and how the country schools without big Alum pay for that??? Some can't even rent mini van much less to pay plane fare.
CHAMPS too big for stadium
Willi the are getting something in return. They are building the Chinese hotel in the Bahamas. Don't know what they are getting from the Leeward. We still don't know what they are getting for the hiWay that they build.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Jangle View PostSHAYNE FAIRMAN, STAR Writer
This year's Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/GraceKennedy Boys' and Girls' Championships is set to be so big - followed and watched outside Jamaica - that ISSA president, Dr Walton Small, is calling for a bigger hosting facility for the annual showpiece.
Champs will take place at the National Stadium from March 24-28, and will mark its 105th occasion, with audiences across the Caribbean, North America, and other parts of the world set to tune in to the "world's biggest track and field high-schools event".
"We need a new stadium. We need a modern stadium so that we can accommodate all these people. I think the investment we are putting in to the championship will make more people come," ISSA President Walton Small told STAR Sports in an interview after yesterday's launch of the championships.
"Right now, we (ISSA) have to be turning away the foreign media because we do not have enough space in our stadium to accommodate them," he added. He said this year's championships received substantial financial boosts.
"All the money from our sponsors is invested in the execution of this product, because we believe that the quality of the championships cannot be in any way diluted. Therefore, we invest millions of dollars to keep it that way. We believe that, if we continue to invest, eventually, media houses like ESPN and Fox Sport will come," Small said. Champs 2015 is endorsed to the tune of J$68.5 million by GraceKennedy, who put in $38.5 million towards the event, and $30.5 million to its marketing.
http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2015...s/sports1.html
Yes go into massive debt to build a big stadium now so we can host a 4 day event...brilliant.
What about the remaining 361 days in the year when it's basically empty??????TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Don1 View PostFoolishness
Yes go into massive debt to build a big stadium now so we can host a 4 day event...brilliant.
What about the remaining 361 days in the year when it's basically empty??????
It would be better is they tried to bring it to Florida every 4 to 5 years.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by X View PostIt would be better is they tried to bring it to Florida every 4 to 5 years.
Bring it to Florida when they can bring all the supporters, the school pickney dem, to Florida.