When Munro buy players

Tilla, you cannot tell me that STETHS insisted on class attendance when these sportsmen/women were transferred.

Forget how they entered. When they get there, do they now become a member of the school's student population, or a member of a club, be it football, cricket our T&F?

"Of course some have gone on to be successful. Many more have not!"

Is there any record of the percentage that have not become successful??? Show it to me before you go off on a tangent. Then we can continue from there.

just like some writer who talking about how players use to get scholarship in their days without realizing that as bad as things are currently, more players maybe getting scholarship than ever before.

Revert to my first post in this thread. We going around in circles.

Basically, are these transferees students, attending classes? Or are they club members, only showing up to play their particular sport?

I can bet you that most transfer students do attend classes. Some end up getting better results than if they never transferred. Yes, we can't waste one student but it is just a talking point as we have no data while some of the eliteist point to one or two Dr. dis or Dr. dat and a few really successful athletes to make their point and act like most of the others don't go to classes.

Sass, I know first-hand what I'm talking about. You can't have better data than that!

Back in the day it was disgraceful. I don't believe it happens so much these days, but it happens. Clearly, you don't have a problem with it, while I certainly do.

don't have a problem with what???? Yes there are some schools that did it. I know, can't swear for now because I am not sure but even then, most of the transfer I knew from schools as St.Mary's high, Happy Grove, Titchfield, Morant Bay were present in school and class(I am talking in the high 90%) ratio. Some were not brilliant and I am sure some didn't make it and came purely for sports but most left with ordinary grades.

Most of us are just talking from experience here as there is no existing data to back this up. I know if my kid is going to a school without a track and I think he would be better serve going to one with a track program, I am going to request that.

Tilla, you cannot tell me that STETHS insisted on class attendance when these sportsmen/women were transferred.
                I do not know what era you are speaking of, but when I was there all attended class. The school's requirement for attending class was the same for all students.

Forget how they entered. When they get there, do they now become a member of the school's student population, or a member of a club, be it football, cricket our T&F?
                Mo, you are full of it!
                You are still upset because we kept you guys from winning anything over and over. That is a problem you guys have to deal with. But I know, if you can't beat them, find names to call them or point fingers...
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I could name persons who did not attend class, Tilla. I know them very well! I can call them right now and speak to them! Other schools did it too, not just STETHS, so don't feel too bad.

Ok, time to bail out!

I could name persons who did not attend class, Tilla.
                    That is the $h!t right that Islandman was talking about. That is it right there!

You use the fat of one or two people to fry all the others. Hey, I have pointed out to you in the past people who were taken into the school by those means who saw it as an opportunity for self improvement. Guys ends up with first and masters degrees, guy ends up being a CPA with his own business etc. But that does not matter. It is the one or two tha might not have taken advantage of the opportunity you are willing to point out.

Anyway, if it floats your boat, run wid it.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Wrong again, Tilla! I never said all the players did not attend class. So just pointing out one and my point would have been made. Because at other schools, there was absolutely no exceptions!

So what's your point? Remember I lived in Santa Cruz. Although I won't call names, I knew of Munro boys who didn't attended classes too.
                        I won't use one or two cases to make a generalization about Munro boys though.

BTW, I am sure you must have heard the saying "you can take the horse to the water, but you can't make him drink". While I am for giving people opportunity to better themselves, some people are not interested in that route. I would rather you give them the opportunity and let them reject it, than not at all.

So what's your point? Remember I lived in Santa Cruz. Although I won't call names, I knew of Munro boys who didn't attended classes too.
                          I won't use one or two cases to make a generalization about Munro boys though.

BTW, I am sure you must have heard the saying "you can take the horse to the water, but you can't make him drink". While I am for giving people opportunity to better themselves, some people are not interested in that route. I would rather you give them the opportunity and let them reject it, than not at all.
                          I have actually made the point on several occasions.

Munro boys were as indisciplined as the rest, but you could not skull school (or be indisciplined or have poor grades generally) and still be on the football team or any other team. And that's the difference! We did not run a sports club. Rather we ran a school with a sports program.

Do you now see the very clear point??!?

We didn't run a football club, but if it makes you feel better, then go with that. I know it is tough getting your ass whipped each year, that you need to find an excuse.

When was the last time you won DaCosta Cup again? Was that in the early 60s? Now I know why STETHS' success burn you so much. Hush!

Mek me be the judge on this..........yuh know wha? Cockroach nuh biznez inna kunchry fowl fight..........ahhhmmmm beg me excuse!!!
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mek me be the judge on this..........yuh know wha? Cockroach nuh biznez inna kunchry fowl fight..........ahhhmmmm beg me excuse!!!
                                People who grew up in Kingston and its environs always seem to think they were more privileged just because they are from that area. It has always been the same with most people I know and it seems as if it was never lost on you.

That aid, I have no shame in being frm the country. If I had my life to live all over again, I would not want it any other way. So go ahead, pat yourself on the shoulder town man.