Bob Marley was a capitalist

• Bob Marley was a capitalist

I make this post in reference to the one where Beenie man is supposed to owe Millions in taxes and interest.

I recall one startling fact that I learnt while covering the case between Bob Marley's estate and his lawyer/accountant and Rita Marley in New York in 1992.

Importantly to me at least, Bob Marley never employed any black person to deal with his money or business, he only employed Jews. His lawyer was named Greenberg or Steinberg cant recall which but both men were involved in the trial that lasted for six months and his accountant was named Zolt.

Anyways they created what was described as a 'Dutch sandwhich' for Bob Marley's money.

Bob's main account was in Holland and when he got paid from whatever source, the money went to a bank in Holland where they only paid 4% in income tax.

Now Holland had a tax treaty with the Dutch Caribbean islands and after the taxes were paid there the money was then wired to a bank in Curacao where Bob would go twice or three times a year, they would lock it down and the manager/accountants would show him and his people the books and he would then leave.

Zolt the accountant told a story...whe he just started doing Bob's books, he had other clients, one day Bob turned up to see him unannounced and with no appointment.

The secretary told Bob he had to wait until Zolt was finished with the person he was in there with..so Bob pushed past her, forced open the door and told the person who was there his time was up.

He then told Zolt that as of now, he Marley would be his only client.

End of story.

you can't be a entertainer of Bob and Beenie Man catergory and think you are not a businessman. The comodity is the music and each time them go on stage or record they are selling something. Too many of our musicians hde away from the capitalist/businessman theme as it is only something for the uptowner/slavedrivers etc. I don't know about been capitalist it is based on the defination we want to use.

that he was...bob incorporated at least one company here in the BVI ...so far i've read rita's book, don taylor's book and timothy white's book all very interesting and all converge on some key points.

yeah but bob learned after being cheated a few times including by johnny nash, according to rita!

True. But the music business in Ja is still the same way believe it or not.

Bob rarely banked his money in Jamaica, and according to Roger Stephans (Marley Historian), after a show he would leave with money stuffed in a suitcase.

Rita stole more from Bob than everyone else combined.
              At the trial, Rita admitted to forging Bob's signatures but said she did so on the advise of his lawyers as she was a poor ignorant house wife and at that stage the tears started flowing- all stage managed by her lawyer who was brilliant.

Rita stole even what was hers if that was possible...Under Jamaican laws, she got a certain amount of every thing off the top including all the 'chattels' (suh it name gamma?) including cars, houses his clothes etc, then the children and her shared the rest and she still stole form that as well.

And just crumbs, and very little for the wailers who help created the Marley sound.

suh it name...all mi know is that is basically what don taylor said....rita threaten to sue if he published the book...the book was published...rita didn't sue.

bear in mind that truth is a defence.

Think about this, this case in NY only came about after an audit found that nearly US$20million were missing.

It took an audit to find this out as it was not immediately obvious...tells you how rich Bob was in the late 1980s and mid 1990s and they said he has made more since his death than when he was alive.

It's this simple sass:
                      Bob read his Bible a lot and the Bible says "the fool and his money will part". Now seeing that Bob did not consider himself a fool (furthermore him love dem pretty woman deh; money is a muss here) the rest is just academic.

While I feel sorry for the Wailers, they mess themselves up nobody can say if they were just employed to be a part of a group or was part owner of everything. Just like how Dennis Brown primarily hired Lloyd Parkes to do all his shows and Peter Tosh had World Power and Sound including Sly and Robbie.

It is tuff but they basically made no agreement and jus live offa what Bob gave them as payment.

Bob's estate took in US$7 million in 2005 (Forbes). http://www.forbes.com/2006/10/20/tec...rities_13.html

It is tuff but they basically made no agreement and jus live offa what Bob gave them as payment.
                            ..That's because they never had any sense of conducting business. Singing is your career, so you should demand yuh money & know how much you should earn.

Hell - yuh should even insure your voice

Maybe legally they had no documentation but clearly they were a group and not hired help.

As a matter of fact in one of Bobs interviews he said that he "neva tell nobody fe call it Bob Marley and the Wailers, but for some reason dem decide fe do it", and he considered himself a Wailer. That in itself is enough for me.

But you right, Jamaican musicians must learn to protect themselves and thier work or they will continue to get ripped off.