• Hyde And The 'Super' Season

Hyde And The 'Super' Season
    Published: Thursday | October 23, 2014

When the Wolmer's Boys' football team was knocked out of the ISSA Walker Cup, I breathed a sigh of relief. It meant to me that World Junior and Youth Olympic champion Jaheel Hyde would get a rest.

With his football and track commitments, he has been training and competing in one sport or the other since last September. It seemed that a little break was needed.

I love football, but my track-dominant heart was being gleefully selfish. Then, it hit me. Being a big side, the 2012 and 2013 Walker Cup winners had qualified for the new ISSA Super Cup. The missed Walker Cup matches had been replaced, I thought, and rest for Hyde went out the window.

Don't get me wrong. This new competition is a brilliant idea. On a year-to-year basis, it will answer the question fans want answered: Is schoolboy football stronger in the urban areas or in the rural areas?

For all I know, it may also reshape schoolboy football. In the long run, an expanded Super Cup could possibly replace the urban and rural knockout tournaments, the Walker and Ben Francis cups. With time limited for student-footballers in the Christmas term, schedule pressure and interest in rural-urban competition may eventually squeeze the Walker Cup and the Ben Francis Cup. Failing that, schoolboy football could extend into the Easter term.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports2.html

Question: Not if it was best for Hyde...

...but would he have done as well as he did on the track if he did not have that football background work?

you mean like Bolt?

maybe Hyde should have played cricket. LOL

you mean like Bolt?
          The unstated but understood - ...or would he have done even better if that background work was track and field related?

Aaah bwoy
          What am I going to do with you?

understood by who? You? The ASKER?!!! .... It makes people assume. But same way yuh answer questions not asked is the same way to expect answers to questions not asked ..... How difficult is it to be clear from the get go?

Not difficult at all!
              ...however, at times I think some things are obvious or self-evident...

therein lies the problem ......

if it is not difficult to be clear, why be obscure or at the very least fall short of being clear?

maybe Hyde should have played cricket. LOL
                  His father said that he used to play cricket but they kicked him out of because he hit away too many balls and it was getting rather expensive - LOL.