Top Csec Results - Foolmas pips Jawges by 0.1%

My analysis is based on observable data....

When you have some data on this subject of sports feel free to submit it for review

Until then... all you are doing is empty yappin....

Disssmissed

Well yes, granting sports scholarships is certainly a decision that a school makes and which they have total control over.

We have to be careful not put too much significance on these rankings though. I think they are useful as a reference point but one really should not conclude that the school ranked say #10 is outperforming the school ranked #15. There are far too many variables to determine that.

Instead of the top 20 we should spend much more time analyzing the bottom 20 or maybe 50 where I am sure the results are spectacularly bad.

Let's revisit this one;

Why then should Calabar be ranked 36th in Mathematics and 38th in English, and Jamaica College ranked 29th in Mathematics and 32nd in English among 64 secondary high schools? The other groups were upgraded high schools and technical high schools.

These schools, it appears, pull out all the stops to do well at sports. Both schools are allegedly strong supporters of giving great weight, where they can, in the admissions process, to a youngster’s sports prowess. A number of stories have been making the rounds in this regard.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2SwWo5si1

...schools are for building good citizens. Clubs, sports academies, etc are for building sports talent.
          I agree with that 100%.

Many of these powerful school alumni members who are promoting and funding these massive sports programs send their own children to schools that do not emphasize sports to any great extent. I wonder why.

You return with allegations and stories re sports admissions. That's not data... that's allegations and stories.

JC has been strong in all sports for 100 years so being strong now is not unusual.

As to mediocre academic performance that is a relatively new condition whose roots I've already explained. That condition is being addressed by the largest investment in a high school in Jamaica's history totalling US$4m+. That investment is almost totally directed at improving the learning environment and is beginning to bear fruit for JC's 2000 students in increased exam scores, better discipline and improved intake quality.

Those early results are recognized by the MOE inspectorate and portend further improvement in education outcomes for JC.

Now if that is the picture of a sports focused school perhaps you should have the MOE revise their inspection methodology and assessment of the school.

Now that you've been schooled move along

Let's see what JC has done with the better intake quality. JC Value added is -24. I know that JC is doing great thing (did I really say that?) ... What is dragging down JC value added score?

Also note that JC quality index in Maths and English have fallen from 2011 to 2013, How do you explain that?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/pages/cse...ade/#/8/zoomed
              Last edited by Time; June 10, 2014, 07:14 PM.

Listen yuteman mi dun tell yuh ow tings guh an mi nuh nutten fi prove tuh yuh.... yuhzimi?

Suh yuh fi gwaan believe wateva yuh waan believe... it nuh matta

Di fax remain dat JC ah di greatest education franchise inna JA history...strait. No amount ah yappin from di penny section agguh change dat fax

Very Interesting.

This comparative advantage data is useful and a good first attempt at correcting for one of the most critical factors that determine school CSEC performance, ie student intake quality via GSAT.

No one piece of data will tell the whole story but publication of more of this kind of analysis and data should be encouraged so informed debate can take place. As Stonigut likes to say, we need more data and less of the "feel say" business:

I have to say that I am encouraged by my school Morant Bay Highs performance given that they have had some instability in recent years without an appointed principal.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                    He has very good points but left out the effect of sports scholarships students who don't get in via academic merit. If you have a lot of those students who can barely make 45% in four subjects then they are going to take down your average. Maybe he sees those as important but not critical because you can easily fix that problem by stop accepting them?

Jezas H Christ, Time?
                    The easy fix is improving educational standards...such that those doing sports...do just as well as others doing 'whateva'!

My God, you are running along the same path as the ass who wrote the blog Mosiah posted that presented some thoughts on our recent football match failures. Cho man, Time - a nuh suh yuh flex more time!!!!

While I agree with your general point, it is certainly not an easy fix . LOL.

We have a much bigger problem with academic underachievement than can be attributed to students involvement in sports. However I have my doubts that the way we handle high school sports today is in the best interest of most of the students involved.

Hmm, I never said that sports was the root of the education problem across the country. What I said is that sports scholarship students ALSO drag down the averages and my target this time was the top sports traditional boys schools.