• A Racial Retirement Gap

A Racial Retirement Gap

Firms Find Fewer Black Workers In 401(k)s Than Whites

By DANIEL SORID
    Associated Press
    October 11, 2007
    NEW YORK

Employers have begun to discover troubling racial differences within their 401(k) retirement plans, a gap they say could leave today's black workers far less financially prepared for retirement than whites.

Investor surveys and research by two large employers strongly suggest that blacks participate in retirement plans at far lower rates and are much less likely than whites to invest in the stock market. An industrywide study of 401(k) plan activity by race has never been conducted.

Exelon Corp., the country's largest operator of nuclear power plants, discovered this year that about 15 out of every 100 black employees did not participate in its 401(k) plan, compared with around 10 of every 100 whites. It also found that one in three black employees contributed less than 5 percent of their pay to the plan, compared to just 14 percent of whites.

"We have to start addressing that now," said Andrea Zopp, Exelon's senior vice president of human resources. "If African Americans are not investing at the same rate, they will be behind," she said.

McDonald's Corp. discovered in 2004 that only half of its black store managers contributed to the company's 401(k) plan, a lower percentage than whites. The company plans to announce at an event in New York that by auto-enrolling store managers into the plan it has reversed the trend; today, 95 percent of black restaurant managers are plan participants.

Few employers today peer into their plans in search of racial or ethnic differences, as they are required to do for discrepancies between high- and low-income workers. Fidelity Investments and Vanguard Group, two of the country's largest retirement plan operators, both publish encyclopedic volumes on America's investing habits that lack any reference to race or ethnicity.

Experts attribute lower investment rates to poor instruction on financial topics in public schools, and misconceptions about the risk of stocks within parts of the black community. Employers have also been urged to tailor their messages on retirement savings to account for what some black and Latino executives say are important cultural differences. And the federal government has been urged to strengthen its national strategy for financial literacy, which has been criticized as ineffective.

A survey by Charles Schwab Corp. and Ariel Mutual Funds concludes that four in 10 African Americans with household incomes of $50,000 or more have no money in stocks, compared to just one-quarter of whites.

Ariel's survey also found blacks who enrolled in retirement plans save a median $173 a month while whites save $252. The survey was administered in June and July and has a margin of error of about 4.5 percentage points.

A separate survey of retirees found whites are nearly twice as likely to have $100,000 or more saved than blacks, even when education, peak income level and other factors are held constant.

"There are clear differences between blacks and whites: How we think about money, where we save and invest our money, what we do with our money, and how we're influenced as to what we do with our money," said Mellody Hobson, president of Ariel Mutual Funds.

Since the 1980s 401(k) plans have replaced traditional pensions as the preferred retirement offering among employers.

Copyright © 2007, The Associated Press

Nuff a we nuh understand the basics of investing in the market and buying stocks/mutual funds and saving. A lot of miss informed people out deh.

Nuff a wi don't understand or acknowledge racism.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Nuff a we nuh understand the basics of investing in the market and buying stocks/mutual funds and saving. A lot of miss informed people out deh.
        Nuff a we prefer to invest in cloth & shoes and profile in the Bimmers and Lexuses. Dem nuh want to hear bout Mutual funds, stocks and savings

Calling Scaly to address this problem.

We have to start addressing the matter of savings/investment with today's children.

It's not just that, MdmeX. That does occur, but it is not the whole truth. Don't be like HL now!

So me muss save up all dis money inna 401 k and mutual fund fi go get sick when mi retire and pay it out to hospital for long term care? No sah mi prefer:

Den dat is not an investment?!

Why yuh have to be so...personal!?

heh heh!

lexi...mdme X...lexi!

a rapidly depreciating asset...the minute yuh drive off the lot it depreciate by wha..10%?

It's American try 25%

Not after I put on the spinners and outfit it with wine bar and the likes! Sell off!

By di way, a some serious low profiles dem dat, y'know!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          A Racial Retirement Gap

Firms Find Fewer Black Workers In 401(k)s Than Whites

By DANIEL SORID
                          Associated Press
                          October 11, 2007
                          NEW YORK

Employers have begun to discover troubling racial differences within their 401(k) retirement plans, a gap they say could leave today's black workers far less financially prepared for retirement than whites.

Investor surveys and research by two large employers strongly suggest that blacks participate in retirement plans at far lower rates and are much less likely than whites to invest in the stock market. An industrywide study of 401(k) plan activity by race has never been conducted.

Exelon Corp., the country's largest operator of nuclear power plants, discovered this year that about 15 out of every 100 black employees did not participate in its 401(k) plan, compared with around 10 of every 100 whites. It also found that one in three black employees contributed less than 5 percent of their pay to the plan, compared to just 14 percent of whites.

"We have to start addressing that now," said Andrea Zopp, Exelon's senior vice president of human resources. "If African Americans are not investing at the same rate, they will be behind," she said.

McDonald's Corp. discovered in 2004 that only half of its black store managers contributed to the company's 401(k) plan, a lower percentage than whites. The company plans to announce at an event in New York that by auto-enrolling store managers into the plan it has reversed the trend; today, 95 percent of black restaurant managers are plan participants.

Few employers today peer into their plans in search of racial or ethnic differences, as they are required to do for discrepancies between high- and low-income workers. Fidelity Investments and Vanguard Group, two of the country's largest retirement plan operators, both publish encyclopedic volumes on America's investing habits that lack any reference to race or ethnicity.

Experts attribute lower investment rates to poor instruction on financial topics in public schools, and misconceptions about the risk of stocks within parts of the black community. Employers have also been urged to tailor their messages on retirement savings to account for what some black and Latino executives say are important cultural differences. And the federal government has been urged to strengthen its national strategy for financial literacy, which has been criticized as ineffective.

A survey by Charles Schwab Corp. and Ariel Mutual Funds concludes that four in 10 African Americans with household incomes of $50,000 or more have no money in stocks, compared to just one-quarter of whites.

Ariel's survey also found blacks who enrolled in retirement plans save a median $173 a month while whites save $252. The survey was administered in June and July and has a margin of error of about 4.5 percentage points.

A separate survey of retirees found whites are nearly twice as likely to have $100,000 or more saved than blacks, even when education, peak income level and other factors are held constant.

"There are clear differences between blacks and whites: How we think about money, where we save and invest our money, what we do with our money, and how we're influenced as to what we do with our money," said Mellody Hobson, president of Ariel Mutual Funds.

Since the 1980s 401(k) plans have replaced traditional pensions as the preferred retirement offering among employers.

Copyright © 2007, The Associated Press

This is not news to me I have been preaching this for a long time, BrickTop try 40% and even 50 on some cars(use to be a car saleman in mi youger days) I ask everyone to watch "Little Rock Central High School;50 years later" it's on HBO I think that documentary tells you everything you need to know about the differences between Black and White America.

Nuff a wi don't understand or acknowledge racism.
                            Preach it Bill. Mek Mosiah gwan wid him crusade against white people and continue to ignore our biggest obstacle........ourselves. - T.K.

"They're standing on the corner and they can't speak English.
                            I can't even talk the way these people talk:
                            Why you ain't,
                            Where you is,
                            What he drive,
                            Where he stay,
                            Where he work,
                            Who you be...

And I blamed the kid until I heard the mother talk.

And then I heard the father talk.

Everybody knows it's important to speak English

except these knuckleheads . You can't be a doctor

with that kind of crap coming out of your mouth.

In fact you will never get any kind of job making a decent living.
                            People marched and were hit in the face with rocks to get an education,
                            and now we've got these knuckleheads walking around.

The lower economic people are not holding up their end in this deal.

These people are not parenting. They are buying things for kids.

$500 sneakers for what ?

And they won't spend $200 for Hooked on Phonics.

I am talking about these people who cry when their son is standing

there in an orange suit.

Where were you when he was 2 ? ?

Where were you when he was 12 ? ?

Where were you when he was 18 and how come you didn't know

that he had a pistol ? ?

And where is the father ? ? Or who is his father ?

People putting their clothes on backward:

Isn't that a sign of something gone wrong?

People with their hats on backward, pants down around the crack,

isn't that a sign of something ?

Or are you waiting for Jesus to pull his pants up ?

Isn't it a sign of something when she has her dress all the way up and

got all type of needles [piercing] going through her body?

What part of Africa did this come from??

We are not Africans. Those people are not Africans; they don't know a

thing about Africa .

With names like Shaniqua, Taliqua and Mohammed and all of that crap,

and all of them are in jail.

Brown or black versus the Board of Education is no longer the white person's problem.

We have got to take the neighborhood back.

People used to be ashamed. Today a woman has eight children with eight
                            different 'husbands' -- or men or whatever you call them now.

We have millionaire football players who cannot read.

We have million-dollar basketball players who can't write two paragraphs.
                            We, as black folks have to do a better job. Someone working at Wal-Mart
                            with seven kids, you are hurting us.

We have to start holding each other to a higher standard.

We cannot blame the white people any longer."

sigh