Post champs drama
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.Tags: None
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostAh boy. As you say, Champs as we knew it is over. This is a different beast we are dealing with.
We need to get back to full amateur status for our students, unless they are forfeiting high school sports. In hindsight, Hyde and Ohara should have been ineligible for Champs. Matters not when the contract was signed. His ineligibility begins the first day he allows himself to be approached by a corporation.
And ISSA needs to step aside and assume the role of police more than anything else. Allow the pros to run your competitions while you make sure the rules are being adhered to, starting with this reckless transfer system.
Again, these are some of the reasons transfer happens but nobody knows.
It is kept secret and hush hush, Some a these things a gwaan long time, maybe not to such and extent but abusing of athletes etc.
Now if you had a kid in that school running for that program, what would you do??? especially when no action will be taken against the school and most likely the teacher.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I support every word Mosiah said above. I was surprised to see Hyde running at Champs.
As currently is, Digicel has benefited from it. The can sign athletes while in school, have them be ambassador and promoting their brand, in and out of school, get them to expose their brand as Ohara did, and they can deny that they had anything to do with it.
I-man these are decisions made in the board room to take advantage of our weak administrators.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I agree with you that it is the result of weak administration and rules, and sooner or later some company would do it once they saw commercial benefit to it.
However if the public backlash increases, and I hope it does, then what they clearly thought was great ambush marketing might not look that way."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostThe minister of education needs to rein in this beast. ISSA has no idea what it has got itself into, and most of us don't have a clue either. Pandora never knew her box was so deep!
We need to get back to full amateur status for our students, unless they are forfeiting high school sports. In hindsight, Hyde and Ohara should have been ineligible for Champs. Matters not when the contract was signed. His ineligibility begins the first day he allows himself to be approached by a corporation.
And ISSA needs to step aside and assume the role of police more than anything else. Allow the pros to run your competitions while you make sure the rules are being adhered to.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
I have to take the alternate view because Mo posted it ,it sounds sensible ,so I will try to make more sense .
The day after champs on youtube , 20k viewed the 4x400, we are talking at $ 9 a pop 180k,thats being conservative( 2 mill- Jamaican),if 3 times that amount logged on we are talking 540,000 USA $$$ translated $61 million Jamaican dollars.That is alot of revenue that can be put back into education,keep in mind projected to grow.
Now ISSA has been drawn into the 21st century of commercilization,i say dont be scared of it, embrace it , source a marketing arm and call all stakeholders to a meeting of minds ,to see how this new found wealth can be spread evenly amongst the land to put this revenue back into education.
This commercilization isnt going anywhere ,parameters need to be set that honors our ethical educational standards and balance our comercilzation interest in champs.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Okay sah .THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!