• Gov't taking bill to House to cut pension of prime ministers

BALFORD HENRY, Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, October 12, 2007

GOVERNMENT will soon be tabling a bill in Parliament to cut the pension for prime ministers, which the House of Representatives approved in December 2005, from 100 per cent to two thirds of the salary of the prime ministers.

A report to Cabinet on Monday from Attorney General and Minister of Justice Senator Dorothy Lightbourne, said that the bill was among a number of legislative matters being given priority attention by a legislation sub-committee of the Cabinet.

Her report noted that the amendment to the Pensions (Prime Minister's) Act being contemplated would "revert the pensions of prime ministers applicable to present and future prime ministers after they leave office to be two thirds of their salary."

Senator Lightbourne said the pieces of legislation being given priority by the sub-committee were those which would bring into effect commitments made by the new government in the run-up to the September 3 general election.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding, at a political meeting in July, criticised former Prime Minister P J Patterson for supporting the passage of the legislation in the House of Representatives, and promised that a Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) government would roll back the increase.

Golding had also opposed the move when the House voted strictly along party lines in support of the increase on November 29, 2005. The vote was 28-21 in favour of the bill piloted by the former minister of finance and planning, Dr Omar Davies.

Davies pointed out then that although the House was approving the measures for the first time, they had been implemented from 1992, based on a Cabinet decision intended to place retired prime ministers on the same footing as retired governors general.

He suggested that the matter should not have been controversial, "as the position of prime minister deserves to be treated with no less respect and recognition than that of the governor general.

But Golding, who was then leader of the opposition, was not only angered by the fact that the increases were being approved by Parliament 13 years after being implemented, but suggested that the government was going "overboard".

He also asked that the government bring a bill to Parliament to validate the payments made prior to the House's approval.
    The 2005 amendments allowed for the pension of a retired prime minister to be the full salary of the current prime minister. It also included provisions benefiting the prime ministers' spouses, widows and children.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/..._MINISTERS.asp

No big deal - Brucie will be covered. PJ's cannot be touched. ...but, Brucie's and Portia's will equate or surpass PJ's as salaries will be improved during the life of this parliament!

...and, I am all for Bruce increasing salaries of parliamentarians!
    Consistent with my hope that our representatives salaries and pensions will eventually be such that the brightest and best among us will see serving the country in parliament as extremely attractive option.

FORWARD!

...and, I am all for Bruce increasing salaries of parliamentarians!
      Consistent with my hope that our representatives salaries and pensions will eventually be such that the brightest and best among us will see serving the country in parliament as extremely attractive option.
      Do you know how much Doctors pension is? How can you say with a straight face that politicians pensions should be hiked?

BALFORD HENRY, Observer writer
        Friday, October 12, 2007
        He also asked that the government bring a bill to Parliament to validate the payments made prior to the House's approval.
        The 2005 amendments allowed for the pension of a retired prime minister to be the full salary of the current prime minister. It also included provisions benefiting the prime ministers' spouses, widows and children.
        For PJ & Eddie to collect 100% of salary during retirement is excessive and outrageous. Dem fi mek sure that the pension is based on the actual date of retirement, and not 2/3 of salary of the sitting prime minister. There should be no provisions that benefit the children...

Retired civil servants who work many years serving the Jamaica people have to scratch & scrape to survive.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          For PJ & Eddie to collect 100% of salary during retirement is excessive and outrageous. Dem fi mek sure that the pension is based on the actual date of retirement, and not 2/3 of salary of the sitting prime minister. There should be no provisions that benefit the children...

Retired civil servants who work many years serving the Jamaica people have to scratch & scrape to survive.
          Its not only PJ and Eddie. Portia is a former PM. I'm disappointed that efforts are not being made to role back their pension.

IF them a collect that money then might as well you make a provision for them to work with the government.

It would be interesting to see where else have this kinda law.

Hmm - me worked with the Govt. of Jam. for 14 years and mi hear that mi nuh have any pension to get, as I needed to work for 17 years???

Are u friggin kidding me !!!!!!!!!!

Is this a first priority for the new Goverment ?? u mean to tell me when kids are being deliberatly firebombed as revenge that the govt is prioritizing pension for former very wealthy PM'S

THIS POST MUST HAVE BEEN A JOKE !

PLEASE TELL ME THEY ARE JUST JOKING.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                  Is this a first priority for the new Goverment ?? u mean to tell me when kids are being deliberatly firebombed as revenge that the govt is prioritizing pension for former very wealthy PM'S

Can you chew gum and walk at the same time?

Originally posted by Scaly View Post

Comrade Scaly ... I see like many other comrades the first reaction is to try and discredit the gov't. Kids being firebombed need to be addressed by the Ministry of National Security, do you think the Ministry of National Security is pushing this bill?

As a matter of fact, isn't the US gov't fighting in both Afghanistan and Iraq? Check the article again bredren.

But wi just chewing gum.

Do you know how much Doctors pension is? How can you say with a straight face that politicians pensions should be hiked?
                        So who said all salaries should be increased?
                        iffen a nuh mi, den a who?
                        massa di ole a dem (government & quasi-government workers) a 'stave'!