St Georges murdered the JC Dragons

The only one who got first team ball was James.

Watson - the better player to me - did not even start playing till mid-season and I didnt even know who he was...but he is talented.

Elliott started matches from mid first round and then went back to the bench. He surprisingly played the KC match and did well. Both keepers have flaws but are somewhat competent.

The switched because of Bertis. Look at how Allando hug up Bertis after the match. The players respect bertis down to the ground. he is more than a coach, he is a life mentor. bertis is extra-ordinary...mi tiad fi tell people that. I followed the team from pre-season 1992 and got to know bertis and his philosophy well. A Genkleman and a scholar!

Getting back to JC...its what i warned about. They brought in TOOO many outsiders and changed the character of the team. They simply forgot that the success was 50% due to the true JC man - Talisman Flemmings, not the bunch of burly DCup ballers. James and Watson are in the mold of StGC and old JC. Tall, lanky, slender and strong ---the opposite of Donovan Dawkins. JC team lives in the weights room. Very good individuals, but I dont rate their team GAME that highly. Not that fluid. Ironically the BEST JC player looks like Watson/James, ie McGee who is lanky, slender and powerful. To me the real JC is represented by the short skillful Ashani Walker and the larger than life Flemmings (who was backed up by the hulkish TT baller - Raffick Bryan)

These are just MY individiual observations, so feel free to disagree. I freely admit I could be drawing wrong conclusions from the data I see before me.

Which dawkins that?

Easy solution is to rotate the players and not overpack the side with outsiders.
      Balance is needed.

How yuh naw brag bout yuh "son" Alex and how him coulda win Champs medal too? LoL

The only one who got first team ball was James.

Watson - the better player to me - did not even start playing till mid-season and I didnt even know who he was...but he is talented.

Elliott started matches from mid first round and then went back to the bench. He surprisingly played the KC match and did well. Both keepers have flaws but are somewhat competent.

The switched because of Bertis. Look at how Allando hug up Bertis after the match. The players respect bertis down to the ground. he is more than a coach, he is a life mentor. bertis is extra-ordinary...mi tiad fi tell people that. I followed the team from pre-season 1992 and got to know bertis and his philosophy well. A Genkleman and a scholar!

Getting back to JC...its what i warned about. They brought in TOOO many outsiders and changed the character of the team. They simply forgot that the success was 50% due to the true JC man - Talisman Flemmings, not the bunch of burly DCup ballers. James and Watson are in the mold of StGC and old JC. Tall, lanky, slender and strong ---the opposite of Donovan Dawkins. JC team lives in the weights room. Very good individuals, but I dont rate their team GAME that highly. Not that fluid. Ironically the BEST JC player looks like Watson/James, ie McGee who is lanky, slender and powerful. To me the real JC is represented by the short skillful Ashani Walker and the larger than life Flemmings (who was backed up by the hulkish TT baller - Raffick Bryan)

These are just MY individiual observations, so feel free to disagree. I freely admit I could be drawing wrong conclusions from the data I see before me.
          Well first team ball or more playing time or playing a favored position....dat seems to have been dem problem...Definitely not winning titles. Wi nuh ave dat tikle-winning problem.
          But if ah yute waan leave wi program mi nuh ave nuh problem wid dat....dem free fi pursue dem tings. Wi ongly want the committed

Yeah Bertis is a great coach ...no doubt

Willi...ah nuh every year team ave talisman like Flemmings or Ashani. Dem balla deh exceptional. Plus your saying we
          brought in TOOO many outsiders and changed the character of the team.
          .. Mi nuh know where yuh get dat from. Especially when we lost 4 balla to Jawges and about 4 more to other locations Plus more graduated and moved on

As to JC team game...All mi want to know is dat di yute dem gi dem best...an' dat wi win wi usual (un)fair number of tikles

An' mi naw tawk secondary tikle like unnu Ovaltine Cup or unnu nuff Walker Cup dem

Manning & Olivier...and now Supa Cup run di cut...Quality Cupz doze name

Wi love ball but wi nuh really as emotionally or financially invested inna fooball as much as unnu it seems to me.... Wi nuh ave nuh kriss grounds, spectator stands, irrigation system an wi nuh guh pon foreign tour etc etc like unnu. Dat outa wi budget. Wi ah werk wid di said field & facilities whe Norman Manley used to run up an' dung pon 100 years ago

Wi ave big Champs/Penn Relays an' nuff odda big bakkle fi deal wid weh tek wi focus & resources. Winning or losing Champs is a much bigga deal dan football...it's much harder to compete inna dat
          Last edited by Don1; November 17, 2015, 09:38 AM.

A mean Kyle woke up one day and jus like dat he had a BIG brother,suh anything is possible especially wid me sneaky gyalis friend.
            Last edited by Rockman; November 17, 2015, 09:20 AM.

Is it still being dismissed as arrant nonsense?
              Ok .... Mah bad

Please consider the arrant voided
              Last edited by Don1; November 17, 2015, 09:35 AM.

Last year, not this year Don.

It was last year that the whole heap a new ballers came in.

Yuh right, talismen dont grow on trees.

You didn't LOSE any ballers to StGC as the team members cuss dem seh dem not good enough to make the team! At least not better than bench.

James was U-14 JC team captain and now dem cuss him seh him nuh good enough?? Truth be told though, is the way JC is playing is far below the times of Ashani when JC was slicker when he greased the wheels.

Its the same fields we have for 165 years, but we dod indeed invest in them. they were dustbowls in my time and all dem BBQ money which was supposed to build pool (we have no pool) we voted and decided to drill well and pumphouse. Best decision ever. Despite selling Sabina that land next door, we were nevre a cricket or track and field team. We love the beautiful game and football is number 1 for us...even more than tennis which we won for 19 years straight in my time.

As for Norman Manley card weh yuh draw, mek mi draw back the fact that the same fields weh Johnny Barns and Andy Williams and Ali Rose and Buddyhead Strachan and Dennis Ziadie played on, are the same ones we try to now keep in tip-top shape for coming generations. Fiwi legasy dat!

We send team to Penn every year and try to be top 10 in champss every year...good enough for us as long as we can roll the sweetest ball in the land, win, lose or draw....we do it in style. JOGO bonito!

What could Georges offer that JC could not?

Higher MoE exam ranking...I hear its up to 92% now. He also can keep trying to see if he makes the team next year?

We also had 7 kids in the top 10 in Caribbean CXC and Cape exams...including a couple first for French and IT I think. Imagine that...French, which was not offered there in my time.

Hey that leaves 'nonsense'?

LOL!!!!! Mi Spleen!!!!!

Don't buy MoE angle. Campion would have a better manning cup team if it was that important. there must be more to it.

Last year, not this year Don.

It was last year that the whole heap a new ballers came in.
                            So you're saying an influx of ballas last year affected JC style this year?? Mi nuh si dat.

We lost the core and cutting edge of last year's team..."Star Bwoy" Flemmings, Sheldon McCoy & Raffique Bryan. We just did not have enough to recover from dat plus the loss of promising fringe players (like the 4 who were enticed to Jawges) who could have helped. Instead dem help unnu. Dats di nature of the game nowadays

Yuh right, talismen dont grow on trees.
                            Yuhseeit

You didn't LOSE any ballers to StGC as the team members cuss dem seh dem not good enough to make the team! At least not better than bench.

James was U-14 JC team captain and now dem cuss him seh him nuh good enough??
                            LOL!! The cussing took place when we encountered the boys in a final...Whe yuh expec?? High Fives???

Truth be told though, is the way JC is playing is far below the times of Ashani when JC was slicker when he greased the wheels.
                            As I noted weeks ago...this year we don't have the horses. Ah nuh evvy year wi cyan win tikle my yute...dat is a cyclical ting

Its the same fields we have for 165 years, but we dod indeed invest in them. they were dustbowls in my time and all dem BBQ money which was supposed to build pool (we have no pool) we voted and decided to drill well and pumphouse. Best decision ever. Despite selling Sabina that land next door, we were nevre a cricket or track and field team. We love the beautiful game and football is number 1 for us...even more than tennis which we won for 19 years straight in my time.
                            Ok.... Suh fi 165 years unnu ave dat carpet?? Noice!!

As for Norman Manley card weh yuh draw, mek mi draw back the fact that the same fields weh Johnny Barns and Andy Williams and Ali Rose and Buddyhead Strachan and Dennis Ziadie played on, are the same ones we try to now keep in tip-top shape for coming generations. Fiwi legasy dat!
                            That's indeed a noice legacy

We send team to Penn every year and try to be top 10 in champss every year...good enough for us as long as we can roll the sweetest ball in the land, win, lose or draw....we do it in style. JOGO bonito!
                            Yep unnu roll some noice ball fi choo. Backed by huge investments in football support & infrastructure....but it definitely isn't wasted

Wi cyaan afford dat type ah commitment...or perhaps it just isn't prioritized

To each his own an' evvy skool tuh dem owna orda

Best of luck to JC...we have no hard feelings...how could we? We need all the boys school to be the best they can for Jamaica's sake.

Wolmers, CBar, KC, JC, StGC...5 the hard way. Tons of tradition with with room for improvement. The boys are underperforming in General we we need these schools to turn things around. Perhaps a new approach is needed too, as Boys certainly learn in a different style and pace to girls.

Ask the transferees directly then.

My take is that only Wolmers is marginally higher in the MoE ranking, that though we know is flawed, is bought into by the parents, by and large. We know that Bertis is a charismatic coach and that the StGC team gets lots of scholarship focus. We also know that football is the beloved sport of StGC, despite being next door to Sabina and we the students had DIRECT access to all the cricket great over the ages who warmed up over in Emmett Park.

I cannot speak for Campion, but clearly Campion does not have a powerful football tradition to fall back on. Even Kimani Robinson, a Georgian whose Dad sent him to Campion (I dont think some you guys realize that Campion was at one point essentially a Campus of StGC before they merged with St Peter and Paul Girls high school) tried to get the coaching job at StGC while his son was at Campion! We had the same teachers going back and forth and there was a lot of catholic Campion students transferring to StGC back in my time. Nowadays the chairman of Campion is the ArchBishop, but I still think its Jesuit property.

I have to laugh when I see some of the postings about Campion here, as I think many dont understand the history and context. I could have EASILY gone to Campion myself, but I chose StGC TWICE on my common entrance form. I have nuff high level katlic contacts (on speed dial, lol) that at anytime I could have switched, but in my time the flow was the other way. Campion benefitted from a demographic shift and I think with what is brewing for downtown in the near furture, I can see a big flow change in the next 10 years. Not a reversal, but a rebalancing. With StGC/KC/Wolmers downtown with good to great infrastructure and enormous tradition, the future is the opposite of bleak.
                                Last edited by Willi; November 18, 2015, 05:46 AM.