• Talking it out with Lady Saw

Talking it out with Lady Saw
    Danelia Doyle, Youth link Writer

'I've achieved so much, sometimes, you need to stop and enjoy yuh money'

"Tan an see, nuh spoil no dance, only interference," echoed Marion's grandma. But Marion Hall, now known to the world as Lady Saw, never listened. "Anywhere the dance was, that's where I'd be," remembered Saw jokingly. And this, she says, was one of the major contributing factors to her success.
    Growing up in the rural parish of St. Mary was tough. Saw had to endure the anguish of living with an abusive father and a mouth that caused her not to graduate from high school.
    Despite all these struggles, Lady Saw was determined to make it. With stardom in mind, she had to choose early in her career between singing cognisant lyrics or the path she took of provocative dancehall. "It just wasn't my time, I'd started with conscious lyrics (Gimme a Reason) and they landed me nowhere". That's when the harsh realities of life hit home and she realised it was all about survival.
    Sex sells

During the early '90s dancehall hadn't reached it's full potential, and female artistes had to try twice as hard as their male counterparts to 'buss'. Upon accepting this fact, Lady Saw began to establish the career she is now popularly known for.
    It's been almost 10 years and Lady Saw has just about made it. She has three adopted children (one girl and two boys) who she most happily makes mention of.
    Was the decision to adopt children influenced by the fact that you are infertile?
    No, the girl reminded me of myself, I met her randomly on the road and the two boys are my nephews who needed the help, so I adopted them legally.
    Would you consider yourself an effective role model to youth/ teenagers?
    Not really, I believe parents are suppose to be role models to their children.
    Do you think you are a role model to your children?
    Yes. My children understand that what I do is a business and I'm a completely different Marion at home.
    Without the provocative behaviour and the lewd lyrics, do you think you'd have still made it?
    I would have made it, but it would have taken me a longer time.
    Your song 'I've Got Your Man' was very conflicting. What kind of message was it sending to your fans and society.
    I didn't write that song, and like I said before, it was all about survival.
    If money didn't matter, what would you have done with your life?
    Interior decorating! I love looking at a room that is properly made-up and everything is in place.
    What's your favourite accessory?
    I love rings, but I always lose them and never realise until I'm ready to wear them.
    What's the most expensive thing you've ever bought?
    I buy a lot of properties, so I'd have to say property.
    One word that best describes you?
    (Gasp!) Simple, definitely simple.
    Throughout your career, what has been your most memorable/favourite moment?
    While performing on a show in Europe, I met a fan who was in tears after one of my performances. She was fat, but she said my song really touched her and allowed her to accept herself for who she was.
    Lady Saw is currently working on a music video for one of two of her new singles Wah Do Dem and I'm Only Sixteen, which promotes abstinence and responsibility in teenage girls.
    "If I can reach one girl regardless of my reputation, the song would have been worth it," she said, regarding the song.
    Saw also cancelled her tour, saying, "I've achieved so much, sometimes you need to stop and enjoy yuh money (laughs)."
    Five Recommendations
    Movie(s) - "I watch E! a lot. I am not really into movies."
    Gadget(s) - voice recorder (giggles)
    Fragrance(s) - L'heure Bleue
    T.V show(s) - "I love watching soap operas."
    Shoe(s) - Gucci and Michael Kors
    Myspace link: www.myspace.com/ladysaw

Smart woman - she invest her money in Real Estate.

Karl - must be her adviser

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
      Smart woman - she invest her money in Real Estate.

Karl - must be her adviser
      I find her interesting! I must make an effort to meet her.

karl...yuh drink miller genuine draft don't it? you never miss a genuine opportunity!

Nuff a them entertainer yah who gwaan like idiot on stage don't live that kinda life, only a pity some a the idiot them who want to live out the gangster and ruff neck role never realise this.

kekekekeeeee kekekeeeee