and it was after his death that thiers became a plight.

rita is not bob and they could not tour any more and draw the crowd that bob did..that is when it hit them. i think that there was an incident recorded somewhere when they approached bob about it but bob viewed it with distrust....i'd have to check those books again.

i think that rita could perhaps have done more for them once bob died..

Was the I Threes a part of the Wailers too. When they signed with Island they bought in other players into the Wailers like the American Guitarist, were these people a part of the group too? Can they claim royalties or were they paid based on tours. I empathize with the Barrett brothers but it is not as clear cut as we would like.

okay sir. I am trying, but
                                please tell me this: If you rarely (key operative) bank your money, how did Bob's Cayman account amass 30 mil USD by 1976? Educate me, thanks.