Ohara and Hyde barred from Penn Relays

Time need to see the steps that NCAA has taken.

Just recently they suspend Todd Gurley the Georgia running back for selling signed autographs to a dealer and this was for a few thousand dollars.

There are strict rules governing these things and I am sure Penn wouldn't want to get into trouble knowingly running pro athletes as student athletes.

I am upset , that they wont be participating.Very!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

ISSA may just decide to take another route.

i.e. it does not jeopardise their ability to take part in champs but it does their ability to participate with their school at penns. the 2 need not be mutually exclusive.

lebron would be allowed to play for a JC even if he was attending on his own dime, while being a member of a pro basketball team. slightly different but high school sports remain an extra curricular activity .... I think the incident that pushed the envelope was zharnel hughes' participation last year.

ISSA needs rules and these need not be slavish to the ncaa BUT athletes must be aware of the consequences of their actions.

au contraire, they can, but not with the high school teams.

Mi vex ....kisssteeeth !...dats all mi can say !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

ISSA needs rules and these need not be slavish to the ncaa BUT athletes must be aware of the consequences of their actions
              Rules must be clear and goes for every competitor and schools. Don't expect it to be that of NCAA. I was just pointing out the difference.

Exactly. To be fair to them though, this is a very new development for us.

It could very well be that ISSA were the ones who contacted the organizers to clarify the situation, which is much better than the athletes turning up in Philly and not being allowed to compete.

The Wolmers coach apparently had not given this possible outcome any consideration.

Would the massive like to know where to send an online donation to assist this 20+ year all-volunteer effort??
                  ~~~crickets~~~

This is no big thing. What is the importance of the Penn Relays to Jamaican high schools anyway? The Penn Relays comes at the end of Jamaica's high school T&F season. The time has come for ISSA, as the governing body for Jamaica's high school sports, to exert their massive power and seek some form of financial benefits from the Penn Relays. Right now, Jamaica and Jamaican high school athletes do not need the Penn Relays for anything. However, the Penn Relays need the Jamaican high schools to fill the stadium and Philly. The day name day that ISSA exerts its powers and say they are withholding our athletes from attending Penns, then you will see the Penn Relays organizers moving mountains to get us back.
                    Right!!

How about wi demand some ah di money dem mek offah wi head, a wondah how much ISSA get outah dem dollahs

If my memory serves me correctly, during the heights of Daniel England's reign, he did some commercials while he was in school. There wasn't a problem then with him running at the Penns.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

They probably didnt know about it. I believe Bolt may have run after he was sponsored by Puma as well.

This might not even have been raised if Ohara and Digicel didn't do their publicity stunt.

Bolt handlers were aware of the rules at the time. They had a lot of people trying to get Bolt at the time.

You know there is always rumours at Penn about our school kids been over ages etc. I doubt any pro athletes can take part in high school or college activity unless it is not known. I know that NCAA read all kind of local papers and scan for this kind of info, in some very remote areas.

When I was in college, some of the players would play and get a little money in the summer, I remember coach warning us that if we do, we could lose scholarship. That a donkey years ago but the rule is still the same.

Time need to see the steps that NCAA has taken.

Just recently they suspend Todd Gurley the Georgia running back for selling signed autographs to a dealer and this was for a few thousand dollars.

There are strict rules governing these things and I am sure Penn wouldn't want to get into trouble knowingly running pro athletes as student athletes.
                              I have a signed copy of the release. It says that the PIAA determined that both athletes received benefits from their athletics skills and performances which are not available to students of their high schools. The issue is their contracts but wording of the PIAA ruling make you wonder if would have been ok had they attended a 'Little High School' that only had 5 members on the track team and all 5 were paid the same amount

what are the chances they would attend such an high school.

I think the PIAA rule wants to make sure that kids are not denied scholarship especially to private high schools but not treated very special and therefore the wording maybe properly carved for that.