When Munro buy players

• When Munro buy players

While I have no problem with how Delano Williams made it to Munro, I will point out that this is no different from what other schools do. So this Munro is holier than thou, needs to stop!
    Coach spotted talent, coach made arrangements to get talent to place where with competition and attention from coach, talent could develop. If this were done by other schools, Mosiah would consider it "buying athletes".

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...-born_17179623

As I said, I have no problem with giving these student athletes the environment and opportunity to excel which they may otherwise lack in the situation they were in.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Noice, post! Excellent 'feel good' story!

...and somehow I think you are correct on thinking Mosiah now must change his position!

Absolute nonsense from the two of you!

It seems no matter how many times I explain the difference between how STETHS used to buy players and the way Munro did, you just can't get it, or refuse to see the diffference.

I will just make a few observations using Delano Williams as an example:
      • Delano qualified academically for Munro College.
      • Delano attended all semesters (terms) at Munro, not just T&F semester.
      • Delano had achieved several academic subjects upon graduation from Munro College.
      • There was no question as to whether Delano was overage or not.
      • Delano was an exemplary student-athlete at Munro, absolutely no issues with discipline or academics.
      • Delano would never have advanced to the next form if his grades were not satisfactory.

And that's all I need to say about that!

Absolute nonsense from the two of you!

It seems no matter how many times I explain the difference between how STETHS used to buy players and the way Munro did, you just can't get it, or refuse to see the diffference.

I will just make a few observations using Delano Williams as an example:
        • Delano had achieved several academic subjects upon graduation from Munro College.
        • There was no question as to whether Delano was overage or not.
        • Delano was an exemplary student-athlete at Munro, absolutely no issues with discipline or academics.
        • Delano would never have advanced to the next form if his grades were not satisfactory.

And that's all I need to say about that!
        Forget the red herrings, if the child is recruited...he has been!!!

KMT!

If you don't have a problem with a child being recruited for the football semester, not attending class, and not showing up at all once football season is over, then yes, "he has been" is right!

What criteria was usd to determine this? How was this different from say a Downswell or Peter Parkin who went to STETHS?
              So did most of the students who went to STETHS. One notable player dropped out after the football season, but you cannot use his fat to fry every one who were given the opportunity.
              I have pointed out to you already students who went to STETHS who went there on sports schoarships who have gone on to accomplish masters degrees in their chosen fields. Doesn't this count for anything?
            There was no question as to whether Delano was overage or not.
            In the opinions of Munronians, every STETHS student is overage.
              I addressed this point earlier.
            Delano would never have advanced to the next form if his grades were not satisfactory.
            Again, the success of the students I have identified says they and their school must have been doing something right.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla, you will always hear about those who did well for themselves.

As you would say, I am done with this.

You have to know when and how to pull the plug on a discussion.

True. Sometimes it's done from a position of seeming victory, other times yuh bail out when facing inevitable defeat!

I just did the former!

...or sometimes you do it from a position of "mi jus' caan bodder!".

It is obvious though that you neither know the difference between a position of victory nor defeat. But that is OK.

...or sometimes you do it from a position of "mi jus' caan bodder!".

It is obvious though that you neither know the difference between a position of victory nor defeat. But that is OK.
                      Missed your chance to say I only know defeat since a bay a dat STETHS used to gi wi.

Gwey!

What you say? Him shoulda stay whe him deh and wait for track and field equality fi reach him.

Not saying that at all. I have always maintained that I have no problem with students athletes being given a chance to better themselves by schools creating openings for the student athletes. I have maintained that a STETHS giving football players an opportunity to play football and pursue their education is what schools should be doing. This was always opposed by Mosiah, as he thought Common Entrance was the litmus test for academic readiness and ultimately a way to get to high school.

Anyway, I was only pointing out to him that Deleano Williams did not pass GSAT, but was accepted into Munro just as how the STETHS players were back in the day. Deleano has gone on to achieve success both on the track and academically. On the same token, quite a number of the same STETHS players Mo chided me about have gone on to be productive members of society.

My point is, we need to change the system which limits the potential of our people. We need to change the system so we can create opportunities for people, as only with opportunities will we be challenged so we can grow. Education is a thing which should open avenues for people's progress - not be a roadblock to such progress.

Don't sweat Tilla, it was mean't to be ironic and directed at the people who are against transfers of Athletes until it comes to their school or their children.

The fact is some schools in Ja, have no good coaches, no good playing field, no good sporting program so I am not against transfer if someone think it will be better for them to develop, granted there has to be standard but we simply don't have a level playing field when it comes to development.

I think your view is similar to mine as I have seen a lot of these students go on to be productive.

Don't sweat Tilla, it was mean't to be ironic and directed at the people who are against transfers of Athletes until it comes to their school or their children.

The fact is some schools in Ja, have no good coaches, no good playing field, no good sporting program so I am not against transfer if someone think it will be better for them to develop, granted there has to be standard but we simply don't have a level playing field when it comes to development.

I think your view is similar to mine as I have seen a lot of these students go on to be productive.
                              There you go again! Didn't Islandman talk to you about this?

Of course some have gone on to be successful. Many more have not!

And apparently you have chosen to brush aside the other problems associated with some transfers. If the player attends school or not, not a problem for you, huh?

Don't hate Munro because we insist on our transferees to attend class, work hard and maintain good discipline.