• CHAMPS too big for stadium

SHAYNE FAIRMAN, STAR Writer
    This year's Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/GraceKennedy Boys' and Girls' Championships is set to be so big - followed and watched outside Jamaica - that ISSA president, Dr Walton Small, is calling for a bigger hosting facility for the annual showpiece.

Champs will take place at the National Stadium from March 24-28, and will mark its 105th occasion, with audiences across the Caribbean, North America, and other parts of the world set to tune in to the "world's biggest track and field high-schools event".

"We need a new stadium. We need a modern stadium so that we can accommodate all these people. I think the investment we are putting in to the championship will make more people come," ISSA President Walton Small told STAR Sports in an interview after yesterday's launch of the championships.

"Right now, we (ISSA) have to be turning away the foreign media because we do not have enough space in our stadium to accommodate them," he added. He said this year's championships received substantial financial boosts.

"All the money from our sponsors is invested in the execution of this product, because we believe that the quality of the championships cannot be in any way diluted. Therefore, we invest millions of dollars to keep it that way. We believe that, if we continue to invest, eventually, media houses like ESPN and Fox Sport will come," Small said. Champs 2015 is endorsed to the tune of J$68.5 million by GraceKennedy, who put in $38.5 million towards the event, and $30.5 million to its marketing.

http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2015...s/sports1.html
    Last edited by Karl; March 12, 2015, 01:53 PM.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Re: CHAMPS too big for stadium

Wi large fi tru!!!

Progressive thinking. There goes Mucko to the world.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

that will require some skilful thinking by the stakeholders in the staium. a proper multipurpose concrete and mortar stadium complete with VIP A/C boxes and tv camera alcoves etc

no less than 200 million US i would say.

Paid for by whom?

that is the part which require some skillful thinking of how to fund it. don't see municipal or even government bonds getting any traction what with JDX still hanging over our heads.....

Paid for by the tax-payer! ...but the capital development

fund sourced outside of the island?

The Chinese? ...or private-public partnership as per the Highway 2000 projects?

The project- building of the stadium - just has to be done...and it shall become a net earner of foreign exchange. Here comes a rights holder...who distributes the product - ISSA Champs - through 'subsids' or third-party entities.

The ISSA should only act as owners and oversight entities and hire a professional Sports Agency to handle the promotion/prospectus and sales of the product - ISSA Champs. ISSA must just collect dem big bag a money!!!!

They could even own the Stadium and off-load to the government at rates spread over 50 years...whereon the GOJ pick that up as Triple-Net-Lease with option to buy!!!

Dat nuh hard fi duh!
              The product (anchor product - ISSA CHAMPS) is 'great'!
              I can just see the promo - Where Olympic and World Champions are born!!!
              Mr. Bolt, etc...unnuh ready fi help market di deals dem??? Com een!!!

Absolutely not! We heard that foreign exchange story when they built the conference center and the Trelawny complex. Not a thing happening at either one.

Last thing Jamaica needs is another 200 million U.S. white elephant paid for by the taxpayer.

Absolutely not! We heard that foreign exchange story when they built the conference center and the Trelawny complex. Not a thing happening at either one.

Last thing Jamaica needs is another 200 million U.S. white elephant paid for by the taxpayer.
                  A new stadium is a waste of money. Only 1 event is guaranteed to fill the stadium on at least day every year and that is Champs. Every four years there maybe 1 world cup qualifier that may also fill the stadium.

Tuesday to Friday stadium basically empty because people have to go to work and school and can't be bothered. They need to change the days to Wednesday to Sunday.

Exactly! Forget a bigger stadium. Aim for bigger tv deals!

Good idea that, Sass! The last day should be Sunday. But just watch how the church squeal and moan about such a suggestion.

Keep it in Florida,every 5 yrs.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Puma and the Chinese...

Will they also be the ones maintaining it? If yes then sure, go ahead. That would be unlikely though.

We mess up too many things for me to have any level of confidence in these things

Chinese don't give away much, but they will lower the interest rate and give us the loans. LOL!!!!

very good idea. The stadium has been too small for that even since about 1985.

Yes TV deal. They can check with ESPN U that carry most of the college sporting even and others like them. Just advertise it with some big names who passed through champs and its history.