• Working-class image hurt Portia in election — study

published: Sunday | October 14, 2007

File photos
    LEFT: The victorious Jamaica Labour Party Leader, Bruce Golding, votes in the St. Andrew North Eastern Division on election day, September 3.
    RIGHT: Then Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller casts her vote in Kingston during the September 3 general election.

Avia Collinder,
    Research findings on the media representation of women in the 2007 General Election in Jamaica indicate that gender, colour and class were influential elements in the campaign, which led to a victory by the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), and the loss of power by the People's National Party (PNP).

A content analysis of campaign advertisements and cartoons seems to suggest that PNP leader Portia Simpson Miller suffered most from the advertising messages, which focused on her popular working-class image.

The research findings were presented recently by researcher Kinisha Correia, at a special forum entitled 'Women in Politics: Reflections on the 2007 General Election in Jamaica', put on by the University of the Centre for Gender and Development Studies (CGDS).
    According to the researcher, frequent use of advertisements with working-class women, may have lost the PNP support among sections of the middle class.

Little impact
    PNP advertising efforts to discredit Bruce as a 'flip-flopper', and implicit claims that the JLP disrespected women seemed to have had little impact on voters, the research found.

"Explicit, enhanced portrayed Portia as a lower class, raucous, virago - an inner-city black woman, ('don't draw my tongue')," the analysis found.

Correia, a consultant with the UWI's Centre for Gender and Development Studies, said the advertisements perpetuated the stereotypes of women as "unable to lead, must be led, emotional and therefore unstable in leadership."

The study also disclosed that currently, women comprise12 per cent of the Parliament, 24 per cent of the Senate, and 17.6 per cent of the Cabinet the population reflects 51 per cent females and 49 per cent males.

Correia attributed causes of this inequality to the existence locally of a patriarchal ideology which says that politics is the man's while the home is the woman's domain; bias against women candidates; and limited support to women in search of political power.

While the PNP's advertisements and cartoons carried explicit messages of Simpson Miller as compassionate and motherly, a powerful woman, and friend of the poor, women and children, they were cumulatively less effective than those created by and for the JLP, the research found.

Explicit messages in JLP advertisements included the proposal that Golding could manage the prime minister job ('driver' for the 'team'), and that Simpson Miller could not handle the job as she had little team support.

Public perception
    Correia noted that the new JLP team was effectively portrayed as largely brown-skin, successful, educated, middle class, worldly and competent.
    "The ads caused readers of the to question her ability to lead," Correia said, "The media played a major role in forming public perception."

The consequences, the researcher indicated, include a negative view of female political aspirants as fearing and rejecting a hostile political and media environment, slander and anti-female attacks in advertisements.

Correia recommended that all interest groups support special measures to promote gender-equality in political governance - e.g constitutional reform; new laws; quotas for female candidates; a changed political culture does not put women at a disadvantage - and play their part in reintroducing civic education with a gender component for all, especially the youth.

She said that political parties were also obligated to support training in gender and leadership, establish quotas for female candidates, and develop a gender agenda.

Support for women in politics has long been an issue, highlighted by women's groups in Jamaica. At a media-familiarisation breakfast held for the 21 female candidates just before the general election, Hermione McKenzie, chair of the Jamaica Women's Political Caucus (JWPC), called for the society to be more supportive of women political candidates. She particularly appealed for women in corporate Jamaica to be more economically and socially supportive.

"Women in politics need a political support network," she said. "Instead of being able to rely on the support of business women, they have had to resort to the help of friends, well wishers, our own resources as members (of the JWPC) and the proceeds of small fund-raisers."

The forum, where Correia discussed her research findings, was held in conjunction with the Women's Resource and Out-reach Centre, the Bureau of Women's Affairs, The Jamaica Women's Political Caucus, the Association of Women's Organi-sations of Jamaica, and the Freidrich Ebert Stiftung Institute in Kingston.

Article produced in collaboration with Panos Caribbean.Email: jamaica@panoscaribbean.org
    Last edited by Karl; October 15, 2007, 11:09 AM.

This is pure Bull5hit!!! Less than 3,000 votes seperated the 2 parties. What dem did want? Everybody voting for PNP? What about people that voted on issues? Some people changed course because they felt a change was needed. Some voted JLP because of Portia's handling of Trafiguria, some because they like the policies being proposed by the JLP etc.

Was this a real study or someone mekking up excuses?

Couldn't you put a little more scholarship in your response than the usual ranting and raving? Is there any way to get a dispassionate discussion started? Yes, there are serious questions to be asked of the study IF it is based on a subjective or anecdotal perspective. However, if it follows the rigours of research then we should look at it with different perspective.
      This discussion has been proferred on this forum before albeit with less study and with scorn and humiliation beeing heaped on some members. Well here is a study from the University.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Couldn't you put a little more scholarship in your response than the usual ranting and raving? Is there any way to get a dispassionate discussion started? Yes, there are serious questions to be asked of the study IF it is based on a subjective or anecdotal perspective. However, if it follows the rigours of research then we should look at it with different perspective.
        This discussion has been proferred on this forum before albeit with less study and with scorn and humiliation beeing heaped on some members. Well here is a study from the University.
        Ranting and raving .... sorry you got that impression. Still say this is bull5hit. No wonder it is referred to as the "Intellectual Ghetto."

When I was there in July alot of comrades were upset with the "I am the driver" statement. Who is the leader of the JLP? Suh why should anyone object to that statement? How many times we heard that PJ was the one pulling the strings behind the scene? Futhermore, Portia was not acting in a Prime Ministerial manner ... constantly complaining that its because she is a woman.

How many unthinking persons gonna tek this comical column as gospel? Well, KArl and JAwge is a given.

or could it be that despite her virago outburst from time to time she still has more support than one would have thought?

is working class a euphemism for "skirt flinging" and "tracing"? because if it is they are right on point.

I don't think the article is suggesting nor should we conclude that any particular statement or aspect was the ONLYreason for the election results. There are so many. What it does say though, is:
            that gender, colour and class were influential elements in the campaign.
            Do you agree with that statement?

Oh Gamma, if you must join the discourse at least raise the level.

Ranting and raving .... sorry you got that impression. Still say this is bull5hit. No wonder it is referred to as the "Intellectual Ghetto."

When I was there in July alot of comrades were upset with the "I am the driver" statement. Who is the leader of the JLP? Suh why should anyone object to that statement? How many times we heard that PJ was the one pulling the strings behind the scene? Futhermore, Portia was not acting in a Prime Ministerial manner ... constantly complaining that its because she is a woman.

How many unthinking persons gonna tek this comical column as gospel? Well, KArl and JAwge is a given.
                ...but, the study never said that this was the only reason she lost. It emphasised that it was one of the contributing factors.

The reasons why elections are won and lost in Jamaica are complex. As you mentioned above the reasons why persons vote one way or another are many...and, I dare say for each it is contending issues that are resolved within each voter that leads to the determination on which way to lean - PNP or JLP and or candidate "x" or candidate "y". Certainly the foregoing is not too hard to understand and accept!

and exile EXACTLY what kinda level portia exhibit wid har "dis gal" declaration? please explain that to me.

Not getting into any 'cass-cass' argument over Portia. If you want to discuss the article, fine with me.

prudent. as i said "working class" seems to be a euphemism for something else.

When bruce said bangarang and how
                        he will declare war on the past PNP govt. was that gentleman like? Is Nanny P the first leader to address the populace in local dialect? Please enlighten, thanks.

Why is it that when an argument does not jibe with your feelings you get all emotional, same thing you accuse others here of being?

Did it ever cross your mind that in some instances others might be right and you could be wrong and that you dont have all the answers to every thing?

me yuh talking to jawge?

who said anything about dialect being the issue?

okay, so what's the issue?