Audley Shaw should resign

ok lazie, enough of the semantic games... if we are engaging in a debate, reference a name like i do when i am directing a post to you...

its not about falling into anyones trap... i made a pose above and i havent received a response...

see it yah again...

this is the sheggrey that i just cannot tolerate... if you and i want the best for jamaica (assumption there) and reasonable people want a higher level of governance (assumption there as well), given the opportunity to change course, it stands to reason that we should not expect nor tolerate substandard governance nor should we engage in the peurile one upmanship especially when it is counterproductive to the goal of higher level of management of the peoples business...

if the above nuh mek sense, seh suh...

which well thinking person would expect a 200% increase as soon as they took office?

what kind of foolishness is that you are spewing mr lazie...

a 'respected' finance figure speaking from a position of authority and 'knowledge' in a campaign stump, made a promise that if he was in the position to make decisions, based on his knowledge doubling the pay of the nurses would be authorized by him because he knew the nurses are deserving and he knew he could find the funds to source the doubling of their pay, why wouldn't the nurses believe him, an authority finance...

its simple, either he was being demogogic, disingenuous, dishonest, inept or acting without knowledge...

in aspiring for higher level of governance and management of the affairs of the state, then it stands to reason that the people should not be tolerant of the alleged same as that of the previous administration...

yesterday, i suggested that shaw should own up to his promise and placate the nurses or resign from the position, i see the writer of the article is also calling for his resignation...

the election of the jlp to the government was a signal that the jamaica people expect and want better, not the same ole managament with different faces...

isn't that what you wanted as well lazie, cause i assume you are jamaican... its not a laborite or comrade ting... its a jamaican ting...

Okay ... we can do this. My response was

"Baddaz, the budget was tabled in April to run until next March. Go to www.mof.gov.jm and review the budget and tell me WHERE in there you see an allocation for a 200% increase for the nurses. Such a comical response I expect from Karl.

The past few days you made 2 good post on our current affairs and now you erode it with this comical post. Mi expect better from you."

An aside, it was reported an a radio news NNN I think that they said it was 200% and it was reported also that after the tape was released they wanted more than 100%.

Baddaz, people round here love call mi lyad .... here is one about wanting more than 100% .... of course I cannot provide the discussion about the 200%, but it is something I heard and I'm yet to hear the NAJ dispute it and until I hear dem say nothing nuh guh suh .... I'm standing by it.

NAJ gears up for wage negotiations

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/1751/26/

It appears that the Government will have to dig deeper into its coffers to pay public sector nurses who are gearing up to start wage negotiations in a matter of weeks.

Following a meeting of its executive on Monday, the Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ) says it will now be seeking a wage adjustment above the 100 per cent promised by Finance Minister Audley Shaw.

NAJ President Edith Allwood-Anderson says a 100 per cent increase will not be enough to satisfy nurses who have seen their salaries eroded due to inflation.

She disclosed that the Association will submit its claim next month.

It will cover the 2008 to 2010 period.

"The NAJ will be seeking to have more because we realize that we have been eroded in terms of our gains over the years. So we are not only accepting that his good heart will see to it that is done and certainly we would hope that we would not have to negotiate for that but we will seek to justify our case for more pay. Maybe government should put in place a 10 year plan in terms of the strategic increasing overtime of nurses," said Mrs. Allwood-Anderson.

Did you hear the news about the hidden $15 Billion dollar spend ???

If we want to get real, lets get real.. otherwise stop the pretense.

Blah, Blah, Blah..

Meanwhile after 18 years of the previous Governance we are 1 Trillion in Debt and the dollar has devalued by a factor of almost 14 AND our cumalative growth has barely peaked 10%.

Stop the pretense...

Stop the pretense..

Please lazy! We all read the entire account in its entire context. This wasn't an idle, "I'll raise your salary!"

Anyway, no need to beat this to the ground. It's already in commercials.

lazie, on somewhat of a tangent... two wrongs dont make a right... in my opinion, a 100% increase is unrealistic by any economic measure... the naj strong arming the govt for such is foolish... however, the minister shaw was blatantly wrong to make such a promise and set that level of expectation... afterall, he was talking to an educated audience, where trust is paramount...

i can just imagine what he and other learned politicians would say to the illiterate among us...

that aside lazie, answer this question... do you think audley shaw was dishonest when he made the pledge to double the nurses salay...

thats a simple question, requiring a yes or no...

What happen your love for Jamaica has suddenly left you?!
                    It was never there. Can't fool me!

you've already beaten the debt issue... thats why the jlp is in govt now... what do the jlp intend to do about the issue... the election is over... its the jlp's bag now... the empty promises just will not cut the mustard...

live the reality...

Do you remember me calling for Portia to resign her ministerial position when the dogs mauled the woman to death?

Then I can call for Shaw's resignation over this lie, which he has failed to own up to.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                          lazie, on somewhat of a tangent... two wrongs dont make a right... in my opinion, a 100% increase is unrealistic by any economic measure... the naj strong arming the govt for such is foolish... however, the minister shaw was blatantly wrong to make such a promise and set that level of expectation... afterall, he was talking to an educated audience, where trust is paramount...

i can just imagine what he and other learned politicians would say to the illiterate among us...

that aside lazie, answer this question... do you think audley shaw was dishonest when he made the pledge to double the nurses salay...

thats a simple question, requiring a yes or no...
                          I wanted to by a home ... 10,000 sq ft. After looking at my finances I bought one with 5000 square footage. Does that makes me dishonest?

I don't know if he was being dishonest. Then again, he is a politician. Show me a honest politician.

Again, Shaw and the PM all admit the nurses need better pay. Who in dem right mind would expect a gov't to start issuing 100% or 200% increases less than a month in office. To make matters worse there is the question of the $15 billion?

Do you remember me calling for Portia to resign her ministerial position when the dogs mauled the woman to death?

Then I can call for Shaw's resignation over this lie, which he has failed to own up to.
                            When Omar run wid it, did you call for his head? Which is worse? Omar running up the national debt to regain power, or Shaw being exuberant to gain power?

Glad you brought it up! You tell me, Lazie, did I call for his head?

Of course you won't remember.

Your anology is hog doo-doo! Her again is the question:

"do you think audley shaw was dishonest when he made the pledge to double the nurses salary...

thats a simple question, requiring a yes or no..."