Thwaites move against buying - JC name called :)

• Thwaites move against buying - JC name called :)

The school Thwaites appeared to be referring to is Manning Cup champion Jamaica College, which came out defending their stance on transfers, citing that they are providing better opportunities for student athletes.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...letes_18311274

The month ends tomorrow therefore we should know today or by Monday what the minister and ISSA have up their sleeves.

What is your guess?

If this is really about education them it would make sense to increase the academic requirements for all transfers at the time of the transfer.

Whatever happens, I hope that add a transfer appeal process so that those with an exceptional need for a transfer can appeal.

Y'all know where I stand on this.

If you don't know, I'm against buying, for the most part.

Don't change lane! - Bert Cameron

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...anes-_18311264

"for the most part. " LOL!!!

The problem is not there are not rule, but people who violate them are not punished so it make it worth it to break the rules.

What ever happen to the run up score saga last year???

Cameron said his leaving Spanish Town Secondary to attend St Jago was a personal
            decision, as at that time the secondary students did not get the opportunities
            afforded to those in traditional high schools, and also as a youngster in
            Spanish Town, attending St Jago was a dream for him.
            He is been a little hypocritical on the issue. Many people also transfer for personal reasons.

Bert did not have anything to do with Josef Robertson transfer. Josef was sent kicking and screaming to Wolmer's by his parents because they wanted him to get a good 6th form education. Joser heart remained at Calabar. He wore the Calabar emblem on his Wolmer's Jersey and he also wore a green and black shorts at Penn Relays and Wolmer's was disqualified from an event because of the color of the shorts.

Bert should have thought about his dream of entering St Jago before coming out against transfers.

If I am a talented track athlete, why would I stay at a school that doesn't have access to a gym, training facility, or a decent coach???

I wonder if Burt and others know how many schools have none of this?? You know how many country man who only know how to run on grass or borrow spikes when they are going to race?

If I am a talented track athlete, why would I stay at a school that doesn't have access to a gym, training facility, or a decent coach???

I wonder if Burt and others know how many schools have none of this?? You know how many country man who only know how to run on grass or borrow spikes when they are going to race?
                  Gentrification 101? --- "The net effect is to weaken schools that are probably already weak and would go entirely against the policy that I have set out, which is that you must grow where you are planted," Thwaites said.

This whole argument against schools buying athletes is foolishness. The underlying reasons behind this argument is small-mindedness and jealousy. Top universities and colleges scour the country to find top talent to lure them to their institutions. If a duncehead attending a small country high school shows some athletic talent, why not give him the opportunity to become a somebody by going to a bigger town school? Bert Cameron is talking out of the two sides of his mouth by telling the students to accept foreign scholarships. Isn't that taking talents away from our local universities?
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Time View Post
                      The school Thwaites appeared to be referring to is Manning Cup champion Jamaica College, which came out defending their stance on transfers, citing that they are providing better opportunities for student athletes.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...letes_18311274

The month ends tomorrow therefore we should know today or by Monday what the minister and ISSA have up their sleeves.

What is your guess?

If this is really about education them it would make sense to increase the academic requirements for all transfers at the time of the transfer.

Whatever happens, I hope that add a transfer appeal process so that those with an exceptional need for a transfer can appeal.
                      LOL!! Mi juss ah si dis foolishness

Unnu get bummy even ova some likkle speculation by some likkle dunce reporta bout di greatest school franchise in history eeeh. Dats how dem sell newspapah...juss mention wi name an di lemmings get excited

JC plays by the rules now and always. In playing by whatever the rules are...over the 100 years of school sports JC has the most successful program. If the current rules change...that record of success will not

JC is eternal

I tend to agree with you, Bert is not making much sense at all. So his choice in going to Jago was a "personal decision" but every other athletes choice isn't?

The Ministry of Education really needs to provide some evidence of the both positive and negative impact of school transfers before taking a position on the topic. Simply saying it is "vulgar" does not cut it.

Like most public debates in JA, this transfer issue is based on too much hearsay and feel say, not much in the way of data.

And like so many things in Jamaica, when it comes time to interviewing these involved and allegedly involved, everyone will claim ignorance, no one saw anything or heard anything.

analysis may not be his strong point.

Tell me though, how exactly can the Ministry or ISSA ban transfers and how would they do that? Transfers in and of themselves are not intrinsically bad and there are some that work out well, like a Leaford Green to KC thing but many or most dont end well, some football player or athlete may win some title but after ending their playing days at the new school are sent back to where they came from even after promises of exposing them to higher education yadda yadda. Suppose I am working for say...Butch Hendrickson and I have the best young football player in the island and I get transfered from my bell man job at a MoBay hotel to a bell captain job at a Kingston hotel and my son gets accepted at JC, will they try to stop that transfere?