Solution to the Million Dollar balls- The Buying Issue.

There is an association of course ! The question is his literacy level up to his form ?..He was in school at the time to accomplish that !
    From what I've seen there is no reason to question his "literacy"... he is clearly literate. What may be in question are his diction & grammar.

As to the latter I see worse examples on this forum quite regularly

Why am I questioning his subjects ?

Because the subject is about youths being used for their athletic attributes at the expense of their literacy !
    You say he was in 6th Form. It's quite simple: (A) Did he have sufficient subjects to qualify for Calabar 6th Form (B) Was his academic standing sufficient to qualify him for Champs

Are you questioning either one or both of those issues??

Do I have info , its all subjective , here we have a 5th or 6th former at a formal function with Bigger heads struggling to form a sentence in standard english !His literacy should be up to that form, not prep school, even prep schoolers can verbalize a better sentence.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQOXHbJ-OSs
    the

Unlike you I cannot conclude from this piece that the boy is illiterate... But clearly he is not proficient at the rules of grammar, syntax or diction. That's a failing many Jamaicans share...especially those denied the prep school education you mention.
    I don't know his history or whether or not he has an impediment affecting his speech/learning... so I will not speculate or draw unwarranted conclusions

My aim is to show that , these youths are getting the short end of the stick with our current practice of buying youths , it will be negative, because it is !.
    I don't know if he was "bought"...do you?? In fact I don't know what YOU mean by that term with reference to Francis
    If he transferred from another school would he have been better off staying there? Do you have an answer for that?

You may have a point but since you cannot answer simple questions about his past, any disability he may have...or what his fate would have been had he not been at Calabar, then you're not in a position to claim he's getting short-changed.
    It's even worse for your position since he's gained international respect in track while at Calabar . Seems to me you should find another example to try to prove your case of a yute being short-changed
    The justification[/U] is to suggest implementation of a better system of buying youths where they gain something educationally.Not saying the aim is for them to pass CXC subjects , but have a desireable standard.

Thats the Beef.

ISSA can do more.
    I agree that the system may need reform.... based not on rumors & bellyaching from suspect sources but on hard data.

What I don't agree with is stigmatizing a trying yute (by name) with claims that are unsubstantiated at best and at worst...false
    Last edited by Don1; November 18, 2014, 12:50 AM.

I agree that the system may need reform.... based not on rumors & bellyaching from suspect sources but on hard data.
      Care to share your "hard data"?

(Dat nuh sound right.)

Ohh please ! Is his ditchom and grammar upto his required required literacy for his form and as Mo said the fact that you agree that the system needs reform based on hard data,would lead to anyone asking for source of it ! seeing that you dont deal with rumours and conclude we have a problem,why the dandy shandy.

Let me expound on literacy a child maybe literate for a 4th grade level in prep school but not a 5th grade level of high school or a college level.STOP using literacy in a broad term as reading and writing,it broader than that it requires a full presentation of the english language at certain educational levels,literacy has degrees of learning ! I dont mean to stygmatize anyone ,not my chraracter but presenting facts at times requires that names be called.

UNESCO:Literacy involves a continuum of learning in enabling individuals to achieve their goals, to develop their knowledge and potential, and to participate fully in their community and wider society

I gave you three interviews with the good man ,one you excused of him being tired etc, not much changed from the others even when he was interviwed in a formal setting,his oral literal presentation for a 5th or 6th form level of the english language is weak.

Thank yuh sah.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I'm embarrassed for DonFan. For him, he wants you to do one of two things - win him a football trophy or build robots.

Don a good man,he means well

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Big Man by naming the boy and publishing your claim of his supposed illiteracy in a public space you subject him to public ridicule.
              Were he a politician or some such person I wouldn't mind...but he's a boy who has represented JA with distinction in the past and hopefully will in the future.

There's nothing to stop your hatchet job on the kid... but good sense. I hope you find it
              Last edited by Don1; November 18, 2014, 10:34 AM.

Care to share your "hard data"?

(Dat nuh sound right.)
                mi belly!

Well my apologies to the man .I await your Data.

lol... mi nuh response fi dat...unless smaddy ah pay mi