• Stepping up 'eena' life

Stepping up 'eena' life
    published: Sunday | October 14, 2007

Edward Seaga, Contributor

"Stepping up eena life" has been a catchy expression of inner-city youth in recent times which summed up an expectation to fill a void of hope. Understandably, it made its debut from the streets to prominence through the lotto ads.

Focusing on the future is of particular importance to young people as they approach the year in which they are to sit their graduation exam. It is the period when thought is given to how to 'step up eena life'. Girls are more focused at that time because they can justifiably have more hopeful expectations since, undoubtedly, they studied harder than boys. But there are more desirable career options for them: teaching, nursing, clerical, telephone operators and information technology, tourism, among other white collar skills.

Boys lack sufficient options in these middle-level skills. They must either aim high: medicine, law, architecture, engineering, etc., or aim low to the blue collar and labouring categories: motor mechanics, woodwork, construction, agriculture or security guards.

The brighter prospects for girls are greater incentives for study. Boys who can't get desirable white-collar jobs, often prefer to try their luck in the 'open market' for hustling, delivery men, construction work, or in the more lucrative areas of entertainment, drugs or crime.
    The way forward to 'step up eena life' is more uncertain for boys than girls and has a bearing on the perspective of how boys view the prospects of drugs and crime as good income earners instead of seeking higher education.

The solution, however, is not only how to raise the performance of boys, but how to improve the education of boys and girls bearing in mind the incredible block of failed youth - boys and girls - who leave school every year without any skill for work. This leaves many of them open to becoming "careless gal and wu'tless bwoy", or teenage mothers and corner criminals. The solution must be to improve the performance of all whose prospects are failure.

Let me explain how bad the situation is by way of illustration of a diagrammatic tree. Take the age cohort of 51,520 babies born in 1989. In 2005, at age 16 years, they sat the CXC graduation exam. See the survival chart below which shows the learning outcome.

At the end of the line, age 16, when the CXC graduation exam is taken, only 7,600 of the original 51,520 in the age cohort passed, that is, 15 per cent of the original number. Hence, 85 per cent fail to make it after dropping out of the education system - not being enrolled in any secondary school, or lack of academic ability.

Shocking results
    Can any country develop with 15 per cent of its youth while much of the remaining 85 per cent goes to waste? These shocking results underlie the urgency for an educational system which can reverse the figures - providing 85 per cent performers and 15 per cent non-performers.
    The 85 per cent or 43,400 non-performers are from poor households where great sacrifices are made to send children to school in the expectation that they will emerge from the process with skills to establish a career which can be of help to parents in their golden years.

According to the report of the task force on educational reform, the cost to these poor households of this failed process is $42,000 per student per annum. Poor people pay $19 million to send each age group of students to school, or $190 million over the 10-year career period of primary and secondary schools.

By comparison, government spends $30,000 per student per annum, which is significantly less than households. The task force report recommends a considerable increase in government expenditure on education, amounting to $520 billion over 10 years, or $52 billion per annum.

An interesting study published in the Economics Bulletin, February, 2006, by Brian Francis and Sunday Iyare of the Department of Economics, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill campus, is revealing on this point. The study was carried out on data available for Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica, covering the 35-year- period 1969-1998. The conclusion is derived from comparing expenditure per capita on education with gross national income per capita, which is used as a proxy by the World Bank for economic development.

More expenditure
    The central theme of these findings is that more expenditure on education by itself is not stimulating national economic development. The curriculum needs greater relevance in providing skills to equip graduates for jobs. Also, the economy requires more focus on job development which relates to available skills. Simply spending more money on education at the parental or national levels will not appropriately educate school leavers to make themselves or the national economy grow.

This analysis calls for four related sets of action, none of which are expensive investments, and all of which are specific solutions, required to lift educational levels:
    An overall manpower survey to determine the shortfall in supply and demand of various skills is essential. At every level, the training system is operating in the dark, often training too many or too few students in particular skills. This includes tertiary-level education to guide colleges and universities so that they do not continue to produce graduates who walk the pavement for months after graduation or have to take jobs below their level of training in order to earn some sort of living. And all this occurs while repayments by graduates on their student loans are running. The last manpower survey was done by the PSOJ in the late 1980s. I commissioned the survey to guide us in job creation. The economy responded with a record level of job creation, nearly 100,000 in three years.

A curriculum review is long overdue. I am not referring to a fine-tuning revision of the present curriculum. I am referring to a fundamental revision to ensure more job-related training as Francis and Iyare recommend. It makes no sense to be offering yesterday's curriculum to provide for the needs of today's society in today's world. Employers would be far more interested in employees with the benefits of a skilled graduate who can operate within the core of the society in which they live.

No amount of improved training can benefit students who are unable to properly understand the academic courses currently offered. No student can benefit from teaching without an effective homework programme. Students from the new secondary schools, inner city and rural, have great difficulty in doing homework properly. In some cases, the home environment is too noisy and crowded. In other cases, travel time leaves the student with inadequate time to do the job. The successful students are the few who make enormous efforts to overcome the odds. An education system should be geared to produce reasonable success even from mediocre students.

To implement this, a one-hour time session should be programmed as an additional period at the end of the school day when students would do homework under the supervision of a staff member. A small stipend could be offered to teachers. Another option is to adjust the curriculum to designate the last class period of the day to be homework hour. This would require adjustments to the regular curriculum.

The programme at HEART must be reviewed to fit into the specific designated areas of training required. HEART has been veering from its designated mission. I will say more on this soon when I keep a speaking engagement with HEART.
    In the 1980s, I launched the Solidarity programme and the Self-Start Fund to provide funds for mini-projects suitable for recent graduates who had been processed at school as being capable of operating mini-projects and had been given basic training to do so.

Solidarity did not seek any security or collateral from borrowers but each borrower was required to name a member of the business community who would agree to be their mentor, especially in overseeing whether they were operating on business lines and satisfactorily maintaining their bank accounts.

The funds would come from the Self-Start Fund, which I believe is still in operation. The record of performance under Dr. Joyce Robinson, with the support of my wife, Carla, who conceived the Solidarity scheme, was satisfactory because of close monitoring. Arrears in repayment of loans were only 25 per cent.

Valuable lessons Solidarity became an entrepreneurship training ground which had many other valuable lessons to teach: awareness of the market system economy versus the socialist hand-out system, as well as a better understanding of customer relationships which would broaden social-interaction skills with productive people.

In the meantime, I detect a growing trend to condemn poor, inner-city and rural youth who made the wrong choices in lifestyle and careers because of lack of correct options and appropriate training. This criticism by middle-class people whose credentials are lacking in first-hand experience with these young people and whose disposition to young people who can't and don't conform is to ignore them, isolate them, reject them or eliminate them, because they can't conform to the social middle ground, is grounded in either ill-will or ignorance.

These rejects are the same body of unlearned youth from which ranks has come the greatest promotion and branding of Jamaica throughout the world, through reggae music. Anywhere in the world, including Mongolia, Jamaica is well known for reggae and Bob Marley who himself came directly from a condemned area. These same youths have greater credit to their achievements in music and sports in building a better Jamaica than any other social or economic group in the country. The fact that a minority among them are destructive must not condemn all others whose reason for non-achievement is that the ladder which society provides for them is too short to scale the walls of prejudice and neglect which keeps them from expanding the use of their creative and productive talents. If they are given the chance, they too will 'step up eena life'.

Edward Seaga is a former Prime Minister. He is now a Distinguished Fellow at the UWI. Email: odf@uwimona.edu.jm.

Survival chart of age cohort over 18-year-period (1987-2005)

51,520 (100%) annual births of which 14,400 (28%) dropped out or never entered any secondary school (attended all-age schools).

Balance - 37,094 (72%) eligible to sit CXC exam of which 19,578 (38%) not entered to sit CXC exam because of weak academic ability.

Balance - 17,516 (34%) sat CXC exam of which 9,788 (19%) failed CXC exam, that is, no pass.

Balance - 7,728 (15%) passed CXC exam

Source: Ministry of Education
    Last edited by Karl; October 14, 2007, 09:44 AM.

funny how Karl and other accuse labourites of looking down on people inna the ghetto.

That is just typical class warfare with no real evidence.

As I keep saying, I cannot understand how the PNP can be considered the party of the poor when for most of their last 30 years in govt they have only left them poorer than they found them.

One of these days see if you can get an explanation from Karl, Jawge or Sickko.

People's economic conditions are wuzz now, than how it was 20 years ago.

Is that true?

If you have an unemployment and underemployment problem...how is it you shrink government...create a meaner and leaner civil service and quasi-civil service body?

How is it with more and body coming out of secondary high school and tertiary institutions and universities you cut back on all spending?

Helping the poor as GDP grows? Which "the poor"?

Class warfare? ...as the haves leave the have-nots behind? ...or, that keeping the poor "in their place" fixes class warfare?

...or, are you saying in 1944 through to today class warfare disappeared?

Is that true?

Where were you and your family 18 years past?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              People's economic conditions are wuzz now, than how it was 20 years ago.
              Yours? ...your friends? ...your family? ...their families?

...or, are they now gone to less that "outhouses"?

you still don't accept we have a problem so why bother answer your questions?

you still don't accept we have a problem ...?
                  Are you mad?
                  That is the reason for all that I post!
                  Firstly to encourage a look at the problems from a different perspective...total numbers joining the workforce each year? ...level of 'employability" (new word! ) ...number of jobs created each year? ...numberd leaving the workforce each year? ...need to modernize infrastructure? ...need to 'build out' infrastructure? ...need to expand and improve delivery of social services? ...need to increase - improve rate of investment? ...retool and modernize education, police, fire service, health services, etc. plants? ...and, the cost...U$300 billion...

...damn Seaga claims we should be spending $500+ billion in education alone?

Why do you think I am saying "we are, where we are"...not to look at the entire needs as one total encompassing entity? Well if you do not think "pushing in one area produces bulges in other areas" mean the same thing...you are blind!

...and then to think of solutions outside the old trite 'open mouth regurgitation' of what has not (never) worked for us!
                  Last edited by Karl; October 14, 2007, 02:49 PM.

But you subscribe to the Omar Davis policy of running up the debt higher and never talk about productivity.

How are going to solve the problem if these agencies have too many people employed and not producing? If the government don't collect 1 cent more in revenue and don't think of creative ways to train?

The deficit don't tell any lie. How can JUTC be loosing 130 million a week or month if the workers are productive and it is managed effeciently?

How do you suggest the government get rid of the debt they currently have?

But you subscribe to the Omar Davis policy of running up the debt higher and never talk about productivity.
                      What do you think I mean when I say "we must earn more than we spend"? ...in the context of moving towards 1st world status...having 1st world tastes?

Well...we are, where we are...and, we all want "1st World" for Jamaica...we have to "earn"..."it"!

...as to my saying Omar was on the right path...in the context of "keeping the lid on"...the needs will not go away be just wishing...neither shall the increasing numbers of school-leavers i.e. secondary school and tertiary insitutition graduates and the numbers coming out of "Heart", private institutions and vocational - trade - formal and informal avenues...and, it must be working towards satisfying their needs and the needs of the rest of the society...

..but, I repeat - giving the private sector the time to come up to speed as
                      you keep the 'lid on'!

...if debt increases not in the mix...where will the money come from to "keep the lid on"?
                      Last edited by Karl; October 14, 2007, 03:07 PM.

Bigger government is not a solution to an unemployment problem. It simply creates more waste. The solution to an unemployment problem is to grow the economy , create more incentive for investment and produce a more skilled workforce that can take advantage of the opportunities that will arise.

Clearly class warfare has not disappeared in Jamaica or anywhere else for that matter, but the PNP likes to spout rhetoric suggesting that they somehow "care for the poor" more than the JLP. As far as I am concerned all that is words without works.

Running up your mouth about five flights a day to Miami may make poor people feel good for a few days but what does that really achieve?

As for my family and me, I do not consider us to have been poor by Jamaican standards so I don't know how relevant our situation is to the discussion.

And by the way, I am not necessarliy saying that the JLP cares more for the poor either, I am saying that at least since independence thier policies have done less damage to the poor than the PNP.

so can you address the issue of JUTC losing 130 million $$$ a week or month?

What should be done? It is no secret we have to produce more but if the government cut taxes to encourage more business or cut taxes on real estate as they did you talk against it. How do you produce more? Isn't it by encouraging more business?

Anyway forward have to be entail some cutting of waste and producing more. The subject of productivity has to be discussed as we can't operate at a 1960 level as we are doing.

so can you address the issue of JUTC losing 130 million $$$ a week or month?

What should be done? It is no secret we have to produce more but if the government cut taxes to encourage more business or cut taxes on real estate as they did you talk against it. How do you produce more? Isn't it by encouraging more business?

Anyway forward have to be entail some cutting of waste and producing more. The subject of productivity has to be discussed as we can't operate at a 1960 level as we are doing.
                            You need managers to manage - to lengthen the life of that which we have and get the workers to 'care for' and work their tails off!

...managers to not only increase production but get us to optimum productive levels...

...we are all in this boat together!

Is there anything as "overstaffed"?