What really is going on with the rice?

• What really is going on with the rice?

Shortage of Guyanese rice persists in face of attempted blockade
    Patrick Foster, Business Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Local rice distributors have confirmed a shortfall in the product from Guyana even while Guyana maintains that it is able to supply most of Jamaica's 80,000-ton annual requirement and will block efforts to import from the US.

In the wake of the Jamaican government's planned importation of rice from the US to avert a shortage after Hurricane Dean, Guyanese officials yesterday vowed to use the Caribbean Community (Caricom) to block Jamaica's bid, arguing that they can supply most of the island's needs instead.

However, Derrick Nemhard, general manager of Jamaica Rice Mills, the island's largest importer, told the Business Observer that despite Guyana's claim they have not received any rice from them since August.

According to Nemhard, his company requires 2,000 tonnes of rice per month to satisfy local demand and there has been a shortfall, which had to be filled. In August the company received 1,930 tonnes which Nemhard said is equivalent to three weeks' supply.

"The market is being supplied by US rice because Guyana rice is unavailable," said Nemhard, adding that the next shipment of Guyana rice to his company is due for the end of October.

At Geddes Grant, the company's normal import of five containers per week from Guyana is now down to two, according to reports from the company.
    "This has not happened for a long time but bulk rice is woefully short right now," said a representative who requested anonymity.

"They rush to supply the European market first and when that is done they supply us," he charged.

"Jamaica is a secondary market, Europe is Guyana's major market," agreed Gordon Stewart of Musson Jamaica. Stewart said that maturing rice was affected by bad weather reducing the rice supply by at least 25 per cent.
    Guyanese agriculture minister Robert Persaud is scheduled to meet with Karl Samuda, minister of industry, commerce and investment today to discuss the impasse.

After Hurricane Dean, Samuda sought to ensure local supplies of rice by allowing importation of the staple from Louisiana in the US, drawing concerns from Guyana which charged that it was in contravention of Caricom rules of trade as no waiver of tariff was requested.

Samuda defended his decision saying that the normal shipment of rice from Guyana would not arrive in time due to shortages of output from farms in Guyana.

Persaud, however, accused the Jamaican government of acting on false assumptions.
    "At no time did we receive any request for rice that we could not supply and at no time were any requests made for a waiver of the common external tariff (CET)," he said.

But Nemhard told the Business Observer yesterday that a waiver was not always necessary as Caricom provisions are in place to accommodate extra-regional rice imports in the event of a disaster.

Under the provision Article 226, Caricom member states are able to immediately import supplies to avert a shortage, Nemhard explained.
    "There is a specific quantity of 35,000 tonnes that represent consumption for a month."

Nemhard added that Guyana was indeed experiencing a shortfall in production which could spill over into next year.
    "Not only will the crop be late but it will also be small. We are expecting not to get any rice after Christmas," Nemhard said.

In August Guyana supplied Jamaica 4,223 tonnes of rice shared between 13 distributors, approximately 1,700 tonnes below the 6,000 ton monthly demand.

Apart from the Rice Mills, Jamaica Inter Carib Rice receiving 448 tonnes, Geddes Grant 384 tonnes, Musson Jamaica receiving 288 tonnes and Progressive Grocers 264 tonnes, were the other top importers during the month.
    Last edited by Karl; October 10, 2007, 06:53 AM.

My reading is there appears to be a fear in Guyana that the price out of the USA may be cheaper than that being supplied from Guyana. If there was not some fear about competitiveness in price and possible availability as opposed to quantities from Guyana why not a waiver to at the very least importation of amounts to take care of any shortfalls we may have?

I am not buying the Guyana Minister's cries.

I am with Samuda on this one. Perhaps at this time Guyana can supply some rice...but, we such go ahead and import the quantity to satisfy our needs and smooth over any pique Guyana may have...later
    Last edited by Karl; October 10, 2007, 10:18 AM.

I know who I believe. RJR had both of them on a program last week and only Vegas card dealer shuffles more than Samuda when faced with irrefutable facts from the Guyanese minister. It was embarrassing seeing Samuda try to appear tuff under the guise of protecting the Jamaican consumer, when armed with hearsay and rumour about the availability of rice from Guyana.

This govt. must make itself clear - CARICOM or NO CARICOM.
      I wonder if it was the general manager of Jamaica Rice Mills, the island's largest importer of rice or the Geddes Grant representive or Gordon Stewart of Musson Jamaica or Jamaica Inter Carib Rice or Musson Jamaica or Progressive Grocers arm Samuda with hearsay and Rumour.

"They rush to supply the European market first and when that is done they supply us," he charged.

"Jamaica is a secondary market, Europe is Guyana's major market," agreed Gordon Stewart of Musson Jamaica..
      Do you think Guyana has decided CARICOM or NO CARICOM?
      “Pele should go back to the museum,” Maradona

What you mean what is really going on ?

It is very simple. We need X amount of Rice, we have only gotten X - Y amount so the shortfall has to be filled by a country other than Guyana.

There is no room for ASSUMPTIONS.. is what Persaud smoking ?

Oh well, there goes Mosiah's credibility!

Where? Did you hear the discussion on the radio? I stand by what I heard! Not rumour as Samuda is doing.

Well based on the report, it appears Samuda was telling the truth. The thing is people hear what dem want to hear. How many of you came here talking how Davis won the debate against Shaw?

Shaw is yet to refute any of Davies' points. He needs to check his CAPE books first.

you have no Guyanese rice inna you cabinet

Shaw is yet to refute any of Davies' points. He needs to check his CAPE books first.
                    What points did Davis make again? All he kept asking was how the JLP was going to finance their commitments. Did we watch the same debate?

Your Internet is down?

Duh!! The lengths you people will go to.

Seeit deh. Absolved again.

Too many a dem have issues. Dem cannot be objective when it comes to the JLP ministers.

Objective - You had that in your vocabulary all this time?!?!