• 66 sprint king Allie McNab reflects on Champs exploits

66 sprint king Allie McNab reflects on Champs exploits

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer senior reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Allie McNab (left) of Cornwall College getting the better of Delroy Wallace of Munro College to win the Class One 110 yards in 9.9 seconds at Champs in 1966. (PHOTO: EARLE SPENCER COURTESY OF CHAMPS 100)

COMING under the guidance of Jamaican greats Dennis Johnson and Herb McKenley, and lining up in the Champs 100m final of 1965 against the likes of Lennox Miller, Michael Fray, Tony Keyes and even beating the legendary Don Quarrie, one would never have thought that Aldrick 'Allie' McNab would have given up track and field for football.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...loits_16295911
    Last edited by Karl; March 18, 2014, 04:48 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

delroy wallace, or sammy davis junior?!!

...and do you wonder if it is the main article or is it about his uncle that had this post make the forum?

Hey...I am smiling too
      Respek, X.

we may NEVER know!!!

That is quite a lineup of star athletes in that 1965 100m final. Wow!

Yuh seit!

*Just to note the article has a number of inaccuracies and omissions (at least left one to draw false conclusions).

At the end of the tour of the Caribbean territories over the 100yards and 100meters Delroy Wallace was handing out whippings to 'all'.

Lennox "Billy" Miller won his second Olympic medal in the 100M (...and not the 200M as the article claims).

1965 McNabb was 2nd year Class 1. 1966 was his 3rd and final year.

*My memory tells me.

You are definitely correct about the Billy Miller bronze in Munich, it was in the 100m.

I used to hear stories from the old man about coaching D'Cup against McNab and Cornwall in those days, he was a terror!

Tell dem long time ,size nuh matter ..foot turn over does.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That is quite a lineup of star athletes in that 1965 100m final. Wow!
                  ... You are on point. ...and Michael Fray may have had the greatest potential of them all...but he never consistently put in the necessary work. Delroy Wallace, Attride and McNabb I think could have gone on to represent us at the highest levels...but were not motivated to go on.

True. Fast twitch muscle to de Werl! DWL.

lol...

Finally! I was tired of talking about myself as a medal winner at Champs!

you think you were tired of taking about it? what about us who have had to read it as it could pop up anywhere at any time without warning??!!

MCKnab used the length of his stride to beat Delroy. For every stride McKnab took, Wallace had to put in two. What does this tell you?
                            Wallace was faaast!
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran