Rice dispute could be resolved on Wednesday

• Rice dispute could be resolved on Wednesday

Jamaica's trade dispute with Guyana over the supply of rice could end Wednesday.

Commerce Minister Karl Samuda is to meet Wednesday afternoon with Guyana's Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud to discuss reported problems with the importation of rice.

The meeting comes in the wake of reports that Guyana is planning to use CARICOM to block Jamaica's bid to import rice from the United States.

Jamaica must apply for a waiver from the Caribbean Community economic bloc to import U.S. rice.

Mr. Samuda says he is eager to meet with Mr. Persaud before the dispute deepens.

Mr. Persaud has insisted that Guyana can meet most of Jamaica's annual need for 80,000 tons of rice.

Guyana says the dispute have arisen as a result of the Jamaican Government being unaware of the lines of communication with the Guyana Rice Board.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/1956/26/

Guyana says the dispute have arisen as a result of the Jamaican Government being unaware of the lines of communication with the Guyana Rice Board.
    Heheheh! Nuh know bout!

What is the Jamaican gov't priority? Knowing the lines of communication or providing for the people that elected them?

Pity.

Pity indeed. If they don't know one they can't do the other. Ever thought about that?

Let me break it down for you - if they don't know the lines of communication, then they might have a difficult time providing for the people.

Let's hope that if push comes to shove, Samuda knows the lines of communication to the US market!

Pity indeed. If they don't know one they can't do the other. Ever thought about that?

Let me break it down for you - if they don't know the lines of communication, then they might have a difficult time providing for the people.

Let's hope that if push comes to shove, Samuda knows the lines of communication to the US market!

I can understand that because its Samuda yuh judgement clouded.

However, Derrick Nemhard, general manager of Jamaica Rice Mills, the island's largest importer, told the Business Observer that despite Guyana's claim they have not received any rice from them since August.
          Jamaica Observer.

If there is a rice shortage in Jamaica, YOU same one gonna have a problem. Samuda has been informed that there is a problem. As the minister he needs to act in the best interest of Jamaicans, not to figure out Guyana's line of communications. But ... gwaan duh yuh thing.

remember gary hart lose out him bid as democratic candidate because of him appetite for rice? i wonder if condi....mek i stap yah!

Me? Mi look like mi care if rice short?!?

she is..isn't she? condi...not donna

Me? Mi look like mi care if rice short?!?
                  Note: When I said you having a problem, I meant with Samuda's handling of the issue. I wasn't implying you'd go hungry or anything like that.

no man, rice nuh short.

well not beside george bush.....

remember gary hart lose out him bid as democratic candidate because of him appetite for rice? i wonder if condi....mek i stap yah!
                        You and dis "monkey business" again

heheheheheheh.....dem seh dat china was in full support of hart because they figured any presidential candidate who eat suh much rice couldn't have been all that bad!