Two High School Champs?

• Two High School Champs?

The new series will see thousands of athletes from 200 high schools across Jamaica competing in seven track and field disciplines at six development meets, culminating with a grand finale on March 14, where the boys' and girls' champion teams will win $1 million each in gym equipment, while the top male and female coaches will walk away with $50,000 each.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...eries_18349019

The money is sweet but this is a lot of work for the students. ISSA Champs starts 10 days lated March 24th then there is Carifta games then Penn Relays. This could lead to more injuries at Champs.
    Last edited by Time; February 5, 2015, 01:09 PM.

When a Jamaica College, say, wins champs 7 years in a row, do they get $1m of gym equipment every year?

Why not? They can use the extra as contemporary art pieces and put them all on the roof.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When a Jamaica College, say, wins champs 7 years in a row, do they get $1m of gym equipment every year?

They can build 7 gyms then replace the oldest equipment each year. One gym per grade, first form gym, 2nd form gym, 3rd form gym all the way up to upper 6th.

LOL!

Wi nuh need unnu fi donate gym tings. Wi deal wid dat wiself

Glimpse it yahsuh..

Woooiiiee mi True Blue Biceps!!!!!!

A gym dat? Or jim?!?

Woooiiee, mi homonyms!

Mek sense! Empty di classrooms of desks and chairs yes!

lol

Why more injuries Time, careful you dont live up to the name some here are already calling you.

You do realise that the athletes would have been taking part in these meets and events already and these are not new meets but part of the schedule for years now.

Why more injuries Time, careful you dont live up to the name some here are already calling you.

You do realise that the athletes would have been taking part in these meets and events already and these are not new meets but part of the schedule for years now.
                    Yes - My understanding is that they are upgrades to the existing meets. I am not expert, what I was told is that teams would not need that last meet but now they are going to put out maximum effort because of the big money.

I agree, Dev meet does not rise to the level of Grand Prix.

Instead of training runs, they become full fledged competitions, must win events….NOT GOOD.

Just like on the professional circuit, top schools, like top athletes, can be very selective in which meet they enter and for what purposes. I see this Grand Prix being more beneficial for the smaller schools that need gym equipment. If prize money was being offered then you might see a more all-out effort.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That is my hope too.

Big schools keep their eye on Champs and hop in and out, while small schools make a ruun at the money to develop infrastructure for the futue. if it wors out that way, i am all for it.

Come on, guys. Which small school is going to win this thing? Which big school is going to allow them to? Let's not get crazy now.

Question, will athletes sitting out their transfer year be allowed to participate in this circuit?