• ManU High unhappy about losing points for ineligible player

Manchester High unhappy about losing points for ineligible player
    BY PAUL A REID Observer Writer
    Friday, October 03, 2014

A war of words has erupted between principal of Manchester High Jasper Gabriel and the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) following Wednesday's decision by an ISSA disciplinary committee to dock six points from the Mandeville based institution over their use of an ineligible player in the ISSA/LIME daCosta Cup competition.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...layer_17674489

"Forbes also pointed out that someone from Manchester High had called the ISSA offices prior to the start of the season asking whether the player would be eligible but was told no."

Clearly, this transfer was for football purposes and football purposes only. Even FIFA protects youngsters more than this!

So you are told that the player would be ineligible and yuh still go ahead and play him. Aaaah bwoy!

Manchester High unhappy about losing points for ineligible player
      BY PAUL A REID Observer Writer
      Friday, October 03, 2014

A war of words has erupted between principal of Manchester High Jasper Gabriel and the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) following Wednesday's decision by an ISSA disciplinary committee to dock six points from the Mandeville based institution over their use of an ineligible player in the ISSA/LIME daCosta Cup competition.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...layer_17674489
      Imagine that we have twin students, A and B. Student A transfers from BB Coke to Manchester High in 5th form before graduation, graduates at Manchester High in 5th form with 4 subjects then enters Manchester High in 6th form on September 1. Student B graduates from BB Coke in 5th form with the same exact 4 subjects and the same exact grades as student A and enters Manchester High in lower 6th on September 1. By ISSA interpretation of the direct transfer rule, student A is disqualified from playing manning cup but his twin brother Student B is qualified to play. Why Mosiah? Why Gamma?

Sorry, Time, but I don't see the "twin" relevance. Nor do I see how you feel the two scenarios are similar.

A little confused right now.

Sorry, Time, but I don't see the "twin" relevance. Nor do I see how you feel the two scenarios are similar.

A little confused right now.
          What is the rule trying to achieve by banning Student A from playing but allowing Student B to play?

If Student A had transferred to a 3rd school 6th form on September 1 then he would have been eligible to play so what is the transfer ban trying to achieve?

Originally posted by Time View Post
            What is the rule trying to achieve by banning Student A from playing but allowing Student B to play?

If Student A had transferred to a 3rd school 6th form on September 1 then he would have been eligible to play so what is the transfer ban trying to achieve?
            I dunno, Time. Can you think of any reason why ISSA would have such a ban? Brainstorm with your friends.

Mi nuh tink mi need fi ansa dem kinda question yah.

So tell why Manchester is not banned for at least a year right here?

ISSA a joker.

Banned? Time thinks they did nothing wrong!

But yuh right. The only way these things will be curbed, to a point, is if harsher punishment is applied to the wrongdoers. Yes, they will try and get more creative and move cunning, but when caught, they should feel it.

This is abuse of students!

The thing is people will always cheat but look at NCAA. If they get any form of complain they investigate. Next time you see "Godda" Thompson ask him how he had to spend one season on the sidelines because someone complained that he was pro at HV. They couldn't find that he was so he joined his team. NCAA investigate and even the big program get banned and put on probation. If they cooperate then the ban is less. Now you find more students athletes in the classroom and actually doing classes there. School are very careful as they see Penn State, Miami, USC and other big program have to deal with punishment for their wrongs. If you remember the Ver and Gay coach went to jail for breaching the law while working at Com College.

I dunno, Time. Can you think of any reason why ISSA would have such a ban? Brainstorm with your friends.

Mi nuh tink mi need fi ansa dem kinda question yah.
                    Well, if you don't 'need fi ansa dem kinda question yah' then don't make posts!

Maybe they tried to copy the US NCAA rules but did not get it right. Marlon Bennett graduated went Wolmer's 5th form fully and entered Calabar 6th form and was banned from playing Manning Cup and Sunlight Cup under the stupid transfer rule that was in effect at that time. He transferred from CAST in Jamaica to St. Francis in NY and faced the same ban but a hearing sorted it out and he was exempted and he played. He face another ban went he left St. Francis with a Bachelor's to write a master's at Adelphi. Another hearing sorted it out and he was allowed to play because St. Francis does not have offer master's. Does ISSA have a procedure for hearings to examine each case?

What ban did he face when he transfer from CAST??? Make sure you have the fact right on that Time as I have the contact of the coach at St.Francis and Adelphi on speed dial. I can remember when he came, he was also playing for Constant Spring. When he left St.Francis, I don't think there had to be a hearing since he only played 3 years of college ball and had one left. I will try and get the full story.

One thing though is all those college make sure they stay above board as they don't want to be punished by NCAA.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                        Well, if you don't 'need fi ansa dem kinda question yah' then don't make posts!
                        Woooiiiee! Mi vocal card!

Since when posters must respond to idiocy?! But a weh di...!

An update is that the BB Coke people are refuting the claim by Gabriel that the boys was going back and forth between 10th and 11th grades amd that he completed 11th grade the first time before going back to 10th grade.

The chairman of the board showed documents that the boys repeated 10th grade before going to 11th grade and did not finish, leaving on December 13th.

The school year does not end in December but in June and the rules is very clear and was amended when Clarendon College found loop holes in it a few years ago

The Ministry of Education needs to intervene in this and I hope the Manchester High board also sanctions the principal for dragging this good school's name through the mud

I also understand that the transfer has to be approved by both principals per the rule book. Was that the case here?!?

KMFT!

Obviously not, as BB Coke was as surprised it seems...I do wonder just how good this boy is though, maybe we will see him in the Premier League for Reno