Dis gaan from bad to worse to worsarah, is not like dis nah gwaan from nineteen how long. Eat a food mentality pan di back ah yuh yout an nuh mek sure him some reasonable academic standard fi wuk wid. Short term monetary gain, den aftah school done den wha, it sad when short term financial gain more important dan ah sound\reasonable academic standard. Dem tink fi acheive greatest easy, tek di easy way out now wi become a burden latah.
Inside The World Of Student-Athlete Recruitment
Originally posted by X View PostInside The World Of Student-Athlete Recruitment
Published: Friday | September 26, 2014 0 Comments
The average person may not be aware, but the events that go on behind the scenes as it relates to the recruiting of athletes for high schools in Jamaica, if put on film, would make for interesting watching. In a quest to make their school win Manning or daCosta Cup, or Champs, or the Grace Shield or Headley Cup cricket titles, some schools in Jamaica are known to spare nothing to get the top sports students. Recruiting has become, in itself, a competition, sometimes as intense and passionate as anything that happens on the field.
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html
Let's see someone who is so exercised about this apparently HUGE problem exercise their right to study it scientifically and produce some valid data intelligent folks can discuss
Otherwise it's merely yappin... about yappinTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
you know it is not just yapping but we lazy and love the yapping.
Let me see ISSA punish one school for a breach. Are you telling me there has never been a breach in the last 20 years?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I don't follow the issue so I don't knowTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
OK, fair enough but it is not very hard to see who benefits most.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostOK, fair enough but it is not very hard to see who benefits most.
let's see your data which establishes relative benefits of whatever you imagine ... or is this just more yappin about yappin??TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
The schools benefit most from competing in school athletics and winning. There has to be no survey, not data for that, it is COMMON KNOWLEDGE.
Now you can Yap.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostThe schools benefit most from competing in school athletics and winning. There has to be no survey, not data for that, it is COMMON KNOWLEDGE.
Now you can Yap.
To get any credibility from me on this issue here are a few questions you and other common sense lemmings should be able to answer with DATA:
So kids who CHOOSE to transfer to a school THEY BELIEVE is better for THEM... do they benefit from transfers? Are they forced to transfer or go on free will?
Are they better off... or worse off?
How many students transfer for sports purposes? What are the outcomes?
How many for academics? What are the outcomes?
How would they have fared if they remained where they were?
How do a pool of students with a similar academic & sports profile perform when they transfer.... vs those who don't??
Now tap yup yappin AKA "common sense" and commission a study to get to the truth. Policy shouldn't change based on your or other's uninformed anecdotesTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostThe usual defence from those whose schools are deep into the shopping - let's see the data!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostThe usual defence from those whose schools are deep into the shopping - let's see the data!
Asking for facts to support a statement made without same is, "defense"?
Good one, Mosiah!
Nice drip of "dry humour"!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by X View PostNot every youth can achieve certain academic standards, these schools recruit mostly youths who fail academically.Now again I ask what is the alternative ?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."