• Inside The World Of Student-Athlete Recruitment

Inside The World Of Student-Athlete Recruitment
    Published: Friday | September 26, 2014 0 Comments
    The average person may not be aware, but the events that go on behind the scenes as it relates to the recruiting of athletes for high schools in Jamaica, if put on film, would make for interesting watching. In a quest to make their school win Manning or daCosta Cup, or Champs, or the Grace Shield or Headley Cup cricket titles, some schools in Jamaica are known to spare nothing to get the top sports students. Recruiting has become, in itself, a competition, sometimes as intense and passionate as anything that happens on the field.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I guess this is what some of us here do not have a problem with this.

And trust mi, the half has not been told.

Bobo ski watten talla!

Whats the alternative for these poor youths.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What the alternative to abuse and exploitation?!?

I dunno!

Wow...suh lip service .Thank yuh JFJ.

nothing is surprising here. As you see most major schools in Jamaica do it. The fact is ISSA have to make rules that reflect the movement of Athlete within reason and punish the offenders.

When last you hear a schools get punished for kids not doing their work or for braking rules. As usual with Jamaica certain people don't face penalties so the abuse will continue. It is not on the parent, it is on ISSA to protect the kids but give them a change to transfer with reason. If Schools were face with suspend for a year or two from competition, then see how it change.

NCAA was just as nasty but when some of the top schools like Alabama, Florida, Ohio State, Miami etc. were faced with disqualification and suspension they started acting better. No reason why we are suppose to stop legitimate transfer of students who want to transfer. One rule NCAA make is that a coach can't contact another student in another program. If the student call the coach then it is different.

Not every youth can achieve certain academic standards, these schools recruit mostly youths who fail academically.Now again I ask what is the alternative ?

Penalize youths through schools who are trying to escape the ghetto ? the alternative for the youths is the GHETTO ! Ghetto XPLOITATION or CHAMPS XPLOITATION !

Good things come out of fiyah house- garrisons (Shelly Ann Father) .Me personally , i see nothing wrong with it, recruiting(buying) is a part of amatuer and pro sports, all I would say is address the educational issues of these youths and let schools buy all they want.

Shelly ann father said it eloquently

There has to be some basic standard and you want to know that at least the youths are trying their very best in school. As you say however, there must be a path for the youth who is talented but can't achieve 4 subjects.

Cut ISSA is consist of old boys whose concerns are about top schools and not penalizing schools who are big time violators.

The hypocrysy of the elite about buying and exploitation without offering any alternative is ridiculous. Esp when these youths reap gold for Jamaica earning the nation millions that their elite Alma matter can never do.

My solution to level the playing field so the Munro's and campions don't feel left out,let every school in Jamaica buy as much as they want as long as the academically inclined students are entered into a school program to give them a required learning level.

If a Munro or campion can offer a sufferer more academically with certain perks,let them buy.Lodging, clothing, food,books, etc.

We make it look like a whole bunch of them can't past 5 subjects. They can! But we don't care! They can easier guarantee us that trophy!

We must get serious and start set some serious rules that protect students, realising education is important! Violators should suffer serious sanctions.

But I am not that naive to feel that will happen in my lifetime.

Mo some of them never will. Yes we have failed many but there are those that are not going to make the grade academically in high school but it doesn't mean they will not be progressive in life. We have to cater for those that can make the grade too.

I know that, Sass. But we seem to write off 60% of our students. And once they are good in sports, we couldn't care less if they can pass an exam or not.

So, how do we cater for those who are not academically inclinded? What % you think are in that category?!

from my days and base on my work with such kids in the US at most it should be no more than 15% at any given school, but like is done in Comm Colleges here,

tutoring should be arranged. Give some fellow student who are well advance a small stipend to work with these kids. I tutored economics for a short while in college and I had nearly all of the baseball team doing extra classes.

I personally think CXC or O Level is over rated, we have to make sure some of these kids get valuable trades. Although they may not be able to be scientist, they can be good carpenters, masons, plumbers and work in the service industry. It just take good administrators.

You also need to have national athletes and professionals come in as motivational speakers, and find out each kids problem and help them. Instead of laughing at these kids help them. When I worked in community, I have a lot of students who are now doing real well but it was a pleasure to help the ones who were seen as "dunce" and some people have given up on but they are the one who would stay in school and complete a 3 year degree in 4 years but it was a great pleasure to see.

I can still remember my principal Lloyd O Chin of Titchfield telling his nephew "You will not leave here until you can spell your name". Mr Chin was a comedian but worked with kids to reach the Titchfield standard.

Tell all that to the schools who recruit players and couldn't care less if they can spell their name.

Suh put it to yuh Alma mater Ole boy network via ISSA, level di playing field where anyone can buy man , as long as dem get a required education or trade , look if CBar a buy man and cant compete with a next school buying a man where books and uniform are free, unnuh tun champs upside down , all it tek is 4 to 5 man with specialised disciplines in various classes to win champs.

If Munro get a class 1, 2, 3 man whey specialise in 100 and 200 , unnuh seal up champs, unnuh buy dem wid free lodging education and books, schools would have to match dat....but annuh nuh wi call it (buy) , we call it , helping the less fortunate to get an education from a elitist school..lol